We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Ericeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vila Gale Ericeira
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at Vila Gale in 2013 and are returning again in July 2014. Hotel is in a fantastic location right by the ocean. Very relaxing stay which was enhanced by the friendly staff. Centre only a short walk away. Plenty of nice restaurants, some very inexpensive

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor with an ocean view is most definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EndaByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    307
    76
    19
    10
See reviews for
209
279
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is very well located on the edge of the ocean. The restaurant and the lobby have a spectacular view of the sea. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room with a little balcony where we could sit and watch the waves crash into the shore. The hotel and the room was tastefully decorated with dark wood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DustyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken posting this review.

It was a pleasure welcome you in our hotel and for being able to provide you an enjoyable stay.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have stayed here several times and always look forward to returning. We love the ocean and the hotel's site juts out into the surf perpendicular to the beach. Sit on your veranda and watch the big Atlantic Ocean rollers come crashing to shore after their long ocean's traverse. These waves can be enormous. The world record largest wave surfed was set along this stretch of Portuguese coastline. Ericeira is a beautiful village with one of the most swimmable beaches in the area. If you are visiting Sintra this is not far away and a nice break if that tourist mecca is overrun. I would also recommend Coimbra to the north. Its a university town (oldest library in Europe) and the site of Napoleon's first defeat.

Room Tip: the south facing rooms in the middle of the hotel have the best views of the surf and beach beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDmovingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

The first sentence of your review was received with tremendous joy by all of our Staff, it was trully a reward knowning that you are always looking forward to visit us again.

We thank you for your review and for the description made on it.

We hope that you can visit us for many years more and we will be looking forward for your return.

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

A very nice hotel, well placed and with a good service. An Hotel that has tradition but that was very well refurbished to adapt to today's demands! The areas near the sea are superb. We loved the kindness and effectiveness of the service and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseCNascimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Obrigado!

We thank you for the time taken posting this review and specially for the compliments sent to our staff.

It was a pleasure welcome you in our hotel and for being able to provide you an enjoyable stay.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or for instance in Vila Galé Collection Palácio dos Arcos (our new 5 Star Hotel in Portugal) or in any other Vila Galé "Always Close to You".

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This Hotel is in an excellent location of all the hotels if you are looking to stay in Ericeira and want to walk to everything and have great views. We had no problem finding a free parking space in the hotel car park but i can imagine in summer it would be a problem. We opted for a Sea View room with balcony. Because of the balcony we had a room on floor 1 which is actually ground level as reception is on floor 2. Nice size balcony, in fact more like a small terrace. You did have a sea view from most of the terrace. However i image there are better views on higher level floors. The room was fine, I was sharing with a female friend and the beds were single but together. Nice bathroom, clean and hot water. Plenty of space. Air conditioning heat worked perfectly and not too noisy. The hotel was nice although we were woken up at 5am from noise above us. Breakfast was good and the restaurant has nice views of the sea. It is a shame that the bar doesn't have any view at all as this is the hotels main asset.Because of this we chose to go outside the hotel. Beware of checking out, we only had 2 people in front of us but when we came back an hour later there was a long wait.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and balcony and you get the ground floor with a nice size terrace, easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the feedback received and welcome every opportunity to improve, therefore we thank you for your review.
We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our first trip to Portugal. We attended a large conference that was located at the Vila Gale. The hotel is full of beautiful ceramic art work, tiled walls and wood work. The restaurant is lovely with glassed-windows facing the sea, a wide variety of food and exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. The hotel has many rooms with an ocean view unlike others in the area. Five stars!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken posting this review and specially for the compliments sent to our staff.

It was a pleasure welcome you in our hotel and for being able to provide you an enjoyable stay.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year 2013 - very comfortable hotel in a great location - sitting watching the waves crash on the beach was very relaxing. Rooms are decent - typical European single beds, breakfast buffet is good and we ate dinner in the restaurant twice -- again a buffet or a la carte - not gourmet food but adequate. This hotel is about its location. Also a great base for exploring north of Lisbon especially the palaces and castles at Sintra.

Room Tip: Sea view is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YANKEEBRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ericeira
0.4 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#3 of 6 in Ericeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.2 mi away
Laneez Ericeira
Laneez Ericeira
#5 of 55 in Ericeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ericeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ericeira

Property: Vila Gale Ericeira
Address: Praca dos Navegantes 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ericeira 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breath taking hotel is located right on the Atlantic coast above the water offering a stunning ocean view and only 50 meters away from the inviting beach of Ericeira. Connections to the public transport network are to be found 500 metres away and the nearest airport is in Lisbon 40 km away. In the hotel surrounding there are many shops, bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 202 rooms spread over 5 floors. Among the rooms 116 with ocean view and 5 junior suites. The hotel includes a lobby area with a 24-hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access and lifts, hotel safe. For those arriving by car the hotel offers parking or garage (for an additional fee). In the common areas you will find a restaurant with buffet or a la carte service, 2 bars, a game room, kids playground and business corner. The hotel is fully equipped with event rooms with internet access and multimedia options ideal for meetings and conferences. Younger guests may let off steam in the playground and participate in the kids' club activities. Room, laundry and medical services round up the facilities on offer. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. Some of the rooms have balcony access. The outdoor complex offers a freshwater swimming pool as well as a saltwater pool with a separate children's pool, a sun terrace with sun loungers, parasols and a pool- bar. The Health Club with free access for guess is equipped with Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam room and Gym. You may also access the Spa for massages and beauty treatments for and additional cost. Surrounded by the ocean and beautiful landscapes, Vila Gale Ericeira is the perfect choice for those who wish to practice nautical sports, such as surfing. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and Dinner may also be selected a la carte menu or from a set menu. Special diet requirements as well as individual-specific dishes may be prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ericeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ericeira Hotel Ericeira
Vila Gale Hotel Ericeira
Ericeira Vila Gale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing