We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chronic lack of sun beds !”
Review of Hotel Luar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luar
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chronic lack of sun beds !”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good points.
Fantastic location in a great resort. Friendly hardworking staff. Lovely pool area and bar.

Bad points.
Only about sixty sunbeds around the pool so loads of people lying on the grass. Hotel was not anywhere near full so must be chaotic when it is. All the sunbeds were 'reserved' by 9 am.
Room ok but the fridge really is noisy. Resorted to turning it off overnight. Decent sized balcony but nothing to hang towels and swim wear on.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    150
    92
    19
    6
See reviews for
72
163
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just back from a long stay at Hotel Luar. I chose to stay at Luar after reading numerous good reviews on trip advisor. I was not disappointed.

We were given a room on the main road side. Our room was large and bright, with a small fridge and wall mounted air con. There was also a small TV, but it was never switched on.. Who goes on holiday to watch TV? Despite comments about road noise, fridge noise etc we had no trouble sleeping from noise whatsoever. This was not a noisy room. Great service from the maids who cleaned the room daily and regularly refreshed bed lined and towels.

The decor was maybe a bit dated, but that really doesn't matter to me a bit. The hotel has a large reception and lobby area that leads to the bar, pool, downstairs games room and the breakfast room. Staff at reception spoke excellent English, were very polite and friendly and very helpful, helping to organise our boat trip to Silves. Great service from the staff.

Breakfast included cereal, bread that you could toast, croissants and brioche with the usual butter and jams etc, and there was bacon and eggs and a selection of ham, cheese and salami. Fruit juice, water, milk, tea and coffee also available. It was the same selection every day, but there is so much to choose from I didn't really get bored of it until the last couple of days. Some of the wonderful local fresh fruit would be a nice addition.

For me the best bit was the pool. We were down before 9am to reserve a lounger and parasol. The atmosphere was fun and relaxed. Overly boisterous behaviour and diving in the pool led to a polite word from the staff to keep things chilled. A lovely change from the busy and noisy beach, which I didn't find particulalry relaxing.

The hotel also has a good location. It is a couple of hundred metres away from the quieter end of the main drag so it is a lot more peaceful than central hotel and within easy walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and bars. There are steps down to the beach just outside the hotel also.

The only downside I could find was that the bed was not the most comfortable, but it didn't stop me getting a good sleep. If I was to go back to Praia da Rocha I'd definitely consider a return to Luar.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the pool side and higher up, you will be rewarded with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john-cash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in August right in the middle of high season. I cannot understand gripes regarding the decor or style of the hotel...you get what you pay for at the end of the day!

The hotel is very clean and the staff are all very helpful with excellent english. Our towels and bed linen were changed regularly and the maid did a great job of cleaning our room. The hotel itself is very clean although I do agree it is a bit dated and perhaps a little basic. The pool is lovely and was again kept very clean and neat.

Our room was basic and the beds were a little hard. Our room was on the roadside but to be honest the road noise did not bother us that much. The air con was not the coldest but it was fine for us and we never found it too hot.

Breakfast was the same every day which did get a little old after a few days. However what was provided was decent (eggs/bacon/cheese/croissants/sweet breads etc). As the hotel was busy it was quite full at times but the kitchen staff did a great job of ensuring that there were quick turnarounds on the tables.

The hotel is located at the top (quiet) end of the strip. Just to the rear of the hotel is the beach which you can get to via some steps. You are only a short walk into town but away from the hustle and bustle.

We really enjoyed our stay and this hotel is an excellent venue for a budget holiday to this part of the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pimmscass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I came here for a few days with my sister. We stayed at this hotel for a short break at the beginning of August. About an hour from the airport, this hotel is well located and quite nice. The hotel reception is large with seating and a water feature and the staff are friendly. The hotel has a reasonable sized pool which has deep and shallow areas and a small children's pool. There are a fair amount of sunbeds, although we were downstairs with our towels at 8am before breakfast. If you miss a sunbed spot there is a large grassy area where you can put your towels and sunbathe instead. The breakfast is adequate: bread rolls, croissants and bread to toast, a coffee machine, some basic cereal, cheese and ham. Enough to start the day, nothing fancy. The rooms themselves are nice enough, cleaned every day and towels changed. The rooms do have a fridge - ours was right next to the bed and was really noisy. I can't sleep with noise, I boot my husband at the slightest hint of a snore, so it kept me awake on the first night, the rest I shoved cotton wool in my ears. We also had a room on the road side of the hotel, which is busy and noisy, and didn't help. I would request a room on the pool side of the hotel - without a fridge! We were only there a few days and didn't feel the need to request a room change. The hotel is well situated - literally at the other side of the pool wall there is a pathway and some steps that lead directly onto the stunning beach. There are sunbeds to hire and a number of beach bar/restaurants. One we went to for lunch sold fresh fish and cooked your selected fish to order. I went to praia da rocha around 8 years ago with my husband (then boyfriend) and went to the same restaurant each day for lunch. The hotel is also close to restaurants and bars, being on the end of the 'strip', but is quiet enough not to be affected by the noise. A restaurant you might like to try is 'Casa da Praia' which is one of the closest restaurants to the hotel. On the cliff top overlooking the beach, the restaurant has lovely little tables, not too close to each other, on the veranda. The food is nice, the staff are friendly, the atmosphere is pleasant, but best of all is the view. Fab just to sit there and have a drink and some pizza at lunchtime, or a nice glass of wine in the evening. When we were there, they had a lunchtime deal on - 3 courses for 7.80 euros. I chose soup to start (which my sister had as her main as she doesn't like to eat much during sunshine sunbathing hours) seabass for main and we shared the chocolate cake for desert. What a bargain, and it was lovely. Served with a basket of bread. All in all we enjoyed this holiday. It wasn't a wild party resort, but nice enough for a chilled sunshine break with some nice food and lots of sun. Big groups of English tourists you will not find here, but if you're after a break from that, then this could be the place :)

Room Tip: Nice for a chilled out break, for a more lively break - go to Albufeira!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBeatle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hotel 2* (old fashioned)
Rooms 2* (small, noisy little fridge, 14" TV)
Breakfast 2* (very poor choice - only ham, cheese, chorizo and jam)
Pool 4* (lovely and very clean, often not enough sun loungers)
Pool bar 2* (staff speaking very little English, prices 50% higher than everywhere else)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maulden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We choose this hotel for its beach front location and were not disappointed. When we arrived the receptionist let us choose our room as we wanted to be high up and with uninterrupted views, we choose room 511 on the west side of hotel and what a great view this had of coast across to Lagos. There is a road in front of hotel which is quite noisy but with doors closed and aircon on was ok. The fridge in room was near bed so at night we turned it down a bit so it made less noise. At the front of each wing there is an enormous communal balcony where families and friends can sit together and enjoy the scenery.
The breakfast was suitable for all and staff worked very hard to ensure quests are happy. Most of the guests when we stayed were Dutch and Portuguese and they all enjoyed the opening ceremony for the Olympics getting together to watch it in the very large Hotel sitting rooms.
The beach is down some steep steps but once there you can find plenty of spaces to set up for the day and admire the scenery. The pool is kept very clean along with the gardens and the bar is open all day for drinks and snacks not to badly priced.
The local restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance and there is loads of choice, we found a lovely place called Restaraunte O'Bareo which was down a side turn near the Irish Croak Park, this served great food at a very reasonable price, there is a Pizza and Fish and Chip place near here as well. There are some restaurants which offer a 3 course meal for 7 to 8 euros but then charge highly for drinks and the food is not that great,they seem to be a chain Concorde, Vinhos and Comidas, they bring a starter to table which is traditional but they do not ask if you want it and will charge for it unless you say No.
The local little buses run all day to Portamao which has loads of shops, and a short walk will take you to the Jumbo Centre with Primark Hmv and more.
We took a bus to Lagos and train back which was cheaper but well worth a visit with some great boat trips available. Alvor is another lovely place, from the hotel you can wander west to Praia da Vau beach and get the little bus from roundabout there to Alvor.
The train is also a good way to visit Albufiera for the day but be warned you will need to get Taxi from station to town cost about 7.50euros or 2 buses 1.75 euros each as one takes you to bus station then another to town.
The Algarve is a beautiful place and hiring a car will get you to some very secluded beaches.The locals are really friendly and most helpful.
We would definitely stay again at Hotel Luar top marks to the maids who cleaned every day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Not been here before but thought this was very good.Travelled with my wife,17 year old daughter and her friend.We weer given 2 adjacent rooms both first floor and directly over the bar which was a worry at first however the noise levels at this hotel are very low.Even the karaoke nights twice a week were of modest volume.Hotel seems to have very thick walls and we heard barely a peep from other guests.
Rooms are ok,not huge but immaculately tended by staff who keep the rather ageing features in tip top condition.The hotel has long,dark corridors and a 70s feel to it but well designed with a friendly reception area.Pool is superb-large,deep at one end probably 8/9 feet,bar area next to it seels drinks and snacks at not too inflated prices.Location is unbeatable-the beach is down a flight of steep steps just a 30 second walkout of the back of the hotel grounds.Its sandy and safe with lots of room to set up-Praia de Roche main beach further along has many watersports activities.
There are lots of good restaurants a short walk away.
One thing-dont expect to find a car to hire in August,book one before you go.We used the bus and train-the small minibus stops near hotel costs 1.75 euros to Portimao which is worth a visit.From there get a bus to Lagos,or bus or train to Albufeira-train is old and clunky but dirt cheap.Taxis are cheap and easy to get most have a minimum 3.25 euro fare which covers a good 10/15 mile radius.
Air conditioning in room is free if a bit weak.Our TV remote didnt work,they replaced with a super flatscreen so we watched some great Olympics with a hilarious German commentator.
Excellent holiday in a very clean,well placed hotel.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by being above bar area-very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luar

Property: Hotel Luar
Address: Avenida V3 St Tres Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luar Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Luar Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing