We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and locations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Ericeira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Ericeira
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great views and locations”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here in a lovely room facing the ocean across the pool area. The room was excellent, the decor might not be new but was in excellent condition and consistent with the style of the hotel. We slept with the doors open, listening to the surf for 2 nights but the third night resorted to the air conditioning, which worked well, as it was very windy.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pool area was pleasant for relaxing and not too busy when we were there.
The breakfast had a reasonable variety of foods but did not seem to taste that good. eg one type of cheese and only pressed ham, no cured ham, the cooked foods were very salty.
Vila Gale is a large hotel and very dominant in its position but is the best place to stay in Ericeira.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and we were very pleased that you were happy to stay with us.

We specially thank you for the comments on the items that were not completely tou your standards because those help us to improve..

Looking forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ericeira.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    307
    76
    19
    10
See reviews for
209
279
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel with a very good location. Whe feel that we are in a boat on the sea. Fantastic.
Breakfast enough.
My room looks old. Early in the morning so much noisy - the doors of the other room closing make a lot of noise.
I dont understand why the pools bar was closed, with a lot of people in the hotel. Finaly in a hotel with 4 stars with a price near 100 € for a room, we need to rent a key for de safe guard for 2,5€ a day. Why not include the safe guard in the price? it's look better, in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JCMarinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which helps us to improve our services.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ericeira.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 14 nights at the hotel and had no complaints whatsoever, We had room 328 which looked out across the bay and had a clear view of the sea. The rooms are not huge but plenty big enough for two and are kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of choice and cooked very well. The staff are friendly, and very helpful. Ericeira is a lovely village with all the restaurants, cafes and bars you could want, and less than five minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Room 328 overlooks the bay and the hotel swimming pools, we might try a corner room next time we vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordPeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments as we feel very happy to know that we provided you a nice stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Vila Galé Ericeira for more stays.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very clean, we had a 4th floor with sea view, very nice but tired if you looked.
The staff were very polite and curtious, we booked direct with hotel, but found other guest got a better deal from bookings.com (could have saved £200 on my booking for 5 nights) still i know for next time!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Mrs. Debra,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé on your next trip to Ericeira


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just returned from a six night stay at Villa Gale Ericeira. We had a third floor room with sea view and balcony and it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpfull. Loved the grounds, pools and position of the hotel is outstanding with great views and close proximity to the town.Our granddaughter particularly enjoyed the kiddies playground. We are certainly looking forward to another stay.

Room Tip: Go for sea view and balcony on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Mr. Michael,

Thank you for your review and it is very rewarding for us that you and your Family enjoyed staying with us.

We are already waiting for your return.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Again this year we spent a fabulous week at the Vile Gale, but there is always room for improvement espeically after our comments from last year. Rooms are top drawer as is the service, but its the little things, - towels ugh so thread bare as are the incidentals in the bathroom - where's me nail file. We go B and B, but the brealfast has improved somewhat but the toaster - the queue for this is horrendous so much so that we queue for the toast before we get anything else. Mateus is magnificent, he knew us girls needed our brew in the morning - well done

Room Tip: Got to have sea view - its breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

The returning guest as you is one of the best recognition of our efforts to make our guests feel well with us.

Thank you very much for your words and recomendations for you to see on the next time you come.

Hope to have you again with us soon.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed 12 nights end of July. Lovely salt water pool and great ocean view. Great surf possibilities and surprising good food at all restaurants in the small town. Especially recommend Prim for meat and Toca de Caboz for fish meals. Nice bar in the hotel's cellar with a pool table for some hustling possibilities. Tennis and squash courts close by as well as nice gym and spa facilities at the hotel

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the ocean. it's breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Mr. Christopher,

We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us which makes the Vila Galé Ericeira team very proud.

We hope to welcome you back with us very soon.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ericeira
0.4 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
134 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#3 of 6 in Ericeira
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.2 mi away
Laneez Ericeira
Laneez Ericeira
#5 of 55 in Ericeira
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ericeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ericeira

Property: Vila Gale Ericeira
Address: Praca dos Navegantes 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ericeira 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breath taking hotel is located right on the Atlantic coast above the water offering a stunning ocean view and only 50 meters away from the inviting beach of Ericeira. Connections to the public transport network are to be found 500 metres away and the nearest airport is in Lisbon 40 km away. In the hotel surrounding there are many shops, bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 202 rooms spread over 5 floors. Among the rooms 116 with ocean view and 5 junior suites. The hotel includes a lobby area with a 24-hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access and lifts, hotel safe. For those arriving by car the hotel offers parking or garage (for an additional fee). In the common areas you will find a restaurant with buffet or a la carte service, 2 bars, a game room, kids playground and business corner. The hotel is fully equipped with event rooms with internet access and multimedia options ideal for meetings and conferences. Younger guests may let off steam in the playground and participate in the kids' club activities. Room, laundry and medical services round up the facilities on offer. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. Some of the rooms have balcony access. The outdoor complex offers a freshwater swimming pool as well as a saltwater pool with a separate children's pool, a sun terrace with sun loungers, parasols and a pool- bar. The Health Club with free access for guess is equipped with Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam room and Gym. You may also access the Spa for massages and beauty treatments for and additional cost. Surrounded by the ocean and beautiful landscapes, Vila Gale Ericeira is the perfect choice for those who wish to practice nautical sports, such as surfing. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and Dinner may also be selected a la carte menu or from a set menu. Special diet requirements as well as individual-specific dishes may be prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ericeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ericeira Hotel Ericeira
Vila Gale Hotel Ericeira
Ericeira Vila Gale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing