We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and excellent value”

Casa Grelhados Prazeres Rurais
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Prazeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: Portuguese, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional Portuguese and Madeiran Food. Closed on Thursday. Kitchen Schedule from 12:00 to 16hoo / 18h00 to 22h00. Closes on Sunday and Holidays at 18h00.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent value”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We ate here a number of times whilst staying in the area. We stopped off the first time just to look at the menu and were warmly welcomed and told about the food that they served.
When we returned later we were not disappointed and over a number of visits enjoyed espetada and cataplana and on our last night one of the house specials that requires 24 hours notice.
Each night we visited we were offered a complementary rum at the end of the meal and received such friendly welcome.
We were told of the origin of the food and delighted by the commitment to delivering good quality simple meals.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    60
    26
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good, fresh and down-to-earth cuisine”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have vistied this location 2 times, each of them left us with the taste of stunningly fresh fish and vegetables and good ingredients, cooked perfectyl to the minute with freshest herbes and spices. I loved this "down-to-earth" cuisine without all the fancy stuff you normally get in "fine" restaurants. I almost cried once the plate was empty. But then we had faboulous espresso for desert as well as very tasty rum. Service was very polite and super-friendly. Must-go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KlaraSchnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A great place for Madeiran food for good prices!
Family run, excellent English spoken.
We were even recommended to have only ONE espetada because two would have been too much food! They were right!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMoneymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable rustic feast”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spied the Rurais restaurant whilst driving around Prazeres and looking in vain for an establishment which served honest, traditional food. The menu board outside promised much and we were met by Mrs Bettencour who assured us that all the specials of the day were available. We returned in the evening and were not disappointed. the catalplana, a dish of wild rabbit and seafood was exceptionally well cooked and very tasty. The other dish, of salt cod was enormous and served with potatoes, olive oil and onions. The house wine was very drinkable, purchased by the litre and rapidly consumed! The bill, when it came, was modest and we vowed to return the next night. The restaurant is very much a family affair, an the emphasis clearly on attention to detail and customer satisfaction.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jpridgway57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nord-Lenangen, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very professional cuisine and personal service”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have been visiting this wonderful restaurant several times over the last 3 years. We have always been received with a warm smile and genuin human hospitality by south-african Romana and her husband portuguese Fransesco, the latter being the utmost master-chef - even originally a pilot.... Both of these wonderful persons are very well assisted by their two sons. We highly recommend this restaurant to anyone searching for either a small meal as well as a more genuine traditional rural Madeiran meal, and the plates are big. We can recommend bif on a spit grilled on the everlasting fire. Ask for Francescos pepper-sauce in addition! The wine-selection is rare and exclusive for most Madeiran restaurants, with lots of old vintages available! When finally finishing your meal, be sure to ask for their slightly warmed Aguardiente with coffee-beans!
Dr. Christian Schousgaard, Norway.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Grelhados Prazeres Rurais also viewed

 
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 

Been to Casa Grelhados Prazeres Rurais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing