We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Luar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luar
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel luar is in an excellent location, it's on the doorstep to the beach and minutes away from the praia da rocha strip. The hotel staff are very friendly n helpful, the hotel is kept clean and tidy however in need of some updating. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    147
    87
    18
    6
See reviews for
70
155
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Visited Hotel Luar with my boyfriend for a week. Very clean hotel, maids came every morning. One of the best, cleanest pools we have ever been to, with a pool bar! We paid £20 extra for a sea view. Was definitely worth the money but it was a shame the sun never really reached our balcony (room 508). Breakfast very average, cereal/toast/eggs and bacon/cheese/hams. Amazing location, a minutes walk to the best part of the beach.. definitely worth a walk to the other end of the beach where there are beach activities and a blow up play area in the sea. Lively strip with endless restaurants and bars to choose from. Got the train to Lagos for the day (only 2 euros) which is definitely worth a visit. Many boat trips are done from here. The Dolphin trip we went on is definitely worth a visit (25euros each - days of adventure) Would happily go back to Hotel Luar!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel Luar is a good clean hotel in a great location, rooms are a bit tired looking but are very clean with a small mini bar that is stocked daily. The pool area is lovely with pleanty of sunbeds free at all times of the day. Lovely big reception area, free wifi in bar and reception.

Location is 2 mins walk to strip to bars/restaurants but still set far enough away so that you don't have any nighttime noise in hotel. Staff are very helpful, I even left an electronic device at hotel & they posted on to me right away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank locat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

For the first time ever, we have stayed at the same hotel two years running and it was just as nice as the first time. The only thing that was not as nice, but still lovely, was our apartment position, this time we were in 218 and our balcony looked over the pool, ocean and all other lower inner balconies, which meant we were overlooked by others too..but, saying that, we only had to come out of our door and we had the large communal balcony, which was lovely..

The breakfast was the same as last year, help yourself, so it is up to you if you want to vary it a bit..nothing special but nothing bad about it either.

The pool was just as lovely as we remembered, and there were always plenty of sunloungers to go around.

Location lovely,easy walking distant to all shops and bars and food joints but the steps down to beach are ok really, but take your time walking up , they can be knackering.

Overall, the hotel Luar is very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent value. Spacious rooms. Very clean and though a little dated did not detract from the overall feel of the hotel. Very helpful with my ironing problem and snack bar staff by the pool were lovely! No loud music or games - fab. Perfect for the beach and excellent restaurants within two minutes walk. Do not be put off by the €8.90 for three courses. Delicious and well presented. Went with a mate for a few days away - Wednesday to Sunday - and was perfect. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 512Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We found the Hotel Luar, extremley good value, it was spotless, cleaned throughout everyday, the pool area was great, plenty of sunbeds, snack bar and staff very good, we had a lovely seaview from our balcony, room was dated but ok, firm bed, fridge, tv and air conditoning which we needed, close to the bars, restaurants and shops, breakfast was ok, bacon, scrambled eggs, cereals. breads, meats, plenty to choose from, (but not full English) but it suited us.

We will definately return, weather was good and Prai De Rocha beaches and views are first class

Room Tip: Ask for side sea view (304) great views and a cool balcony in the afternoon which we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parklands_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed last year September, first time in Praia and in the hotel. We got a really good deal (2 sisters sharing). This hotel is exactly what we were looking for it was clean and tidy the pool was lovely and the location was great - easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Free wifi in the lobby was a great bonus also. While I was there I had to print off an e mail sign something and get it scanned and e mailed back to me. I asked the reception staff if they wouldn't mind doing so for me and they couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast isn't that great (no fruit!) but its acceptable. We treated ourselves to Taffy's (great restaurant down the street) breakfast on a couple of occasions as a treat! The only one other negative thing about the hotel was the small tv in the room with very few channels but SHAME ON ME for watching tv on holidays anyway. Would defo recommend this hotel. My sister has already returned twice and I'm Returning again this year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bren2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luar

Property: Hotel Luar
Address: Avenida V3 St Tres Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Luar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luar Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Luar Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing