We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Luar
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've just spent a long weekend (4 nights) by myself at the Hotel Luar for just over £100 B&B. What did I get for that? Well for a start, I had a 5th floor room with a fantastic view over the superb beach and west towards Vau & Alvor with a fantastic sunset every evening. Add to that, the room was cleaned and the bed was made every day and there was a compact fridge big enough for a couple of bottles of Superbock! Buffet style 'eat as much as you like' breakfast was great - cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, brioche, croissants, rustic breads & rolls, jam, cheese, salami as well as a variety of fruit juices, teas, infusions & coffees. I've read the odd review criticising the breakfast and I just don't get it. If I was being picky, a few yoghurts and a bit of fruit wouldn't go amiss but I was never hungry until lunchtime. All the staff I encountered were polite, helpful and pleasant. All this for £104? Absolute bargain and would have no hesitation whatsoever spending another £104 to stay at the Luar again.

As others have pointed out, the location of the Luar is one of its big pluses. Right outside is a stairway down to the great beach. There are many spectacular beaches along the Algarve coast and this one is no exception. The hotel is also conveniently located at the quiet end of a sea-view strip of dozens of restaurants & cafes with the occasional mini-mart for good measure. Great for an evening stroll.

Didn't have any issues with the bed or the pillows and, frankly, couldn't care less if the style of the table or curtains or carpet was a bit dated.

Thank you, Luar, until next time.

Room Tip: The views from the upper floor are excellent, just make sure you get a room on the right side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    142
    83
    18
    6
See reviews for
67
145
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed a 5 day break in early October. It was excellent value b&b.the staff are friendly and helpful. It's ideally located at the end of the strip. There is an excellent local restaurant nearby and it's a short taxi ride to the largest shopping centre in the area. We will go back again. I highly recommend the hotel luar

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneCrosshaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned home from a week in this hotel. We had to change rooms due to issues with the air conditioning and we were in a land facing (road facing) room and we up graded to the the sea view which was so much better much quieter. Breakfast was adequate and free wifi is a nice touch in the bar and lobby with sporadic availability around the pool. Room was cleaned every day and as others have commented the rooms are very dated with hard beds and lumpy pillows. Its position is excellent and very close to the resort. We were unlucky with the weather for the week were were there it rained almost every day and we had to go to the pub!!! The hotel is clean and friendly in a good location - not above a 3 star but could be if they upgraded the bedrooms especially with such a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Side sea view - don't have a land view very noisy
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank helpmedressright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just home from holiday where we stayed at the Hotel Luar. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. They went to a lot of trouble to find us a quieter room away from the road although the hotel was clearly busy with lots of visitors for the race at the circuit. They also went to a lot of trouble to find out about transport to the Portimao Circuit for us, giving us bus time tables etc. The breakfast was adequate, the room was large, clean but basic although we found the beds to be a little too hard for our comfort. There was an embarrassing misunderstanding when bar staff thought we had not paid for one drink, my husband never ordered a single drink at any time and paid in full at the time at the bar. To save further embarrassment in front of other visitors, who were clearly amused, my husband paid again, it was only a few euros. This was clearly a mistake on their part but we do not think there was any dishonesty involved. Just make sure you get your receipts when buying drinks! Overall, this is a value for money hotel and well worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Landview rooms are at the front of a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanthompson074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our third visit to Hotel Luar in September time and we still love it! If you're looking for clean, comfortable accommodation then you've got it! This isn't five star luxury, but it's clean and in a brilliant location. A two minute walk and you're into the bustling centre of Praia Da Rocha, come out of the hotel gate, walk down the steps of the cliff and you're on the beach, which expands as far as the eye can see left and right!

The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast is a buffet style, very basic range of food but it works! Although this year the jams had been replaced with a nasty synthetic jam do we bought our own in the local supermarket, as did a few others I saw!!!!

There is a small fridge in the room, but no kettle so I would advise taking a travel kettle and some mugs if you like tea in your room!

For basic accommodation in a superb, quiet location, I could reccomend nothing better!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karend1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hotel Luar looks like a 4 star hotel from the exterior and much of the interior (particularly the reception area) compliments that view. The pool area is lovely, yes the bar is expensive but with the beach on your doorstep and with an abundance of bars to cater for most tastes, it is an option as opposed to a necessity to use it. The rooms are large with TV, free air-con, fridge and clean comfortable beds.The furniture is dated but we didn't spend too much time looking at it tbh as we were out enjoying the amazing weather and fantastic resort
The beach can be reached via a steep decline of steps and although the incline maybe challenging for some, it is well worth the effort as the beautiful golden sandy beach with clear blue sea conjures a feeling of paradise and enabled us a welcome and complete relaxation. The resort caters for all tastes and the Luar is perfectly located to explore it. The location is 2 minutes from some lovely restaurants and quiet bars, a further 10 minute walk will take you the lively centre of the resort which is frequented by young locals with hard dance music booming loudly into the small hours, and a further 20 minute walk will take you to the Portimao Marina with it's relaxing peaceful charm complimented by a fantastic classy beach bar club which comes to life in the later hours.
This was our first trip to Portugal and we loved it. We will return and would look out for deals to the Luar.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Firstly would highly recommend pre booking a side sea view you will not be disappointed the views are amazing. While I can agree slightly with some previous reviews that rooms are not modern they are large, the beds are very comfortable and everything works, including the air con, fridge, shower etc, nice balcony and great views. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The pool and garden area are absolutely lovely, everything clean and of a high standard. 2 small complaints, firstly the breakfast..not great, if they added a bit of fresh fruit or some drinkable fruit juice and either make the scrambled eggs hot or replace with boiled eggs would be a lot better. 2nd not nearly enough sun beds around the pool to go round also should maybe adopt the rule of no putting towels on them at 5 in the morning and only using them for an hour a day. Sort this out and I will return year after year, cannot recommend this hotel in this part of the Algarve enough. Suitable for couples, families and singles alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luar

Property: Hotel Luar
Address: Avenida V3 St Tres Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luar Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Luar Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing