We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA
Nearby Hotels
Casa Lagar do Miradoyro(Caramulo)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
$66
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rubi(Viseu)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta Da Comenda(Sao Pedro do Sul)(Great Value!)
$387
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
$93
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residencial Bela Vista(Viseu District)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
20
107
74
32
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
107
74
32
14
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 247 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we noticed that it was a high standard hotel some years ago but some areas need some attention now. We stayed in a room with view to the museum not to the mountain wich is amazing. We have that view on the outside pool and it is breathless.the interior pool is also good and we also loved the sauna and turkish bath.the massage and body scrub was divinal as well as the food in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VillaBatalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Caramulo is an interesting mountain hamlet, located in a remote part of central Portugal, and I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel do Caramulo there. My room was large and reasonably well appointed. I had only a single bed and, as is often the case in Portugal, I'm not sure if the hotel has any double beds, let alone queens or kings.

The restaurant was outstanding. One night I had the fixed-price dinner, which came with a regional egg-based dish with mushrooms served steaming hot in an onion soup-type dish. That was extraordinary. I believe it was there that I had a doce de bolacha for dessert. That, too, was something you can't find in the United States and a culinary delight.

The included breakfast was excellent.

Another nice touch is that the hotel has a functional Internet-ready computer for which it doesn't charge.

The common rooms on the ground floor are very pleasant. They're reminiscent of what you might find in an English country manor, an atmosphere contributed to by heavy rain and cold weather during my stay.

Quibbles: the water isn't hot, only warm, and it took five minutes to arrive at the bathroom sink in my fourth-floor room. The room lighting was dim. The TV set has no international channels.

While in Caramulo, you should, if you're the outdoors type, hike the five-mile-long Rota dos Caleiros, which takes you over thousand-year-old medieval stone roads on which you can see the ruts left by centuries of wagon wheels. The route is hard to follow, so bring a GPS receiver and download the route from the Internet onto your device.

The other thing is the museum, the Museu do Caramulo, located across the street. I suspect that this is one of Europe's better unknown museums. It has an excellent art collection and I imagine its automotive collection will appeal to car buffs. Most exciting for me was to discover there what may be the world's first mountain bike (or, to be precise, mountain-style bike). Built in England in 1891, this bicycle, the Quadrant, has a full suspension and a suspended seatpost. Only five were made (or maybe it's that only five currently exist). For me, an avid mountain biker, it was exciting to stumble across this historical artifact.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the Museu do Caramulo, and they're fine, but the ones on the other side of the hallway look 3000 feet into the valley below, toward Viseu. Try to get one of those.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtnbiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This renovated hotel in the heart of the Serra do Caramulo is the perfect place if you're looking to chill out. The rooms have a good size, they're very clean, there's a spacious bathroom and the views are very nice. It's located right in front of Museu do Caramulo, which is a must visit for all car buffs.
The hotel's restaurant serves wonderful traditional portuguese fare.
The spa is the crown jewel of this hotel, offering a wide range of massages and therapeutic treatments. I highly reccommend the Vichy Shower.
There are 2 swimming pools, one outdoor and the outher indoor.
I liked my staying there so much that I'll be back this year.

Room Tip: The rooms with mountain view are great.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonjaBirnbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel is a bit run down but still maintains some quality. It needs some improvements but what it offers is quite fair considering the prices it charges. Rooms are big and spacious but without much character and don't offer anything but the basics. The Spa isn't great, but it's clean and relaxing. The gym is big and well equiped. Some of the passages, namely between the pool and the spa need to be rethought. It makes no sense in having to pass through cold common areas of the building. Hotel management should also have more info on surrounding areas and activities. They gave us information on the turist office but it was closed throughout the whole time we where there (we actually passed by 5 times!!). I would have liked to go for a hike, as one of the best fixtures of the Caramulo is the natural lansdcape and the chance to get some great fresh air. A map would have done the trick, and better coordination with the tourist office is suggested. Wireless internet in the lobby, which is a nice area of the hotel. Breakfast is also quite ok. Jacuzzi wasn't working.
So overall, not too bad, fair for the price, but a lot of room for improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axe_Bav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Getting there is a bit tricky due to the narrow and mountain roads however, the trip there is also to be enjoyed. The scenery is just breathtaking and you can actually feel the silence and also the fresh air.
About the hotel, well, the staff is very friendly and always ready to help. We've stayed here between the 14th and the 16th of September 2011. We didn't have the look to get a valley view room, because a large group was there, but it was great nevertheless. The rooms are huge and tall (old buildings style) as also for the bathroom. The breakfast is also great.
It has two pools (interior and exterior). For the interior one, you need a cap. The water is warmed and it's a good option for cold mountain days. For the exterior pool, you don't need special equipment.
The food at the hotel restaurant is great. The prices are not exaggerated as it costs around 20,00 Euros/person (entrances, main course and desert with a 1.5 Lt. cold water bottle).
There's nothing much to do there, except mountain hiking and visiting the Caramulo Museum so it is a wonderful place to relax and escape from the busy cities and lower your stress levels :)
A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room, the view is breathtaking
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paedrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews