We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a good value hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

for the money we paid it was perfect. nice pool. big apartments. clean enough. fridge and cooking equipment. about 10 mins walk to beach or 15mins to the busy part of town. lowcostholidays was the cheapest when we were looking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tombocollbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    170
    49
    20
    19
See reviews for
161
184
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have just returned from 7 nights stay at the Plaza Real Appartments ( June 12-19). Due to the French Air Traffic strike our flight was delayed by 7 hours, we eventually arrived at the appartments at 4:30am to be greeted by a cheerful man on reception who swiftly checked us in & directed us to our 1 bedroom appartment on the first floor. Our appartment was fabolous, more like 4 star than 3 star, spotlessly clean & extremely well furnished with high quality fixtures & fittings. The kitchen was spacious & very well equipped with oven, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, 5 or 6 pots & saucepans, frying pans, chopping board, cutlery etc it had everything we needed. The sitting room was again very large & spacious, with a fold out sofa bed, TV, storage units/drawers under the TV, large comfy kitchen table & chairs & a lovely comfy armchair. There were 2 balcony patio doors - one from the sitting room, and one from the bedroom which i thought was lovely all opening onto 1 large balcony overlooking the pool. The bedroom was large with lovely furnishings & plenty of storage in the wardrobe & bedside lockers. I've stayed in alot of hotels before & I have to say this was one of the best, simply because of the lovely layout/design & the high quality of everything inside the appartment.
As far as I could make out there are 3 blocks of 1 bedroom appartments, & 1 block of 2 bedroom appartments which were massive!! they had 2 floors in them with a gigantic upstairs bathroom as big as a bedroom. The ground floor 1 bed appartments looked really nice as they had their own kind of large private sun terrace looking out onto the pool with 2 sun loungers in each one. Another bonus was that the rooms had great air conditioning, with 2 air conditioning units one in the bedroom & one in the sitting room both working perfectly- unlike other hotels i have stayed in.

The one small negative point of this place is that every single morning other guests had placed their towels on every single one of the sun loungers at the pool, there weren't enough sun loungers in my opinion for the size of the complex ( I counted 27), there were 2 signs at the pool telling guests they could not reserve sun loungers with their towels but seeing as the staff did not reinforce this rule nobody took any notice. I saw alot of guests having to sit on the tiled floor area around pool whilst there were several loungers beside them with no one on them but a towel. I dont mind if the guests were actually going to sit on the lounger and use it but most of the time these people came down for an hour or so & left again for a couple of hours then came back for an hour then left again for lunch for couple hours. I cant imagine what it would be like trying to get a sun lounger in peak season, must be impossible. Its only a small grumble otherwise everything else was perfect. The pool itself was extremly clean & well kept.

Supermarkets- There is a Lidl & a massive Continente supermarket 10 mins walk if you go up to roundabout & turn right. There is also a very good Spar Supermarket on the main beach promenade about 10 mins walk.

Beach- the beach is 10 mins walk, go left outside appartment gates follow the dirt track down the hill back on to the road, at the roundabout go straight ahead & up the hill. Lovely large beach with lots of snack bars & water sports hire etc.

If you like pizzas we found a great 'all u can eat pizza buffet' called 'la Dolce Vita buffet' its located just past the hotel algarve casino on the opposite side of the road , buffet costs €9 per adult & €5.50 per child. The food is delicious, unlimited salads, rice, pastas, chips, potatoes, breads well worth the money. The bar in the appartments offers a snack menu consisting of chips, burgers, sandwiches, salads & hot dogs.

The hotel staff were all very pleasant & helpful and were able to answer any questions we had.
The maids came to the appartment & cleaned it 3 times, with clean towels/ emptying bin etc. each time. I would definately return to these appartments again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try to get a 1 bedroom appartment of the ground floor so you get your own private sun terrace ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank receptionist2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The apartment's were excellent , couldn't have asked for more, they were a little far out from the resort itself , accessed by a rough track 10 to 15 min walk so if you want the beach close by don't choose these apartments, the only real down side is the shortage of sun beds for the amount of people using the lovely apartments, the management need to get there act together & buy more

Vanda

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice clean apartments slightly dated but good value. Had a great holiday in praia da rocha with our two year old. Friendly people no hassle hol.

Only gripe is in hotel i had to repeatedly ask for correct change over bar and if i hadn't been switched on would have been quite a bit down over the hol. Oh and nowhere near enough sunbeds around the pool. All in all a great bargain base camp for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent facilities , large apartment, well equipped. Friendly staff. Good, quiet location, 10 minutes from the beach. Returning later in the season! Breakfast waiter was very friendly and gave information about the area. Arrived at 12.30 am, we were expected and dealt with professionally. Green Bus transfer service was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 312 is excellent, good view from the balcony. Higher floors are quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, Devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived at 1.30am and the receptionist was awake and directed us to our fab apartment. As everyone always says, the apartments are very large and very clean and well equipped. The pool was very freshly filled with cold water (no chlorine) and freezing for the end of May. It was a lovely quiet time with a maximum of 11 of us sat around pool. Drinks were expensive at the bar on site (E3 for pint San Miguel) we didn't stop there again, as when you walked the 10 minutes to the main strip of tourist bars (via the dirt track) the day price was from E1 to top eve price E2.50. Plenty of lovely bars and restaurants to choose from with good daily special 3 course meals for E9. We liked Claires, Casa de la mer and Outro bar overlooking sea and very sheltered. Red wine very cheap in supermarkets from E1.50. Beautiful sand but sunbeds and parasols E12, best to take a towel and pitch on sand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovelycouple11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spotlessly clean, friendly staff, and huge self catering apartments. Everything one would need for a great holiday. Very relaxed and casual atmosphere. Would reccommend. One caveat, a car might be an advantage as it is 3 kms from the centre. Hire is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have great balconies with sun loungers and tables. Perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaronIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Real Atlantichotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Atlantichotels

Property: Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Address: Rotunda do Vau | Sitio dos 3 Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Atlantichotels 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Real is a complex of 63 apartments, self-catering and equipped. The apartments are divided into three types: Studio, T1 and T2 in Duplex, some apartments have a generous balcony. (See the description of the apartments) The Plaza Real has an excellent pool for adults, a pool for children, a playground and a mini tennis court. This accommodation is about 10 minutes walk from the beach. The center of Portimao, Marina de Portimao and Praia da Rocha are 3 minutes. Portimao Railway Station is 3 km from the Plaza Real. This accommodation is recommended by the good price / quality ratio in Portimao. Great place to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Plaza Real Atlantichotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Atlantichotels Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing