We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Buddha Hostel
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We were recommended this place by a friend and it certainly lived up to it's reputation. A very clean environment, clevery decorated ad a tranquil stopping place with the best location in Ericeira. Just a stones throw from everything you will not be dissatisfied on the price either. After all this is a hostel and nit the Ritz but who cares I'd pick this place over the Ritz anyday! Lucia & Miquel make this what it is. The friendliest host anyone could wish for. Whilst we stayed there we met a few people who had returned to Portugal for their warmth and that is exactly what we found. They will go out of their way to help with anything.... Literally! It seemed more of a family environment at the Blue Buddha. We will definately be returning for some more of this when we can. 5 stars all the way u just hope nit to many people find out about it... I'm selfish I know.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshsoulboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

For me Ericeira is the best town in Europe and Blue Buddha new hostel is really very good place for comfortable and chilled out stay. Everything in the hostel is new, clean and good designed. There is a shared bathroom, but it doesn’t make any inconvenience and it is always clean.
Very nice bakery with real coffee and nice prices is located at the corner.
I highly recommend Blue Buddha New Hostel and its amazing ocean view from the balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuchsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I couldn't recommend this hostel more highly. The views from the balcony are stunning, the rooms and beds are extremely comfortable and it is kept immaculately clean. The showers are amazing and surf lessons with Semente Surf School are the best in town.

It's all run by locals and the surf school is very much hands on and you are brought away from where most of the surf schools are run, therefore avoiding gangs of beginners scrambling over one another, hitting each other with boards. They will do a deal if you book the school and your stay together and it is all very reasonable.

There is an amazing bakery around the corner from the hostel which does a great coffee, large freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly baked pastries, the trio of which come to €4.

The location of the hostel, as well as being literally over a white sandy beach, is a couple of minutes from the center and the proprietors are extremely helpful and friendly with any recommendations or anything at all.

I have stayed in hostels all over Europe, US and Central America and this is easily the nicest, cleanest and most chilled out hostel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

What a wonderful place!
This is the best hostel by far I stayed at! Right away you feel at home and you have a WONDERFUL sea view!

I can recommend Blue Buddha New Hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnetteS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nerina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Raumnummer 4 in der obersten Etage ist ein Traum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmeisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 4 in Ericeira
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 4 in Ericeira
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amar Hostel & Suites
Amar Hostel & Suites
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa de Ribeira Guesthouse
Casa de Ribeira Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Ericeira
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's House
Fisherman's House
#4 of 23 in Ericeira
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ericeira Boutique Lodge
Ericeira Boutique Lodge
#11 of 23 in Ericeira
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Buddha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Buddha Hostel

Address: Urbanizacao Aldeamento Moinhos do Mar 1, Ericeira 2655-478, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Ericeira
Price Range: $41 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Buddha Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of Ericeira easy walking access into the village centre or to a beautiful stroll to some of Portugal’s famous surf spots and beaches. Our Hostels caters for surfers from the most advanced to complete beginners you will sure have fun for surfing in no time. This Hostel have a 24 h private condominium guard with a garden to relax, greats sunsets and ocean views and is a short walking distance to the village centre, shopping facilities, surf spots and nice beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Blue Buddha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing