We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a beautiful place, amazing atmosphere”
Review of Residencial Vinnus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residencial Vinnus
Ranked #6 of 23 Ericeira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“what a beautiful place, amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place fell into our laps, as we wondering up the cobble stoned streets, most likely looking lost... as we were greeted at the door by a tall, kind man, who grabbed our luggage and brought us inside to hopefully help answer some questions.

We had just been asked to leave a previous hotel, and after being spoken to in such a manor, it was so refreshing to walk into this beautiful place. The perfectly white wainscotted walls and the quaint drapes blowing in the wind welcomed us with nothing but warmth and excitement...as we were about to explore thier village!

I am trying to write this poetically, as it's what resprensents this hotel best. Family run, husband and wife took over from their father, who renovated the building some 20 years ago. I felt like I was in an article from Cottage Life, as they have taken so much time and pride into decorating the place (even with painted self portraits haning in each room)

Tomaz walked us up the stairs to see our room, and we fell in love instantly! Cute little beds (and yes that would be the one and only flaw, the beds were not super comfortable, and small) but a huge room, with two windows that over- looked the tiny courtyard below. A brand new bathroom, with beautiful tiling and up to date facilities. A fridge, tv and a central rack to hang your clothes from, or if you needed to dry your towles out, hang them out side on the rack provided, just like the locals!

We went downstairs and he pulled out a map immediately. "What kind of food do you like?" he asks so proudly, because he now gets to show off his village. Circles where you get the best fried fish, the best Tapas, the best non sea-food for me...and points out the expensive places ...they're good...but they may be pricey" then he find out that we want to surf. "Here, go to these guys..(Ericeria Surf Centre) tell them Tomaz sent you.."

AND then you meet his wife! Even more friendly, teaching me a new Portugeuse word every morning. At night, she welcomes you home, asks how your day was and actually seems that she cares! She helped us book our hotel in Lisbon as well, and following the boutique hotel lure, she introduced us to what will be my next review! But not only did she look it up on the compuer, she phoned and booked it for us, and then told us about the best way to see Lisbon in a day, to meet up with this "guy" as she hands us a brochure.

One of the best customer service I have ever experienced, and it made us forget about the man who yelled at us within hours. We were now able to go explore this viallge, all from bumping into this tall, kind man at the door.

Thank you for your hospitality and I have already told my friends and family where to stay when in Ericeria.

Obrigada!! xoxo

(and I forgot to mention the other staff, a lovely local lady who also helped teach me some Portuguese. She was so pleasant and easy to talk to, even though she didn't speak much english. She always asked how your day was, and was just a joy!) I don't know her name tho...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmissmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    44
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
61
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After a bad experience in a different Ereceira hotel, we were wandering around the town wondering what in the world we should do and where we would stay - homeless on day two of our holiday was a bit of a disaster! The Tourist Office and our travel agent back in the UK had recommended Vinnus and it was the only place they both recommended so we wandered up that way first.

We were hovering by the door and someone came to us and asked if we were looking for somewhere to stay. It turned out to be Tomaz, one of the owners. He carried our bags up and gave us a no obligation tour of the hotel and showed room options to us. I'll be honest, we fell in love with the place instantly. Who wouldn't when the man showing us around clearly loved the place too?

He only had a triple room available as the twin rooms were taken but he kindly reduced the price for us and offered to take out the spare bed. It didn't really matter to us - spare bed can be a sofa really.

To describe the room, there were 3 beds, a basic desk and clothes hanging facility, two windows and an adorable blue tiled bathroom. There was also a fridge and kettle and they kept us stocked with tea bags, little pastries and fruit. We were on the top floor. There is wifi, it doesn't work throughout the whole building, but I could just about get a signal in my room. Everywhere else, the signal was really strong.

We quickly settled in and asked for some information about Ericeira - restaurants, surfing, shops etc etc. He pulled out a map and made us his own 'must see and do' map. I can honestly say, not one recommendation failed us! We ate amazing grilled fish, surfed with a great surf school, the list goes on.

For three nights, it was really comfortable, clean, good value and so central. It's hard to do better. I really wish I had found out Tomaz's wife's name. She was also amazing. All the staff were! She found us accommodation in Lisbon for our final night and recommended a great Lisbon tour company for the one day we would spend in the capital.

I can't wait to go back again. It turns out that her parents had owned the place for 22 years prior to passing it down and it is their vision that has made it the place it is today. After they passed
the business on, the couple have worked at redesigning and modernising the building. The art work on the walls and the little trinkets, mirrors on the walls etc are really tasteful and add to the feel of the place. I loved it - well done!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snow_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Every place is different from another. I loved the small town Ericeira with its narrows alleys, so crowded and illuminated at night, full of restaurants. Residencial Vinnus is a very good place to stay in absolute terms but it becomes truly excellent in Ericeira, because you are completely immersed in the heart of the small town. From your tiny balcony you can even look if there is free table outside in the restaurant along the other side of the alley!

I can't think a better location, you can reach every restaurant and bar in the city within minutes walking and you are very close to the square of the Market in which you can easily park your car for free.

The rooms are not big but they are very nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom, made of little blue tiles, was beautiful.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. You will find a basket with free small snacks and kettle with tea bags in the room. The free wifi connection is fast and it has always been working fine.
The value for money is very good too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent a week in Ericeira and were delighted with our accommodation in Residencial Vinnus. It is ideally located just off the main square in the centre of town. The free carpark around the corner was very busy but we usually found a spot. We reserved a double room with Kitchenette, which at €70 per night is great value. The night we arrived we were given a room on the top floor( room 31) which we admittedly thought was quite small and dark with a sloped ceiling in the bedroom and only one small frosted window in the kitchen .We asked if we could be moved and the staff,Tomaz and Margarida were very apologetic and the next morning we were given a lovely big bright room on the ground floor (room 15) It had a single room attached to the double and a small outdoor patio with table and chairs. They were so accommodating and eager to ensure we were happy with the new room, which we definitely were. They were very helpful throughout our stay and happy to answer any questions we had about the town, places to eat and drink etc. We would highly recommend Ericeira for a relaxing holiday in a town full of character and Residencial Vinnus is a charming friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: The room that we spent one night in on the top (third floor) had low sloped ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82_Olive_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The staff at the reception gave us helpful recommendations for restaurants and shopping in Ericeira. With 55 Euro per night for the small double room which is really very small (room number 13 or 12 for example) and without breakfast not the best price in Ericeira. Also the bathroom was very small. Advantage: free public parking is only 50 metres from Residencial Vinnus. Also only a few metres to restaurants, banks, shops, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaNick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Never stayed anywhere this cheap, this good. Only had one night but could happily have had five. We paid about £50 for both of us in a small but comfortable room, with a decent bathroom and small balcony. Everything seemed brand new. All painted in nautical colours - blue, white, blah - and it was right in the old part of the village, down a street with shops and restaurants. This is how small hotels should be run!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mailliw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We are a young couple and it was our first trip to Portugal. We found Vinnus through an online booking agent. We were so thrilled with our experience at Vinnus! The boutique-style accommodation was so perfect. The decor is lovely and the staff were so wonderful to us. The owners are a family and take every step to make sure their guests are comfortable and well looked after. We could not have asked for more! Thank you Margarida!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBugsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#4 of 6 in Ericeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's House
Fisherman's House
#4 of 23 in Ericeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amar Hostel & Suites
Amar Hostel & Suites
#7 of 23 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Vinnus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Vinnus

Property: Residencial Vinnus
Address: Rua Prudencio Franco da Trindade 19 1, Ericeira 2655-344, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Vinnus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Residencial Vinnus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing