We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top short break hotel unbeatable value for money”
Review of Hotel Luar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luar
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
231 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“top short break hotel unbeatable value for money”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visit hotel luar at least once a year for between 3 days to a week at a time . We love it our last visit was end of April . We again had a fab stay. For just 32 euros night for the room breakfast included. The staff are so friendly and efficient especially at reception where nothing I too much trouble. All is so clean and fresh there's a lovely pool and gardens and the situation and views are amazing we live in Spain and it is easy to drive to. The nearby restaurants and bars are great but not too near so there is no no noise from them. In short it's a perfect getaway for us .

Room Tip: Try to get sea views as the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sniknej187437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    147
    87
    18
    6
See reviews for
70
155
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've just spent a long weekend (4 nights) by myself at the Hotel Luar for just over £100 B&B. What did I get for that? Well for a start, I had a 5th floor room with a fantastic view over the superb beach and west towards Vau & Alvor with a fantastic sunset every evening. Add to that, the room was cleaned and the bed was made every day and there was a compact fridge big enough for a couple of bottles of Superbock! Buffet style 'eat as much as you like' breakfast was great - cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, brioche, croissants, rustic breads & rolls, jam, cheese, salami as well as a variety of fruit juices, teas, infusions & coffees. I've read the odd review criticising the breakfast and I just don't get it. If I was being picky, a few yoghurts and a bit of fruit wouldn't go amiss but I was never hungry until lunchtime. All the staff I encountered were polite, helpful and pleasant. All this for £104? Absolute bargain and would have no hesitation whatsoever spending another £104 to stay at the Luar again.

As others have pointed out, the location of the Luar is one of its big pluses. Right outside is a stairway down to the great beach. There are many spectacular beaches along the Algarve coast and this one is no exception. The hotel is also conveniently located at the quiet end of a sea-view strip of dozens of restaurants & cafes with the occasional mini-mart for good measure. Great for an evening stroll.

Didn't have any issues with the bed or the pillows and, frankly, couldn't care less if the style of the table or curtains or carpet was a bit dated.

Thank you, Luar, until next time.

Room Tip: The views from the upper floor are excellent, just make sure you get a room on the right side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed a 5 day break in early October. It was excellent value b&b.the staff are friendly and helpful. It's ideally located at the end of the strip. There is an excellent local restaurant nearby and it's a short taxi ride to the largest shopping centre in the area. We will go back again. I highly recommend the hotel luar

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneCrosshaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned home from a week in this hotel. We had to change rooms due to issues with the air conditioning and we were in a land facing (road facing) room and we up graded to the the sea view which was so much better much quieter. Breakfast was adequate and free wifi is a nice touch in the bar and lobby with sporadic availability around the pool. Room was cleaned every day and as others have commented the rooms are very dated with hard beds and lumpy pillows. Its position is excellent and very close to the resort. We were unlucky with the weather for the week were were there it rained almost every day and we had to go to the pub!!! The hotel is clean and friendly in a good location - not above a 3 star but could be if they upgraded the bedrooms especially with such a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Side sea view - don't have a land view very noisy
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank helpmedressright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just home from holiday where we stayed at the Hotel Luar. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. They went to a lot of trouble to find us a quieter room away from the road although the hotel was clearly busy with lots of visitors for the race at the circuit. They also went to a lot of trouble to find out about transport to the Portimao Circuit for us, giving us bus time tables etc. The breakfast was adequate, the room was large, clean but basic although we found the beds to be a little too hard for our comfort. There was an embarrassing misunderstanding when bar staff thought we had not paid for one drink, my husband never ordered a single drink at any time and paid in full at the time at the bar. To save further embarrassment in front of other visitors, who were clearly amused, my husband paid again, it was only a few euros. This was clearly a mistake on their part but we do not think there was any dishonesty involved. Just make sure you get your receipts when buying drinks! Overall, this is a value for money hotel and well worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Landview rooms are at the front of a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanthompson074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our third visit to Hotel Luar in September time and we still love it! If you're looking for clean, comfortable accommodation then you've got it! This isn't five star luxury, but it's clean and in a brilliant location. A two minute walk and you're into the bustling centre of Praia Da Rocha, come out of the hotel gate, walk down the steps of the cliff and you're on the beach, which expands as far as the eye can see left and right!

The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast is a buffet style, very basic range of food but it works! Although this year the jams had been replaced with a nasty synthetic jam do we bought our own in the local supermarket, as did a few others I saw!!!!

There is a small fridge in the room, but no kettle so I would advise taking a travel kettle and some mugs if you like tea in your room!

For basic accommodation in a superb, quiet location, I could reccomend nothing better!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karend1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hotel Luar looks like a 4 star hotel from the exterior and much of the interior (particularly the reception area) compliments that view. The pool area is lovely, yes the bar is expensive but with the beach on your doorstep and with an abundance of bars to cater for most tastes, it is an option as opposed to a necessity to use it. The rooms are large with TV, free air-con, fridge and clean comfortable beds.The furniture is dated but we didn't spend too much time looking at it tbh as we were out enjoying the amazing weather and fantastic resort
The beach can be reached via a steep decline of steps and although the incline maybe challenging for some, it is well worth the effort as the beautiful golden sandy beach with clear blue sea conjures a feeling of paradise and enabled us a welcome and complete relaxation. The resort caters for all tastes and the Luar is perfectly located to explore it. The location is 2 minutes from some lovely restaurants and quiet bars, a further 10 minute walk will take you the lively centre of the resort which is frequented by young locals with hard dance music booming loudly into the small hours, and a further 20 minute walk will take you to the Portimao Marina with it's relaxing peaceful charm complimented by a fantastic classy beach bar club which comes to life in the later hours.
This was our first trip to Portugal and we loved it. We will return and would look out for deals to the Luar.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luar

Property: Hotel Luar
Address: Avenida V3 St Tres Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Luar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luar Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Luar Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing