We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Casa das Aguarelas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa das Aguarelas
Ranked #7 of 24 Ericeira B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's not big and amazingly cosy. The building itself looks very authentic. Rooms are modern and authentic at the same time. The hotel is few steps away from the ocean, you can hear it if you open a window. In 2 minutes walk you'll find the center of Ericeira with lots or cafe and restaurants, all of them work till late at night

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnastasiaTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 91 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We´ve booked this hotel for a short but pleasant period. Very well located, the rooms are kept very tidy every day, were recently furnitured and are very confortable. The staff is very kind and willing to help. An excellent choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A minimalist but clean room with ocean view from the window in the picturesque village of Ericeira, which is about 30 min north of Lisbon. Casa das Aguarelas is located 200m from the fishermen beach (Praia dos Pescadores). Susana checked us in promptly and gave us many helpful suggestions. The ocean breeze is so refreshing in this place. A pedestrian-only street (Burnay St) is not far, where you can find all types of coffee shops and local handicraft gifts. This street takes you to the main village square (Republica) where locals gather at the end of the day. Very relaxing indeed.
Ericeira is a heaven for seafood with so many good restaurants and 'marisqueiras' (shelfish restaurants).

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nontroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

In the center of old Ericeira, two steps away from the nice praia do percadores, casa das Aguarelas has everything you need plus a certain local charme that makes you feel like you chose the perfect place to stay! The restaurants around prepare terrific seafood.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yelenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although we only stayed at Casa das Adurelas one night we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we would have stayed longer! While it didn't have a view, our triple room was perfectly laid out for 3 people. The 3rd bed was in a semi-private alcove separated from the main room by a wall and was perfect for my 20 year old daughter. The room itself was tastefully furnished and the old wood trim and floors added a rustic feel to an otherwise updated room. The bathroom was completely modern and clean. Would return again but next time would request a view, terrace or kitchenette if staying longer than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindysass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful little Portuguese gem, we stayed last week for 1 week and the hotel was lovely, helpful staff, both Bruno and Susana were very helpful, room was always spotless, very modern interior, typical Portuguese exterior in brilliant white and blue. Ericeira was great lively resort with lots of restaurants to choose from, would return and recommend.

Room Tip: some of the locals were very noisy until 2-3am - but wgat can you do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa das Aguarelas for a few nights and loved it. Highly recommended.

Before giving its (many) positives, our only problem was that no one was there to check us in - even though they knew when were coming. We ended up waiting about 40 minutes. I used the phone at the shop around the corner to call the mobile number listed on the door. Bruno was apparently at a meeting that ran late. Such contingencies should be planned for. He was, however, friendly and apologetic. Would have given 5 stars if not for this.

But... we nonetheless recommend Casa das Aguarelas. Great spot right in the centre of Ericeira and near a couple of its numerous beaches. The room was very large, newly renovated, had a kitchenette and a beautiful view of the sea (note, however, that each room is different - request ahead!). Bruno helpfully recommended some activities and even got us a discount on surf lessons (and he did disclose that he had a working relationship with them - honesty which was much appreciated). The surf lessons were great, so we signed up for more!

Service was generally great and responsive when we had requests. They don't serve breakfast, but the kitchenette in our room worked perfectly - and allowed us to have coffee and breakfast overlooking the sea.

There's also a nice patio for sitting outside (or for smoking) which we didn't use, but was quite nice.

Room Tip: Each room is different - ask for sea view and/or kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevinTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 4 in Ericeira
730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#4 of 4 in Ericeira
52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Ana Margarida
Villa Ana Margarida
#12 of 64 in Ericeira
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amar Hostel & Suites
Amar Hostel & Suites
#8 of 24 in Ericeira
71 reviews
0 mi away
Casa de Ribeira Guesthouse
Casa de Ribeira Guesthouse
#10 of 24 in Ericeira
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Buddha Hostel
Blue Buddha Hostel
#21 of 64 in Ericeira
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Aguarelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Aguarelas

Address: Travessa do Honrado 1, Ericeira 2655-290, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ericeira
Price Range: $69 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa das Aguarelas 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa das Aguarelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing