We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what is claims to be” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Catarina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Catarina
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Rugby
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It is what is claims to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked into this hotel expecting a three star hotel and that is what it is. It is not posh but it was very clean. The room was cleaned everyday, very well considering how much sand we seemed to take back with us. The room was comfortable but basic. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful especially the girl on the breakfast desk. The breakfasts were possibly geared more to the europeans but the fresh melon and pineapple was lovely. It is only a 5 minute walk to a lovely beach and close to restaurants and shops.

For a cheap holiday in a warm place this was ideal. Some of the other guests were rather noisy but that could happen in any hotel and I believe that they were asked to quieten down.

The best bit was the panoramic lift

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetJohn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    88
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
95
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Chose this hotel for price and location. Situated at the quiet end of Praia da Rocha. I was some what surprised as how good it was at the price. Good size room with balcony that had a view of the sea. Large bed, plenty of wardrobe space and fridge. The only English speaking channel I found on the TV was news but we did not go to the Algarve to watch TV In all other respects the accommodation was fine. The bed a little hard perhaps. Maid service daily. Staff friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast provided with hot and cold selection. The hotel restaurant serves lunch and diner. Outside of those times you have to find refreshments away from the hotel. This does not present a problem as numerous eating places within yards of the hotel. The Casino is opposite. Snacks and drinks in the casino is very cheap and their restaurant does a good meal in the evening from 30 Euros and on Tuesdays that includes a floor show. There are a number of tours that collect and return to hotel. Be warned if you take the Gibraltar trip be prepared for a long trip. We did this in May, collected from the hotel at 0500hrs and returned about 2200hrs.a long time to be in the coach. A couple we met this time arrived back at hotel at 0100hrs. They were shattered. One trip we took, takes you to Sand City an amazing display of sculpture sand. This year it had a musical theme. On the way back we stopped at a restaurant and had a very good meal. There are wide variety of trips including boat trips of various kinds. I have stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels at Praia da Rocha and although the Catarina lacks the frills of these hotels it would be hard to beat for value for money. It shares the same location as the 4 and 5 star hotels at about a third of the price. I would certainly consider a return visit. If you like to make a drink in the night take a travel kettle. Tea and coffee making in the room is not so common in Portugal for some reason.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KilkennyPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

lovely and clean, continential breakfast, no swimming pool or but beach over the road and plenty of bars cafes near by. fresh towels daily and excellant location. get a seaview they are worth it...if it had a pool and bar it would be 4 star !! bathroom smellys repelished and very friendly staff.

newspapers in the lounge area.

Room Tip: seaview room .. we were in 403 which had half a seaview but if you got 405 ?? it would have been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisablackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for a week in September and were delighted. We paid extra for a sea view and it was worth it. Very clean and staff were friendly. We liked the panoramic view lift. The only down side was the breakfast which was more for mainland Europeans. Cheese and ham is more a lunch for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here 3 nites & the location is great as are the rooms. Breakfast was more than adequate. It's nice that the hotel is just down from the busy part of the street, but still close enough to walk to everything in a matter of minutes. Staff was very helpful & spoke excellent English.

We had asked for an ocean view & we enjoyed looking out at the beautiful beaches.

Most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanair5749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Hotel is vey nice the rooms are big and Hotel is very clean , the staff are helpfull and nice .
The hotel is located very near to Praya Da Rocha . All the area are beautiful and full of people and shops around , the Food in the near are tasty and good.

Room Tip: Try to take with the Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMANUEL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here in late June for 4 nights. The hotel was well situated and there are tons of bars, restaurants and cafes around and at least 2-3 little supermarkets. The huge beautiful beach was just across the street and down some stairs. The beach itself was amazing and had alot of little restaurants setup so you didnt have to go back up to the main road. There is also a huge long boardwalk of sorts so you can walk along the whole length of the beach. The hotel staff I mostly dealt with (the tall thin guy and the "new girl" lol) were very nice and helpful. I would stay here again for sure. The only reason I didnt give this a 5 star is because my room was a touch small and the breakfast room was a bit small and sometimes tough to get a seat...nothing major really just some observations. Great hotel and great price..

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catarina

Property: Santa Catarina
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Catarina Algarve, is a new 3 stars hotel very well located in the first line of the beach (Praia da Rocha) in front of the Casino, at about 4 km from the center of the city and 60 km from Faro's international airport. It has 69 rooms, sea and land view, 6 suits, restaurant, bar, living room, and a panoramic lift with an excellent view for Praia da Rocha. The rooms are all well equipped with balconys, private bathroom, hair dryer, telephone, tv, minibar, air conditioning, heating and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catarina Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Santa Catarina Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing