We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holdiay Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The location is brilliant and the facilities within the hotel are superb....towel rental available for 20euro per person for that you get a fresh towel every day...which is refunded when you return them for good. Breakfast is really nice too fresh rolls, full English, lovely cakes too! A trip to Alvor is lovely food is good there too.
In the past we used many different transfer companies this time we chose to use Yellowfish Transfers, they were fantastic would definitely recommend, so prompt waiting for us in the airport when we arrived and going home it was a very early pick up and he was there bang on time.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 5th floor have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your preference in selecting the Rocha Hotel Apartament for your holiday .We are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. bedrooms are large (king size bed) with a good sized seating area, two TVs and balcony - in my opinion worth going the extra for a sea view if you can. bathroom was up-to-date, kept very clean and linen was changed frequently.
staff were always attentive and helpful.
a couple of minor (?) gripes:
- noisey bin collections on the street outside EVERY night around 3am (OK, I know this isn't the hotel's responsibility, but surely a large 4* establishment would have some influence?)
- breakfast was a bit same-ish and hot food wasn't really warm enough. Coffee wasn't really 4* quality.
Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thamilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip at the Rocha Hotel Apartament. We are sorry to hear about the noise from the street but hope that this matter did not cause much distress to your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of your company soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, massive room with great facilities. Cheaper than a travelodge in the UK but far superior room with balcony sea view and friendly staff. Breakfast a bit of a zoo and bar has zero atmosphere thanks to fluorescent lighting but don't let that put you off as the hotel is so nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKStevieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing Rocha Hotel Apartament for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us.
I am absolutely delighted that you loved your stay. Moreover I appreciate hearing that you have enjoyed our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We are just back from Hotel Rocha and we stayed in room 410 it had a pool view and it was perfect. This is our second trip to hotel rocha and it is like a home from home. Large rooms huge beds, two flat screens in your room with English channels which is great for when your lounging around or getting ready to head out.....I've read on some reviews people complaining about the staff, I literally have no idea what they are talking about. The staff are amazing and cannot do enough for you. The pool isn't great due to design however u can walk to the beach with is about a minute walk across the street. Or if you are heading soon 'no solo aqua' is free in at the moment. It is at the end of the boardwalk which is about a five/ten minute walk. We will return to this hotel whiteout hesitation. There are loads of restaurants all along the strip, the Panda Chinese is good, O Barao is great too really nice home cooked meals, go for the half portion unless you eat a mountain of food, just bear in mind that a half portion is one massive chicken fillet the full portion is two!!! Alvor is a really nice evening trip about 7mins in a taxi costs about 9 euro. Ask to be dropped at the roundabout near the marina. If you like Indian food then go to the Indian Hut its on the hill, fish restaurants are lovely here too. Last but not least, thank you to all at hotel rocha for making our holiday so memorable. We had a ball!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 10 or 11 have pool views rooms ending in 1-5 have a sea view, all other will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We are thrilled to hear you had a superb holiday at the Rocha Hotel Apartment .
We are truly delighted that you felt pampered during your stay with us. It is a pleasure to pass on your comments to the entire team which always works hard to exceed all our guests’ expectations.
Thank you for choosing us and for sharing this wonderfull review regarding your recent stay with us! We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was very impressed with studio apartment..so modern..felt really at home. Had a land view of the marina on 6th floor. Not bad, but might next time upgrade to sea view. Excellent location right on the beach but a bit quiet on the strip at night, for entertainment. Overall brilliant, would definitely recommend. Really wish I was back in the algarve now!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annasharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing this review regarding your stay at the Rocha Hotel Apartment. It is good to hear you had a wonderful experience with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Travelled with Jet 2 Holidays and stayed for 7 nights. Had a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel (712), the room was very comfortable and had lovely views over the river and harbour. The standards throughout the hotel are very high and the location is great. We stayed on a B&B basis, the breakfast was very good, the food was fresh with a good choice of both hot and cold dishes. This was our first visit to Praia da Rocha and really enjoyed it, the beach is beautiful with plenty of bars and restaurants. There is a good choice of restaurants in the resort, we preferred the area around the harbour which was quieter and perhaps a little more up market than the “strip” and a visit to Portimao is definitely recommended.
Would definitely stay at this hotel if we return to Praia da Rocha

Room Tip: If you enjoy a sea view then pay the extra for the rooms at the front but our room at the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing this feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are absolutely delighted to know you had a wonderful experience staying at the Rocha Hotel Apartament. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just arrived back from this lovely hotel everything about this hotel is first class I could not fault it at all it is excellent.Great location first class staff food very good rooms are really big all in all give it a try you will not be dissatisfied .

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mikechesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your preference in selecting the Rocha Hotel Apartment for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us.
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 75 in Portimao
2,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $66 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing