We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the algarve mor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Algarve Mor Apartments
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed at the Algarve Mor Apartment via Flyglobespan (booked direct through their website) and found them to be fab. Have stayed in Rocha many times before (in a private apt) but this year had to find other accommodation. Knowing the resort, I knew where and what I was booking but it was still nice to read the previous positive reviews and I have to say we were not disappointed at all. We had a room on the seven floor with a side view of the street and overlooking the beach. Huge rooms, very clean and well maintained and a large balcony. Would recommend to anyone to consider these apts. They are right on the avenue and very handy for access to all the restaurants and pubs but still in a location set away slightly from the noisier part of the avenue. We had a great holiday and found the resort to be as good as ever . Must give a mention to Sol Restaurant, Dukes, Nova China, Durty Nellies, A Portugesa, Algar Bar - which were all as excellent as ever. We took a day trip to Seville, which is worth seeing, stunning city, but beware very early start. Also the sardine and king prawn lunches at Portimao Harbour front are a must !!! We did find our money went a bit quicker this year but this is not due to the prices going up in the resort, simply due to the pound being so bad this year against the euro. This is our 7th or 8th time in Rocha and we will definitely be going back - and would definitely stay at the Algar Mor Apts again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AberdeenAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Algarve Mor Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2008

Just back from a week in the Algarve Mor Apartments. Three sisters on a late deal. Having read the previous reviews I had high hopes for these apartments and wasn't disappointed. Very spacious, 1 twin bedroom, very large lounge with small bed and sofa bed, spacious bathroom and quite a large kitchen which is well equipped and also has a microwave oven and toaster. Patio doors to balcony from both the bedroom and lounge. The small bed in the lounge is more suited to a child, the sofa bed is larger and we used that for the third person. Maids came in daily to mop the floors, make the beds and clean the bathroom. Towels were changed every second day (the day after we arrived we requested clean towels from the maids and were told we would have to wait until the next day). Bedlinen was changed a few times during the week. There is a safe in the wardrobe and it cost 10 Euro for the week and 15 Euro deposit which was refunded on returning the key. Reception area is very nice and the staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is on the first floor. A bit on the small side, but the area around it is spacious and as we were there early in the season there were not many people using it. The surrounding building is quite high and the pool area gets shaded as the day goes on and everyone ends up in the one corner. Sun was completely gone from pool area at about 5.40 p.m. There are mattresses for the sunbeds stored in the pool toilet area and you just help yourself. Biggest downside here is the lack of a poolside bar for cold drinks and snacks, so keep your fridge well stocked! With a pool view you will have morning sun on your balcony and with a street view (which we had) you get evening sun until it goes down. There are notices in reception that check-out time is 12.00 but if you are with a travel agent it is 11.00, so be aware of this as we only found out on the day of departure! There is a luggage room which is right opposite reception desk, it has glass doors so that everything is visible and it is kept locked with the key on request from reception, so you can happily leave your stuff if you are on a late flight and going out for the day. Reception will look after your passports but not money or valuables. Also there are showers beside the toilets at the pool so you can freshen up and change before departure. Apartments are facing the beach but to access it you have to go right or left for a couple of hundred yards and then go down a lot of steps. The beach is beautiful and well serviced. A boardwalk runs right along the beach and there are quite a few restaurants and bars and very importantly, toilets! A comfortable sunbed and shade costs 5 euro per day. A short walk from the apartments brings you to the "Strip". This consists of Disco bars, Karaoke bars and more Irish bars that I have ever seen in one place! If this is your scene then you will be very pleased. There are lots of good restaurants. Our favorite was Squash, wonderful food, beautifully presented, reasonable prices. If you like dancing then the Jupiter Hotel is the place to go. Music and dancing outdoors around the pool every night and you can watch the locals strut their stuff! Portimao is very beautiful and costs 3 to 4 Euro in a taxi. There is a big square at the port with lots of restaurants, bars and music, lovely little winding streets, again with restaurants, bars and shops and in our opinion a much nicer place than Playa de Rocha. Recommend a trip on the Pirate Ship, takes you along the coast and you transfer to a small boat which takes you in and out of the caves, a great experience not to be missed! Hope this gives you an overview of the place. We had a very enjoyable week, fantastic weather, nice apartments, great beach, what's not to enjoy! It was quiet enough in early June but I imagine high season will be pretty lively.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FaircityLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Stayed at the Algarve Mor apartments in Praia Da Rocha last week and had a fabulous holiday. These apartments were spotless,cleaned everyday and fresh towels left. They were also very spacious with a bedroom , large lounge, kitchen , fairly large bathroom and a balcony accessed from both the bedroom and lounge with an excellent sea view.I was highly delighted with it and the reception staff were always very friendly.
I was really pleasantly surprised as I had stayed in the Oriental Hotel across the road in July but although the public areas were quite flash, the soft furnishings in the rooms were in need of upgrading, and the room itself was not really suitable for three.
The Nova China chinese restaurant, Ireland's Eye , Dukes and the Titanic all serve lovely food and the Senhora Da Rocha beach cafe/restaurant along the board walk cannot be beaten .
Next time I come back to Praia Da Rocha I will definitely try to book the Algarve Mor Apartments in preference to anywhere else.Great accomadation, spotless, everything you need supplied in the rooms, friendly staff, fabulous location, overlooking the sea and beach, and very reasonable . What more could you ask for? Most highly recommended+++++++

3  Thank happyholiday2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We booked last minute flights with Globespan for a 5 day break. After many evenings trawling through the internet, looking at airlines, hotels, apts, trip advisor, holiday watchdog etc etc. We decided to book through Globespan direct and we were allocated accommodation at the Algarve Mor Apartments in Praia Da Rocha.

They were great!! Best apartments we have been to, I think!

The rooms were huge. Massive bathroom , kitchen, little seperate balcony for your washing. The lounge had a sofa (which I think doubled as a sofabed, and a little bed was set up for our 4 year old daughter. In the separate bedroom there were another 2 single beds. Good sized balcony with amazing views. To our left was the lovely beach and to the right hand side was the harbour..

Also a strange thing.... we were on the 8th floor (top) and the corridor we were on had 3 sets of patio doors at different angles giving cracking views over the beach and the harbours again...

The staff on reception were very helpfull as I had food poisoining (from Aqua Zoo, don't eat fish at their restuarants unless you want to be ill for a day or 2!).

Also the location is really central, 5 mins from the beach and right amongst things. Not too noisy though as we had no problems sleeping nor did our 4 yr old..

Downside.. well none really. the only thing I would say is that the pool which is on the first floor! is a little bit small. But it wasn't all that busy when we were here in September so it was fine. Also the supermarket next door to the apartments is a total rip off. We bought a couple of bags of messages and it came to 80 euros, I nearly fell over.... Well shafted. and that was with 4 cans of beer and no other alcohol..

However a good time was had and I would recommend this accommodation. Hope this helps someone with their future booking. We will be returning booking direct through the apts in November this year!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank AKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Our family of 4 - 2 girls aged 9 & 12 had a week at the A mor in June. The rooms were more spacious than we were used to and well equipped. cleaninf service excellent. No kids cclubs, shows or bar, which suited us as there are some fabulous restraunts nearby and the beach is sdevine. People lovely - not p8ushy or "in your face". We loved La Dolce Vitae Italian restraunt an dfor a low priced upmarket meal, Squash was superb. I've heard the Titanic is overrated - not gone on kids and a bit rushed. Would definitely recommend Praya de Racha and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dromin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

My husband and I have just returned from our first holiday to the Algarve. We booked it through the internet and were not too sure what to expect (although we never heard a bad report of this area). Our apartment was brilliant, very spacious and well equipped with stunning views of the lovely beach and the Atlantic. The apartments were well situated at the far end of 'the strip' which gave us a nice walk every night but there was no noise in our area.

The staff at reception and the maids were all very friendly and helpful. Our apartment was cleaned and towels changed 7 days out of the 9days we were there.

We ate out every evening and found some very nice restaurants. Hollywood was very busy but good food and excellent prices. The young waiter on the door was particularly pleasant. Titanic has an excellent reputation and although we found the food very good we felt the atmosphere was all a bit frantic. It was a busy night and people had to wait for a table which was fair enough but the antics and attitude of the head waiter would not have put Basil Fawlty to shame! Our favourite restaurant was Squash which had amazing food, nice waiters and did not cost the earth. One not to be missed!

We visited a snack bar on a few occasions called Dina's Bar (opposite Dirty Nellies Pub) for my husband to have a Mega breakfast. Staff were really nice and helpful , food was lovely and they run a book exchange which I find a bonus not to have to carry all those books home again.

All in all we had a great holiday and hope to return to this beautiful part of the world again. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

5  Thank rhillscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Yeca1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Mor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Mor Apartments

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $36 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Algarve Mor Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Algarve Mor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarve Mar Apartments Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Algarve Mor Apartments Praia Da Rocha, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing