We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spotless roomy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algarve Mor Apartments
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“spotless roomy”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

near beach and quieter end of strip. v clean and staff are helpful
rooms were perfect for our needs loved the separate kitchen area
lots of nice restaurants on the boardwalk and strip
highly recommend
pool a bit small and no kids pool

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovedesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
34
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Back a couple of weeks from Praia da Rocha after many visits.
Stayed at Algarve Mor as my elderly mother-in-law was with
us. Algarve Mor is ideal as there is little walking to be done and
its also on the flat, so no problems with uphill or downhill. Very
good accommodation, as per usual for Algrave Mor. Everything you
need for your holiday.

Praia da Rocha was extremely quiet, this was two weeks after Easter.
I think they are more or less depending on English, Irish and some
Scandanavians & Germans and neither of these are visiting to the
same extent that they were a number of years ago. Restaurant prices
good for the Tourist Menu but otherwise, if you were there with a couple
of children, you would find it expensive. I feel that they will have to invest
some kind of attraction other than seaside to attract tourists, especially
outside the high season times. You will find seaside in every holiday
country so people are not going to come for that alone. I get the feeling
that for so long, they did not have to think about this aspect of tourism,
as people were coming in flocks but thats all changed now so it remains to
be seen if there are some creative minds there and what they'll come up
with.
Nevertheless, we enjoyed our trip, as it was a rest we required and got.

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment facing the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cuilaodha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A good apartment with lovely views over the beach. Balcony enclosed which I prefer. All kitchen pans, rooms etc exceptionally clean. We were not expecting a tv but were pleasantly surprised that we could get English programmes. Only thing missing was a cooker. We had only a hob, microwave and kettle but we managed. Plenty of restaurants and supermarkets nearby. We were there 8 nights and the reception staff were most helpful and pleasant. One must be aware though that the nearly all facilities and hotels in the resort close 1st November until May. Weather mixed but a lovely walk into other beaches close by and the bus service is excellent and cheap.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be over looking the pool and at the side so the view of the beach was quite su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

WE stayed here for two night's after oyr distaster stay at clube praia. All we can say is that the apartments are lovely and clean, with nice big bathrooms, kitchen with all you need to cook, a lovely pool and sun area, and nice balconies with vies of the beach. We will be going back for sure.

Room Tip: car park for guests, very helpful and friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

When we first arrived, the weather was grim and the hotel exterior looked the same. I was dreading it when I went into reception and again as we headed to the room.....but we were very pleasantly surprised!! It was very spacious and bright with a bathroom, sittingroom, separate kitchen and bedroom. There were two balconies leading off the sittingroom (as we were at the corner of the building), and another off the kitchen. The room literature told us that the towels would only be changed every second day but they were changed every day - which was great. The bedroom was the only disappointment in the apartment with orange curtains, twin beds separated by a locker and really old fashioned bedcovers. We pushed the beds together and they'd taken the ugly covers away the next day anyway.
The cleaners arrived at odd hours between 9am and 4pm - so they were hard to predict. They'd ring the bell outside the room which gave us a chance to ask them to come back later, which was no problem.
The views we had were of both the sea and the distant marina and hills - from a side aspect. It was beautiful.
The other disappointment was the pool - it was tiny and cramped in between two sides of the hotel - with a sea vew on the other. We nicknamed it the Library Pool - there were no kids (there's no lifeguard), about 6 adults and you could hear a pin drop. Needless to say, we went to the beach instead. The beach is amazing - the best we've ever been to.
The hotel is located at one end of the strip - which is only minutes away from the main pub and restaurant area. I wouldn't recommend Praia Da Rocha for young couples / groups as the nightlife is very limited. However, we did find some good bars such as Ireland's Eye, The Celt and a fantastic cocktail bar called Absolutely which is just off the main strip. It's expensive but beautiful inside and the toilets are spotless. The staff are very friendly and the cocktails are an experience!! I had a Snickers and a Chocolate Banana one - they are so tasty!!! Make sure you pick up a Free Map - in loads of shops and in the hotel. They are brilliant for getting you around and give tips on the best places to eat and drink. The Free Map is recommended by the BBC programme 'Wish You Were Here' - they can be downloaded from: http://www.freemaps.net/

Room Tip: Ask for a sea or side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SWEETCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in June and found very little to fault! There were 3 of us so the staff had an extra bed set up in the lounge/dining area of the apartment and still there was loads of space. Our apartment overlooked the pool and had a lovely view of the beach too. The cleaners came in every day and towels were changed every second day. It was quite warm when we were there and unfortunately there was no fan or air conditioning in the apartments which would have helped. The kitchen did smell a little musty but we never used it except for the fridge (which was positioned behind the door and opened the wrong way). At times you could get a smell of sewerage from the toilet, but we just had to keep the lid down (but this was in general all over the resort at times). The location could not have been better, it is positioned at the end of the strip and in 5 minutes you can be on the beach. The staff in general were very nice and helpful. Don't buy anything from the shop directly opposite the apartments as it is hugely overpriced (1.50 for a can of coke and in the supermarket 5 minutes walk away it is 0.85). The pool at these apartments lets it down as it is very basic and the sun loungers are all covered in bird droppings. The parasols are folded down each evening but they could also wash down the sun loungers and turn the over as this is off putting. I would definitely recommend these apartments and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prettypink21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

the best apartments we have stayed in . very central to everything cleaned every day staff very pleasant. if shopping do not use shop across from apartments very expensive go to supermarket just down from jupiter hotel much cheaper for everything. got a seaview apartment only thing it was on the 1st floor if looking for seaview make sure to ask for high apartment. that was only thing that we had to complain about. if in alvor make sure to go to the green door restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank super86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Mor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Mor Apartments

Property: Algarve Mor Apartments
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algarve Mor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Algarve Mor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarve Mar Apartments Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Algarve Mor Apartments Praia Da Rocha, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing