We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with great service”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Dakar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with great service”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've spend my holidays with family overthere and I just can say that this hotel deserve the best rating in terms of location (seafront), product (great and huge rooms), service and Breakfast. Very good quality for what we've paid and extremely nice and efficient staff. Thumbs up for the whole team especially Rute from the Reservations who has done her best to provide us a memorable stay. We'll definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for Seaview rooms. The view is speachless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding your comments about the team members I will be sure to share them with the entire team, especially Rute and thank them for their continued commitment to providing quality service and ensuring that our guests are well taken care of.
We can´t wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    345
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
254
515
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have just got back from a lovely long weekend in Praia da Rocha with my boyfriend. I saw the hotel on a deal website and got a great price. The balcony overlooked the Jupiter hotel which hosted a number of musical events in the evenings, which we loved to watch from our balcony (I am not sure if this happens every weekend or if it was a special time of year because all of the Portuguese seemed to be on holiday before the kids go back to school). The room was huge, we even had a kitchen and two TVs! Good news for me is that some of the channels played English programmes. I also loved the massive bed and drench shower. Though the breakfast wasn't very warm, there were some lovely pastry and fruit options which I opted for. The hotel was very attractive, especially from the outside at night time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairebabe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review . It is good to know that our service and facilities are appreciated and we hope to maintain and improve for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay at this hotel - sept 2013. This is a lovely modern hotel. Very clean in all areas with modern rooms. It is worth booking a sea view room as the hotel is right opposite the beach - across the main Street. Pay for high floor room for best views. There is a small fridge / mini bar in the room which was stocked - had to pay for the contents which was reasonably priced. Breakfast was great. Great selection & always hot. Tables cleared quickly & no wait. Hotel is in a good location although we preferred to walk to the beach bar Nosolo Agua at the portimao end - left out of hotel around 5-10 min walk. The main Beach is amazing with plenty of beach restaurants & sunbeds / umbrellas. Also the casino is across the street which is worth a visit. We used yellow fish transfers - to & from the airport which were excellent also. Check in is 2pm but the hotel will store baggage prior to this. Check out 12 noon. Free safe & aircon included in the room also. Small toiletries in room - shampoo/shower gel & soap. Hair dryer in bathroom also & plenty of wardrobe space with hangers. We would return to this hotel but be aware the pool area is very small if you like to sunbathe by a large pool. Other than this, an excellent hotel. Also free wifi in the hotel/rooms!

Room Tip: High floor sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your generous review and for choosing RHA. We are glad that we are living up to your expectations and will try to improve on them in the future. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days at the end of July. Room was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony. The pool area is quiet and the breakfast had lots of choices. Beach is literally steps away. There is a small refrigerator and cooktop, although no pots. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are hapy you have enjoyed your stay and will endeavour to maintain and improve our service for the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one week. Hotel was spotless, breakfast was lovely and always plenty of choice. Well worth paying extra for the sea view. The rooms were large and modern. We had a perfect time thank you very much.
Karen 20/08/2013

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kar1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for your kind remarks. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as we try to make everyone feel relaxed so that they return home refreshed from their stay. We hope that we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is fantastic!!!! On arrival there was a bottle of water & bowl of fruit and there's 2 dressing gowns & slippers on the bed. I requested a sea view room & it was so worth it. Beach is literally a few steps from hotel, shops & casino. Rooms are absolutely SPOTLESS as is the bathroom, there's a massive bed, a pull out sofa. Kitchen area has everything you need, even a clearly disgused microwave which we only discovered on our last night!!! Balcony is impressive! Breakfast is included in the price & there is a massive selection for everyone's taste! Cereal, hot food, breads, cheese, ham, turkey, youghurts....was really impressed with selection! If I ever return to Portugal I will definitely stay here, have recommended this hotel to loads of people! If you need a taxi there's a taxi rank right outside the door.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room it's well worth the exta €
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilikehotels16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
UAU! Thank you very much for your magnifique review and for choosing RHA .
We strive to maintain a good service and make our clients feel welcome.
It is good to know that our service is appreciated and we hope to maintain and improve for your next visit.
We will be waiting ansiously for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel surpassed all of my hopes and desires for this holiday. It is perfectly located, only a stones throw away from the beautiful beach and bustling shops and restaurants. The staff went above and beyond to ensure we were well looked after. The rooms were spacious and cleaned well everyday. We had breakfast included with our hotel deal and were delighted with the wide array of choice and variety everyone. Tastes for every cultural pallete were catered for. An amazing modern paradise perfect for families and couples. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would happily return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your comments and for choosing Rocha Hotel Apartment.
It is good to hear you had a wonderful experience with us. Moreover we appreciate hearing that you have enjoyed our staff.
It is always very gratifying for us when we receive feedback from satisfied guests.
We can´t wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in HRA soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing