We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel”
Review of Santa Catarina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Catarina
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed September 11, 2012

well we were very pleasantly surprized and only having 3 nights, left wishing it had been more,
buffet breakfast very good and lovely views of the beach and the atlantic,
would recommend to anyone, the service was exceptional, the rooms were spotless the position was ideal

Room Tip: we just asked for what we wanted & got it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stacey dolphin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 224 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Hotel and rooms are immaculate, great buffet style breakfast with excellent choice. Outstanding value - located right on strip across from beach. Stayed a few times, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. If you are looking for a good value hotel with great location I thoroughly recommend. Hotel doesn't have a pool, this personally doesnt bother me as I prefer the beach anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pamliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We booked an impromptu 5 night break over the Bank Holiday weekend. As this was a last minute decision and we are holidaying in July, this trip was to be on a budget. We just wanted a clean room to sleep at night and from the reviews we read, this hotel looked as though it would serve our purpose. We were aware that there wasn't a swimming pool but we know the resort well and realised the location made easy access to the beach. (as it happened we struck gold by finding the No Solo Agua pool club at the Marina & went there each day)
When we arrived at Santa Catarina, the room allocated to us did not have a balcony. I asked the lady on reception who checked and said that it wasn't possible to give us one that night but if we just took what we needed to go out the next day, by the time we returned they would move all our luggage to a new room with a balcony and we could just collect the key from reception. And they were as good as their word. We were allocated a 6th floor room at the back with fantastic views over Portimao Harbour easpecially at night with all the lights.
The room was spacious modern with air-conditioning and a fridge with soft drinks at a small charge. Our room was cleaned and we were given fresh towels each day.
The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout and all the reception staff were friendly, helpful and obliging.
We were due to check out by midday but as our transport wasnt due until 1.15 the young man on reception said we could keep the room until then at no additional charge.
Our booking included breakfast which was basic without much choice but adequate.
If you are rating Santa Catarina by comparing it to 4 or 5 star hotels like the Algarve Casino across the road (which we have holidayed at previously), then you will be disappointed.
If you rate it for what it is, then I recommend as a very good 3*** hotel and great value for money. Dont have unrealistic expectations!
Summarising - fantastic location and good clean accommodation with great customer service.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the more privacy and if you are at the back good views over Portimao Harbour; a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PamelaCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

In over 40 years of holidays abroad this was the first time I had a room safe that was free of charge! Most rooms have only partial sea view but worth booking because south facing. Very clean single room nice shower. First class air-conditioning (again no charge). Hotel overall very clean and smart, staff excellent nothing too much trouble. However this is not the hotel for you if you want more than a Portugese cuisine (food very good and wine by the glass which is ace if you are dining alone). There is no bar/cafe, garden or terrace. Lots of short stay travellers from Europe doing their own thing. Well placed for shops, bars and beach and good bus service into Portimao where you can catch frequent buses to a number of really interesting places. It's my kind of place but may not be yours however I still recommend it especially for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights recently in a double room. Comfortable, just; clean, a bit smelly, dark interior, but everything worked. Breakfast was okay. Personnel was extremely friendly and helpful, turned a meeting room into a place for us to leave our bikes in an instant. Good location, near the beach, marina and restaurants and night life. This being out of season I paid a fair price, so that made it good value for money.

Room Tip: the double room has an extra bedroom and is located on the corner of the building. managed to park o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flightwithadutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The first thing you need to know is if you have a car or rented a car the hotel does not provide park, or rather the park that has only fit 8 cars that require a lot of maneuvering and increases the risk of dents and scratches. And you do not have any parking spots near the hotel.
Nevertheless the hotel has a strong point in its favor, the location. On the main street of Praia da Rocha, close to the beach, close to restaurants, close to bars and nightclubs, and near shops.

The rooms are small but are cleaned every day, dated furniture and different kinds of wood, bar and safe. On the sea view rooms and the panoramic elevator note that in front between the sea and the hotel is the Algarve Casino complex that cuts 80% of sea view, so even if you get a room in front of the hotel you may not see the sea, only in rooms further west.

Breakfast is reasonable, lots of fresh fruit, but lack the bread options (only one type). And the eating room is to small.

All personnel is sympathetic and the reception is friendly.

But the main problem is the value, I paid well for a hotel with small rooms, dark hallways, parking ridiculous and dangerous to the cars that park there, and an average 3-star hotel service.

But if you spend the day at the beach and the night on bars and only use the hotel for sleep, its ok.

Room Tip: Sea view only the rooms on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rigonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have stayed in the Hotel Santa Caterina twice in two years. Each time I used it primarily to sleep in, which is a good thing because you would'nt want to stay there any longer than was absolutely necessary. The tiny rooms I booked which were, to be fair, cheap as chips, both had leaks in the vicinity of the toilet bowl, Ugh. No tea/coffee making gear. No slipmat in the bath. Shampoo/shower bottles not replenished. View of a wall 6 ft outside my window. Breakfast was ok. I checked the prices for December and they are horrendous. Only plus is location.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are much better but more expensive. Pick a room above the first floor or you will see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank edscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catarina

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $43 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Catarina Algarve, is a new 3 stars hotel very well located in the first line of the beach (Praia da Rocha) in front of the Casino, at about 4 km from the center of the city and 60 km from Faro's international airport. It has 69 rooms, sea and land view, 6 suits, restaurant, bar, living room, and a panoramic lift with an excellent view for Praia da Rocha. The rooms are all well equipped with balconys, private bathroom, hair dryer, telephone, tv, minibar, air conditioning, heating and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catarina Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Santa Catarina Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing