We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in best possible location”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I loved the cordiality of the staff especially the young man at reception who accommodated our needs professionally and friendly. At check in we were told that unfortunately our family room for 4 persons was not available but he very quickly accommodated us in two rooms next to each other which was great considering we had our young daughters with us. The receptionist was extremely apologetic and very accomodating. excellent work! It was my partner's birthday on one of the days and we were pleasantly surprised on our return to our room with a bottle of sparkling wine. This was a lovely and thoughtful gesture which adds to the whole lovely experience. cannot fault the hotel because its location is excellent right in the middle of the nightlife and restaurants and right next to the beautiful Rocha beach. The staff were lovely and friendly and always willing to help (typical Portuguese friendliness I love) The rooms were spacious and very modern and well looked after with a lovely kitchenette. Breakfast had an adequate array of food including English breakfast and continental. The only downside of this hotel that I can think of is that the hotel pool is small and mostly in the shade all day which does not seem very inviting but it was adequate enough for a dip. Having said this, the pool was not an important aspect for us as with the beautiful praia da rocha right on the hotel front, this is not a priority. we will definitely be back here again on our next visit! keep up the hard work guys! :)

Room Tip: Perhaps asking for a beach front view and on floors 4 and upwards to limit noise from outside would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

Apart from the pool area which is too small getting that out of the way the rest of the hotel is pretty well excellent. It is also the case that it can be somewhat pricey but if you shop around there are smaller prices to be found. One should also be weary of booking the hotel on it's own site as it is both confusing and expensive.

But that said it is a really nice hotel and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are well appointed with two LCD tvs that have usb connections for various multimedia options. This should be available in most hotels in my book. There is WiFi in the lobby. As for breakfast to be fair we had little to complain about. We didn't go half board and wouldn't to be honest as their are too many good restaurants to be eating in the same place every night.

So to conclude the Hotel da Rocha is a very good choice for your stay in Da Rocha. We have stayed there twice and have been well satisfied with the experiance.

Room Tip: Sea view but you will pay a lot more for it remember.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jockmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the first time as my other option from previous years was sold out this year and i was satisfied with all levels of service. breakfast was also included in my rate so was ok, hope we can return next summer if the price is also like this year

Room Tip: right by the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank caliperdigao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I cannot praise Hotel Da Rocha enough. I just returned from a week there and would highly recommend this hotel. Its location is excellent, just cross the road and right in front of you down a series of steps is the beach. Reception is modern, bright and the staff are fantastic and extremely helpful. we stayed in a the deluxe kitchenette. 2 large single beds, and a pull out bed that comfortably slept an adult. Lovely bathroom. Plenty of space. the Kitchen was a fridge and a small hob and a coffee machine. the mini bar very reasonably priced. There was a pot for you to make tea and a sharp knife supplied as well as a little cutlery. beautiful views. lovely and quiet. We went to visit a friend who works there. It was a wonderful reunion. the breakfast was highly recommended plenty of variety and small changes each day to keep it interesting. thank you Roger for looking after us. There is a pool but with the sea beaconing we didn't use it. There is no entertainment in the hotel, but we found this a good thing so we went out to explore. We were 3 women on our own and felt very safe at all times. the beach just opposite we hired 2 umberellas and 3 loungers at 15 euros a day. The team looking after them made us very welcome and kept the same 3 for us for the entire week. The gentlemen doing massages is heavenly and I would recommend taking time from sunbathing to be pampered. The beach looks busy but there is plenty of space for everyone without being on top of each others. The beach bars are excellent day and night (though quite quiet in the evenings) everything from 3 course meals to baguettes - and again very welcoming. We went to the sister hotel Jupiter for drinks of an evening, older guests, with quite traditional music, which is lovely to watch the old couples dancing (even if one of them tried to show me) Its not somewhere, where the drink flows quickly - i.e we struggled to get a second drink, but its lovely to pop into for a nightcap before bed. Don't be put off by the busy strip of restaurants bars and shops. Its not rowdy, but bustling and very Portuguese (no stag do's) Adris, Fusion, Safari, Food and Wine are restaurants to go do(I'll review separate) - with Adris having the best staff. All served fantastic local wines and nothing was too much trouble. You may sadly end up in an Irish bar - there are a heck of a lot, but these are the most lively places unless you wish to stay up very very late for the other bars/clubs to get busy. Even if they aren't you sceen, they are a giggle at least. But for a summary for the hotel, peaceful and perfect and the words I'd use.

Room Tip: sea view is a must - worth paying for a deluxe room if more than 2 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Redwards81Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Da Rocha in 19th July for 1 week. Hotel was very good, staff very friendly, my only criticism being that the hot breakfast was buffet style and it was luke warm, but the fruit and pastries were good, service brilliant, nothing too much trouble. The pool area is too small for me but beach is a short walk across the main strip. We were woken a few times with other residents making noise. Beware if you book from end July on-wards as the 'party season' starts and it gets very noisy at night through to the morning especially with sea view rooms....Would definitely visit again before end July.

Room Tip: Must get sea view room before end July..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week in room 413 at the back of this brilliant hotel! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From start to finish the staff were always smiling and so helpful, booking our excursions etc! The hotel is across the road from the beach and there are lots of supermarkets very close too! The main restaurants and bars are all within seconds of the hotel. It is also couple with the Jupiter hotel and we used their facilities too - great spa & pool! The rooms are bright and modern and cleaned to a high standard everyday! The views at the back of the hotel are lovely albeit a little noisy in the morning with the sound of scooters and bin lorries but that's not the hotels fault. The breakfast is fantastic! Lovely coffee machines & even prosecco is served daily! The hot food is very good and there is always leftover pastries as we only made it down at the end at 10:30 most mornings! Overall the hotel is great value! The pool gets good sunshine up to about 3pm and the shade after that is very welcome. The Jupiter gets sun all day long though if you want to move! On our departure day the hotel provided towels and shampoo for us to use the pool after checking out as our taxi didn't arrive til 5pm! I'd highly recommend this hotel to couples & families! Lastly, as we left our room we met the cleaners who found an earring from our friends room which demonstrates how honest they are and how safe you feel leaving your things out in the apartment during the day! 5stars!!

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank NhojNilahac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great hotel, location is excellent, all staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was lovely we paid for a sea view room it was lovely to look out at the beach. We had our 5 month old baby with us and all our needs were taken care of. The breakfast was lovely each morning and on our last morning our flight was very early, so a packed breakfast was waiting for us at reception. The beach is at the bottom of hill beside the hotel. shops bars and restaurants are just a few yards away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Praia da Roche.

Room Tip: sea view room is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smalltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#15 of 76 in Portimao
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $44 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing