We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of Residencial Vinnus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residencial Vinnus
Ranked #6 of 23 Ericeira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After a bad experience in a different Ereceira hotel, we were wandering around the town wondering what in the world we should do and where we would stay - homeless on day two of our holiday was a bit of a disaster! The Tourist Office and our travel agent back in the UK had recommended Vinnus and it was the only place they both recommended so we wandered up that way first.

We were hovering by the door and someone came to us and asked if we were looking for somewhere to stay. It turned out to be Tomaz, one of the owners. He carried our bags up and gave us a no obligation tour of the hotel and showed room options to us. I'll be honest, we fell in love with the place instantly. Who wouldn't when the man showing us around clearly loved the place too?

He only had a triple room available as the twin rooms were taken but he kindly reduced the price for us and offered to take out the spare bed. It didn't really matter to us - spare bed can be a sofa really.

To describe the room, there were 3 beds, a basic desk and clothes hanging facility, two windows and an adorable blue tiled bathroom. There was also a fridge and kettle and they kept us stocked with tea bags, little pastries and fruit. We were on the top floor. There is wifi, it doesn't work throughout the whole building, but I could just about get a signal in my room. Everywhere else, the signal was really strong.

We quickly settled in and asked for some information about Ericeira - restaurants, surfing, shops etc etc. He pulled out a map and made us his own 'must see and do' map. I can honestly say, not one recommendation failed us! We ate amazing grilled fish, surfed with a great surf school, the list goes on.

For three nights, it was really comfortable, clean, good value and so central. It's hard to do better. I really wish I had found out Tomaz's wife's name. She was also amazing. All the staff were! She found us accommodation in Lisbon for our final night and recommended a great Lisbon tour company for the one day we would spend in the capital.

I can't wait to go back again. It turns out that her parents had owned the place for 22 years prior to passing it down and it is their vision that has made it the place it is today. After they passed
the business on, the couple have worked at redesigning and modernising the building. The art work on the walls and the little trinkets, mirrors on the walls etc are really tasteful and add to the feel of the place. I loved it - well done!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snow_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Residencial Vinnus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Every place is different from another. I loved the small town Ericeira with its narrows alleys, so crowded and illuminated at night, full of restaurants. Residencial Vinnus is a very good place to stay in absolute terms but it becomes truly excellent in Ericeira, because you are completely immersed in the heart of the small town. From your tiny balcony you can even look if there is free table outside in the restaurant along the other side of the alley!

I can't think a better location, you can reach every restaurant and bar in the city within minutes walking and you are very close to the square of the Market in which you can easily park your car for free.

The rooms are not big but they are very nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom, made of little blue tiles, was beautiful.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. You will find a basket with free small snacks and kettle with tea bags in the room. The free wifi connection is fast and it has always been working fine.
The value for money is very good too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent a week in Ericeira and were delighted with our accommodation in Residencial Vinnus. It is ideally located just off the main square in the centre of town. The free carpark around the corner was very busy but we usually found a spot. We reserved a double room with Kitchenette, which at €70 per night is great value. The night we arrived we were given a room on the top floor( room 31) which we admittedly thought was quite small and dark with a sloped ceiling in the bedroom and only one small frosted window in the kitchen .We asked if we could be moved and the staff,Tomaz and Margarida were very apologetic and the next morning we were given a lovely big bright room on the ground floor (room 15) It had a single room attached to the double and a small outdoor patio with table and chairs. They were so accommodating and eager to ensure we were happy with the new room, which we definitely were. They were very helpful throughout our stay and happy to answer any questions we had about the town, places to eat and drink etc. We would highly recommend Ericeira for a relaxing holiday in a town full of character and Residencial Vinnus is a charming friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: The room that we spent one night in on the top (third floor) had low sloped ceilings.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82_Olive_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The staff at the reception gave us helpful recommendations for restaurants and shopping in Ericeira. With 55 Euro per night for the small double room which is really very small (room number 13 or 12 for example) and without breakfast not the best price in Ericeira. Also the bathroom was very small. Advantage: free public parking is only 50 metres from Residencial Vinnus. Also only a few metres to restaurants, banks, shops, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaNick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Never stayed anywhere this cheap, this good. Only had one night but could happily have had five. We paid about £50 for both of us in a small but comfortable room, with a decent bathroom and small balcony. Everything seemed brand new. All painted in nautical colours - blue, white, blah - and it was right in the old part of the village, down a street with shops and restaurants. This is how small hotels should be run!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mailliw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We are a young couple and it was our first trip to Portugal. We found Vinnus through an online booking agent. We were so thrilled with our experience at Vinnus! The boutique-style accommodation was so perfect. The decor is lovely and the staff were so wonderful to us. The owners are a family and take every step to make sure their guests are comfortable and well looked after. We could not have asked for more! Thank you Margarida!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBugsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in October.

We were lucky to get a lovely corner room on the top storey, which got evening sun on to the bed and small balcony.

The room was lovely, the bed was comfortable, and the location was excellent.

Free parking 1 mins walk from property. No breakfast available.
Wifi worked in room, but only when sitting next to the door.

The only bad aspect of the property was the bathroom. The smell in the room was so bad that my partner refused to shower in the room. Luckily we had the ocean!
We understand that this is a difficult problem to fix as it is the smell coming up from the sewers and wonder if the other rooms had the same problem? Maybe some plugs to cover the drains?
Air freshener?? Or a ventilated fan..

Anyway, extremely good value for money, and would still stay here again if returning to Ericeira (maybe we would smell the bathroom first.. )

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breol604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#4 of 6 in Ericeira
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's House
Fisherman's House
#4 of 23 in Ericeira
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amar Hostel & Suites
Amar Hostel & Suites
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#7 of 23 in Ericeira
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Vinnus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Vinnus

Address: Rua Prudencio Franco da Trindade 19 1, Ericeira 2655-344, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ericeira
Price Range: $47 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Vinnus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residencial Vinnus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing