We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Maderian Food”

Restaurant Olhar Do Campo
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Prazeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurante Olhar Do Campo offers a variety of the tradicional especialities like Espetada,Espada fish with banana,Tuna,soups and salads.Lovely atmosfere were you can enjoy a lovely meal, relax in our Wine and Tapas Bar or just have a snack toasts, pregos and try the special coffees and poncha.
Measham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Maderian Food”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Another absolutely outstanding restaurant, serving food at it's very best, fantastic service the most delicious meal, the free fish cakes were amazing, the best I have ever had, so light. My fish main course was also the some of the very best that I have ever eaten.
I feel so sorry for the owners as we were the only two diners.
The whole place was pristine, the owners were the ultimate professional s, excellent wine also available. To top the lot absolutely outstanding value, why can't we have restaurants like this in England

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank balddove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
313 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Plain and Simple done really well”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Called here after seeing it on Trip advisor, we weren't disappointed. It's easy enough to find. The whole place was immaculately clean, staff were friendly and efficient. Menu was in several languages. Nothing fancy, just good food very well done. Prices were good as well including drinks. Garlic bread was one of the best we have had on this holiday..As a bonus we were given a amuse buche of fishcakes, something I normally hate, these were different, so light and tasty, yummy.
The food we ordered arrived in a short time, freshly cooked and delicious, this place deserves to be much busier than it was the night we visited. If you are looking for unpretentious, good value food this is the place to be.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyshireCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food, plain & well cooked. Johnny is a very good host, price are very reasonable.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Steak and chips very good and cheap. Not a big menu but all the better for that. Great Moules. very cheap and nice wine. eat outside on the very nice restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tuppyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

During our stay at Madeira we visited Olhar do Campo twice, both times the food was excellent. A restaurant easily to find and offers good service at reasonable price. The menucard offers enough choice for everyone. The meat is delicious and well cooked, for instance the filet steak with mushroom sauce and the meat on a stone are of wonderfull quality. So visit this nice reastaurant and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanselaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calheta, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“delicious for a good price”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We eat this evening at Olhar do Campo in Prazeres (Madeira) We've enjoyed our diner very much!! The service from the staff was kind and couteous. The chef prepared an excellent meal. The food was tasty, fresh and well prepared. Well done! Very good were the starters "fish cakes" ( not on the card - but a really good start) The ambiance is simple but neatly and clean and with an eye for detail. We do recommant this restaurant when you visit Madeira.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zunnegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Olhar Do Campo also viewed

 
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 

Been to Restaurant Olhar Do Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing