We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Hotel Luar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luar
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my girlfriend aged mid 20's just returned from the hotel luar and can honestly say it was perfect! for the price we payed we didnt really expect much but aslong as it was clean and close to the strip, i can say this hotel was so much more than we expected! the hotel is in a perfect location literally 30 seconds walk untill you hit the first restaurants at the beginning of the strip which id recommend the first 1 you come to called bulli pupe the pizza is gorgeous if you have that! and cheapest around. as you walk out the hotel the views are amazing looking over the sea and a small coved beach! the pool area is brilliant and well spacious not cramped like some hotels, the pool is a good size and there were always enough sun beds, i was at the pool at 9-9:30 and every day there was still quite a few sunbeds still not took so dont worry too much about getting your towel down at 7am because at 8:30 when we went for breakfast there were probably only 5 or 6 towels down. the reception is gorgeous with free wifi and the hotel receptionists are so nice! each 1 of them are really helpful and will do so much for you! the man i didnt get his name but i no he works 4pm-12 most days is great and a nice guy. the 24hour reception is great too!, the rooms are basic but clean and have air con and a fridge which most hotels dont, the fridge can be abit noisy through the night but if it botheres you too much you could turn the setting down, the rooms looking the sea are brilliant we had a side view looking over the sea and was so nice! yeah maybe the rooms could be updated a little but they wernt horrible and they were clean!, the breakfast i must admit isnt brilliant but again what you pay for this hotel you can not moan,
weve been to alot of gorgeous places cyprus, turkey, majorca but can honeslty say portugal (praia da rocha) is up here with the best and id say has the best views etc
we would definatly recommend this hotel and wouldnt think twice to returning to it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitz8064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

me and my wife just returned from hotel ,think 3 star is just deservied,staff(reception) were excellent included the cleaners never stopped, staff in cafe/bar busy not forgetting the pool cleaner , this hotel is very clean and tidy, we were given room 121 which was in prime location veiws to sea and pool and the balcony was brill right on corner ,the hotel itself is in a good location only 2 minute walk to local bars and cafes ,the busier bars a 10 minute walk away, the beach steps is just right outside the hotel bit steep and about 65 ish steps going down to beach ,but well worth it the beach is very good with cafes down there excerlant would defo recommend this hotel.loved the free wifi
Heres the down side, people putting there towels down at 7ish in morning and walking away and not returning until 12 ish very rude germans again eh very nice pool but not enough sunbeds thou,also the fridge in room a bit noisy overall a good hotel ,one final note praia da rocha seems to be a lot of irish and irish bars not that i have got anything against the irish there are very nice people,be patienced when wanting served in the town very slow and not enough staff on

Room Tip: 121 very good room with massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (both in early 20's) stayed for one week mid August for a cheap break in the sun, after booking pretty cheap flights we realised we weren't going to find a nice hotel for a real cheap price as it was peak time to visit so Hotel Luar was one of the cheapest hotels with good average ratings so we went for it. Obviously, money was a big factor for us so we were quite disappointed to find out that the hotel provided transfer from the airport (45 minutes) for 60 euros which we found quite pricey, but naively we did it as we arrived quite late and didn't know where we were going/other options. We later booked a shuttle transfer for our return to the airport on our ipad at shuttledirect.com for more than half the price (28 euros) and we ended up being the only ones on the small minibus anyway so was just like a private taxi!

Our room was not particularly amazing, we had a street view room over looking the busy road in front, I thought the noise from traffic may be disruptive at night but we had the air-con on and it ended up quietening out any external noise. They only had twin beds so we pushed them together which was quite uncomfortable to sleep in the middle, the bathroom was quite outdated and could do with upgrading and every time I had a shower it would spill out onto the floor so there would be a big pool of water. The hotel as a whole is quite nice with a big lobby and reception area, and we did not spend too much time in our room so we were not too bothered.

The breakfast was really bland and basic, we were relieved towards the end of our week to not have to eat dry bread for another morning! Their 'fresh orange juice' was very strong sugary diluted juice, I did not try their 'cooked breakfast' but my boyfriend said it was very limited and not particularly tasty.

One of the best selling points is the pool, it's a great size with a big shallow end to lounge in the water from the heat and an even bigger deep end which was great for jumping in. The pool could often get busy at times but never really over crowded, we often got up quite early so always found chairs but most of them would be taken by 10am, a lot of them had towels on them from early in the morning where people were obviously 'reserving' them. There is a large grassed area where a lot of people would lay as well so there is a lot of room.

The location is good, 2 minutes away from a number of beach coves which you get to from quite steep steps which are quite a work out to get back up especially in the heat! The beaches closest to the hotel were always quite busy but compared to the main beach just off of the main strip they are not that bad, the main large beach looked absolutely packed! The beaches would have been a lot more enjoyable if there wasn't such a mass of tourists I think, but this was kind of expected in August. The sea was great with good waves, it wasn't really cold either which a lot of people had told us it would be. There was a nice rocky area which is nice to swim around and see some fish when the tide comes in. We would often put our towels down around there as it was less busy too for some reason, probably because it was a bit further up to walk!

As for the local strip, it is pretty tacky and all pretty much the same. We found quite a lot of cheap places to eat, averagely spent 10 euros for lunch then 20 euros for dinners including drinks so not too bad! There are some nicer places to splash out on, Food & Wine was one which I'd heard great reviews of and we tried to get a table on our last night to treat ourselves but they were full and had a long waiting list for later on so they must be good! There are a couple of supermarkets (Spar) which we got lots of cheap bottles of water and snacks for the week from and a great ice cream shop called Gelataria which did a great cookie ice cream! We took a walk up to the marina one evening (straight down the main strip at the end) which is nice with lots of expensive looking yachts and fish jumping around in the water.

I think one week in the area was enough for us, it was very busy and at that time of the year and this hotel was probably the best value for money that we were willing to spend. In hindsight I would have probably looked to stay somewhere a bit less commercialised and packed, Alvor looked like a nice place which I wish we had maybe checked out first, but it was just for one week to get some sun and we had a great time together.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2HayleyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend in August and booked it as a last minute deal just to enjoy the algarve for a couple of days. Firstly I'll start with the positives:
The hotel is in a lovely location at the end of the strip making it quieter at night. The exit out the back leads onto a lovely little pedestrian area with stairs down to the beach and lots of lovely little restaurants. The beach is also a lot less crowded at this end! The public areas in the hotel are beautiful, modern and clean. The pool is a good size and not too overcrowded as most people go to the beach!
The staff were very helpful and accommodating.
Now the negatives/Ish:
The rooms are outdated and a bit worn. Definitely no more than 2 or 3*. However they are clean and spacious with air conditioning and fridge facilities. We also ran out of hot water as soon as one person had had a shower which isn't ideal. The breakfast had no fruit whatsoever, but there was cereal, bacon, scrambled eggs, breads, jams, cheese and ham. As well as juices, tea and coffee.
The worst thing we saw was as we came back in from the beach which were two rats playing in the pool area under some trees.........
As a budget hotel it's in a good location, and you're not going to be spending much time in your room anyway so don't need to sorry about the outdated decorations. It's clean and comfy and that's what matters.
A few people have mentioned the steps down to the beach, this is true for the whole resort not just this hotel so if you struggle with steps this resort isn't for you. There's about 50 steps wherever you are along the beach to get down.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L87Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Quite a reasonable hotel, very well situated close to a very nice beach. Swimming pool very clean and well maintained. Service friendly but not warm. Rooms are nice, but horrible cleaning. Unfortunately, the roadside balcony view is not the best and the noisy street traffic was disappointing.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Koreaflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was great for us (a couple) looking for a biggish pool, not overlooked. The pool had one of the best ambiences I've seen, with plenty of sun loungers and a grassy area. It was deep (2.4m) at one end with interesting ledges around. We enjoyed privacy as it wasn't overlooked by other hotels/buildings as some where. There were a small number of children and a mini kids pool, so it seemed family friendly.

Breakfast was simple- continental, bacon and eggs, cereal, toast.

Our room was on the front of the hotel (cheaper) and noise/privacy was not a problem. Lots of people recommend paying more for a seaside view. The room was basic and fairly clean. The air-con system was faulty and dripped, which they did try to solve when we mentioned it. A blown light-buld was changed within hours too. Staff were helpful in this way.

The hotel is located close to a quieter stretch of beach, with finer sand than I had expected after reading beach reviews. Both the sea and pool were fairly warm. (mid August)

The hotel was located a 5 minute walk from the bustle of the strip, where most hotels are piled on top of each other. This is a pleasant walk (although we were offered hash often) but it was a bit tacky.

The bars and restaurants along the strip seemed pricey for food that was salty or greasy, so we bought fresh rolls, chicken etc from the supermarkets. This was good value and much tastier. Haagen Daas cafe provided lovely waffles with tea afterwards.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front, overlooking the road. Noise wasn't much of an issue and we often ate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having read previous reviews I wasnt entirely sure what to expect. However I was very pleased with this hotel. Great location for beach and nightlife. Check-in was easy and friendly staff. Free wifi in lobby. Room is out dated but very clean. Mini bar and safety deposit box very good value for money. Breakfast not exciting but has all the basics you need. Always able to get a sunbed next to pool and not too noisy. Would happily recommend to friends and family and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luar

Address: Avenida V3 St Tres Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $47 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Luar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luar Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Luar Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing