We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APARTMENT SPACIOUS BUT I FELT THAT MOST OF THE STAFF HAD NO INTEREST IN THEIR GUESTS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“APARTMENT SPACIOUS BUT I FELT THAT MOST OF THE STAFF HAD NO INTEREST IN THEIR GUESTS”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in the Plaza Real for 7 nights returning home on Aug. 22nd. I was impressed by previous reviews and looked forward to staying there. The family group consisted of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The one bedroom apartment was spacious and clean. However the couch bed was not made up and the camp bed was very uncomfortable. The balcony had a table and 3 chairs...no sun loungers, which is a pity as it is huge. We had booked on a bed and breakfast basis but I would not recommend this option. There is only a very basic continental breakfast on offer. An English breakfast would cost €7 extra each....no discount for having paid for breakfast anyway. The lady in charge of breakfast was very rude and unhelpful. She gave us dirty cutlery one morning and didn't even apologise when we asked to get them replaced. She did not smile once while we were there and is one reason why I will not re-visit or recommend this hotel again. There is a shop across the street which is fine if you want the basics and the staff are nice there, The beach and Praia De Rocha are 15 mins away walking and since the weather was 35 degrees while we were there, we had to take a taxi . Therefore, if I was going again to the Algarve, I would definitely pick an apartment nearer to the centre of things. The nicest restaurants are in Alvor and there is a lovely atmosphere there also. The beach in Praia de Rocha is beautiful and we all enjoyed our time there. There was one really nice receptionist with blonde hair but I found most of the staff dismissive. The pool has only 4 umbrellas and if you don't claim them early in the morning you are really in bother in the intense heat. The main pool is quite deep so beware if you are not a strong swimmer. Towels are not changed every day and the balcony was never cleaned while we stayed there. We had two great days in Slide and Splash and Zoomarine. The latter is well worth a visit and good value for money...The Dolphin Show is brilliant. I will be going back again but not to this aparthotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have large balconies and easy access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maryGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    174
    51
    21
    20
See reviews for
165
188
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week self-catering family holiday two days ago and I have to say it was a very enjoyable break, Having intially read several reviews about the accommodation regarding the spaciousness and cleanliness of the rooms, I wasn't entirely convinced until we actually reached the apartment itself and saw it for ourselves. We were pleasantly surprised as to how large the rooms were, including the kitchen & bathroom. We had booked a one bedroom apartment which was ample for 2 adults and 2 teenage children. The accommodation was very clean, light, airy and quiet and our room had the pool view. It was more like a little house or a flat (not open-plan) which was ideal for us. The main windows to the rooms had shutters on them which appeared strong, secure & robust. thus providing us with a peace of mind despite reading the previous negative reviews about safe break-in. When we first arrived, I recall not being overly impressed with the outside of this aparthotel as it seemed deceptively small, housing 2 small pools (we were used to staying in larger hotels although in hindsight their rooms were much smaller in comparison to Plaza Real's). However, the well-maintained exterior of this aparthotel and spaciousness as well as the nice decor of the rooms more than compensated for that, and in the few days of our holiday we knew we had made the right choice staying here.
The hotel staff were helpful & friendly and prompt with any of our requests. The air conditioning in the room was truly a Godsend as it was very hot day & night. However, we had still got bitten by mosquitoes... I had been bitten at least 15 times during our stay...thus it is highly recommended you take along an insect repellant with you!!
We had no real issues regarding sunbeds which was probably due to the hotel's strictness about reserving sunbeds...even so, we still found a few people reserving sunbeds. Due to the intense heat, many guests required pool-side parasols but this was often a let down as there were very few which were often already taken by the time we reached the pool.
We ate out at various cafes/restaurants in the evenings at 'the strip' which is a good 15 mins walk (the short-cut way through what is known as the 'dirt' track' which was a short path leading to the main strip where all the pubs, bars & restaurants are located). There was lots of choice of eating & drinking places. The larger food superstores (if you want to buy your own food/drink and get more choice) are about a-20 mins walk away but you would most likely need your own transport or taxi to bring back any heavy shopping with you.
Overall, it was a pleasant holiday experience and I would recommend this hotel if anyone is thinking of visiting there. We would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sharan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home today from plaza real and haven't a bad word to say. Myself my wife and two daughters stayed in one of two bedroom appts , spread over 2 floors it was clean and very spacious . Despite other reports we had no trouble getting sunbeds at anytime off the day. We knew about the robbery before we left home and even know the people involved, the way they were treated is shocking and should never of happened. I found the staff helpfull ordering taxis etc. but then again we didn't have to deal with being robbed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norniron8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed from 28 June till 10th July in a room with a pool view (couple with a 5 year old child). Surprisingly the rooms and the hotel appear to be much better then even on the pictures. Apartments are really spacious with good equipped kitchen. Staff is friendly and helpful. The only disadvantage is that the hotel located 700 m from the beach, however, we had a car therefore it did not bored us. By the way WIFI is for additional payment and is eeeeeewtreely slow)))) We stayed on a self catering basis. However, there is a cheap restaurant right in the hotel (lunch and dinner was about 6.5Euro) The hotel is definitely recommended for stay but you will need a car for full comfort!!!

P.S. I was surprised to see reviews about robberies and throwing out of people from the hotel. Frankly do not believe this is true. One day we left a 2Euro tips on the bed and it was our mistake. That day the lady did not clean the room and left an official paper saying that it is not allowed for hotel staff to clean the room if it requires movement of valuable belongings. At that during our stay the laptops, phones were always in the room no one took them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kseniya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The apartments were spacious and clean. Went with husband sister and brother In law. We had a great time and weather if anything was too hot but cannot complain about that. Although good aparthotel there was no entertainment at all so you had to go to the strip if you wanted to go out in the evening just a 10 minute walk if you went down the dirt track but dodgy walking back so get a cab as it is just under 5 euros. Bit out of the way for that side of things and supermarkets same thing walk there and cab back. Other thing was the kettle had to boil on he hob and was very rattly you actually had to watch it or it would have jumped out the window I think so need a bit of updating there. Beach just down by the strip was lovely. Alvor was a lovely place to visit with lots of lovely restaurants. Lagos if you want to see the caves but if there are 4 of you or more probably cheaper to get Cab there and do it yourself as the tours work out expensive. If you just want a quiet relaxing holiday then this is ideal pool area was also nice for kids as was not a big area so you could keep your eye on them.

Room Tip: The rooms with front room looking on to pool are much better as our front room looked on to nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 317laura18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I went on holiday with my girlfriend her sister and parents to this resort. Firstly when we arrived late at night around 11ish we were waiting for nearly half an hour at reception to check in, we got the first 2 days over us finding our bearings and starting to enjoy our holiday until the third day of our holiday we arrived back from an outing around 11.30am to find that our safe had been broken into with a tool of some sort actually ripped from the wall and forced open with all our money, passports, travel documents etc stolen when we reported this to staff police and csi were called, they found that there was no forced entry and one policeman said "maybe even a key was used to get in" this then made us very suspicious. After that the staff wasn't helpful at all not even an "are yous ok?" or "how are yous doing today" the manger also lied to us and said she informed her staff but that night when asking the women at reception to be moved rooms she didn't have a clue about our robbery and even asked to see our room, we asked if they had or could check CCTV cameras but refused this request, then we were told by several different staff at a local bar about an official complaint book to fill that in and that has to be sent away to be reviewed. When we did ask the manager to fill this complaint book in she then become very defensive and angry at us which then led to her calling the police again and her throwing us out on the street with no were to stay, we finally got somewhere else sorted with no help at all from this hotel or staff. I personally highly do not recommend staying in this hotel resort as the staff and managers were useless and treated us like dirt once this happened to us. The reason for kicking us out of the hotel was because we warned a few people to make sure doors and windows were locked properly because of our robbery the hotel manager did not like this but surely they should of informed there paying customers' of what had happened and to be on high alert of suspicious behavior of if they seen anything. My family or I will never be at this hotel ever again due to this and the way we were treated!

Room Tip: Find another hotel preferably far away from this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
52 Thank Kyle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

arrived 20/07/13 paid £3500 for entire holiday,2 adults and 3 kids aged 15,16,18 , due to leave 30/07/13, 1st impressions where good as other reviews have said like the apt size,air con and facilities etc.the only main flaw in that dept was cleanliness in rooms and pool area very poor.
but what happened on day 4 and from then on was not only unbelievable but truly shocking and has put so much stress on our whole family , on the morning of day 4, I was on balcony from 7.30 am, enjoying the sunrise and coffee, my partner joined me at 9am and we then left the apt and went for breakfast and lay at the pool, the children came down and spoke to us at 11 am and said they where going to the beach , I went up to the room at approx. 11.40am used my key to unlock the door and went in everything seemed normal until I went up to the main room where the safety deposit box was located , to my shock it had been forced from the wall and smashed open ,1800 euro cash,5 passports,my partners purse with bank and credit cards driving licence etc,and all travel and insurance documents taken. nothing else had been touched kindles,phones,my wallet in my jean pocket on chair still there thank god . at 1st the hotel staff helped ,they phoned the police etc , they arrived 25 mins later and took details , fingerprints etc. A staff member took us to the british consulate to get new passports which are temporary to get u home and cost 580 euro.The next day we went back to consulate as a party of 5 , spent 4 hours to get our new passports , they advised us to make a complaint in the hotel complaint book and ask about their safe insurance etc. So we started to ask these questions to the manager and also about checking cctv , when we started to ask these questions after our shocking and stressfull experience what came next was the biggest shock of all,the manager told us we had caused her 3 days of hell,and cause we told a few guests what happened to us so they could take extra care with security,the manager also told my partner we came here to cause trouble she phoned the police and we where told to get out totally unreal we where all in shock and very emotional.we did get to fill in the complaint book which the manager obviously didn't want us to do and we will be sending this to the relative authorities with a cover letter . we had to pay a further £260 to move accommodation plus a transfer and my partners brother had to send us £1500 to survive the rest of our Holiday from Hell
We also noticed that the upstairs doors in the rooms looked like they where locked but didn't and in fact when we asked to move into another room cause the children felt uncomfortable a maintenance man had to repair one of the same door locks,the rooms where 115,114
A truly shocking time at this hotel !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
52 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Real Atlantichotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Atlantichotels

Property: Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Address: Rotunda do Vau | Sitio dos 3 Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Atlantichotels 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Real is a complex of 63 apartments, self-catering and equipped. The apartments are divided into three types: Studio, T1 and T2 in Duplex, some apartments have a generous balcony. (See the description of the apartments) The Plaza Real has an excellent pool for adults, a pool for children, a playground and a mini tennis court. This accommodation is about 10 minutes walk from the beach. The center of Portimao, Marina de Portimao and Praia da Rocha are 3 minutes. Portimao Railway Station is 3 km from the Plaza Real. This accommodation is recommended by the good price / quality ratio in Portimao. Great place to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Real Atlantichotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Atlantichotels Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing