We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding studio apartment”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding studio apartment”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was very impressed with studio apartment..so modern..felt really at home. Had a land view of the marina on 6th floor. Not bad, but might next time upgrade to sea view. Excellent location right on the beach but a bit quiet on the strip at night, for entertainment. Overall brilliant, would definitely recommend. Really wish I was back in the algarve now!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annasharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this review regarding your stay at the Rocha Hotel Apartment. It is good to hear you had a wonderful experience with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    345
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
254
515
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Travelled with Jet 2 Holidays and stayed for 7 nights. Had a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel (712), the room was very comfortable and had lovely views over the river and harbour. The standards throughout the hotel are very high and the location is great. We stayed on a B&B basis, the breakfast was very good, the food was fresh with a good choice of both hot and cold dishes. This was our first visit to Praia da Rocha and really enjoyed it, the beach is beautiful with plenty of bars and restaurants. There is a good choice of restaurants in the resort, we preferred the area around the harbour which was quieter and perhaps a little more up market than the “strip” and a visit to Portimao is definitely recommended.
Would definitely stay at this hotel if we return to Praia da Rocha

Room Tip: If you enjoy a sea view then pay the extra for the rooms at the front but our room at the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are absolutely delighted to know you had a wonderful experience staying at the Rocha Hotel Apartament. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from this lovely hotel everything about this hotel is first class I could not fault it at all it is excellent.Great location first class staff food very good rooms are really big all in all give it a try you will not be dissatisfied .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikechesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your preference in selecting the Rocha Hotel Apartment for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us.
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel da rocha for a stay last week. This is our fifth trip to Praia da Rocha and it was the best hotel we have stayed in so far. It is very close to the beach ( less than 2 mins and your on the beach) and is right on the main strip. The hotel is modern with beautiful views out across the Atlantic. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean we had a front view junior suite and it was definitely worth the extra cost it had cooking and coffee making facilities a gigantic king size bed. The breakfast is lovely with a great selection of cold and hot food and the residents bar is very comfy with a wide variety of cocktails on offer reasonably priced. If I was to fault the hotel the only thing I could say is that the pool is a little shaded in the evening only. I have already booked this hotel again for our trip to praia da rocha in August.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freemountjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted you were impressed by the hotel and it is great to hear that you will return.
It is always very gratifying for us when we receive feedback from satisfied guests.
The entire team looks forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as a last minute thing and turned out to be a really good choice !! We have been to Portugal a few times but never been to Praia da rocha but glad we did !!!

Firstly the hotel was in the perfect location , some 10 yards from beach and right on the edge of the strip , which is good as u don't have to walk far but it's very quite as its far enough away from the noise !!!!

The rooms are one of the biggest and cleanest we have been in and well fitted out too .

The staff where great in the breakfast room, the cleaning staff were really nice and a special mention must go to the front desk staff as they were so helpful and spoke great English!!

As we were full board the meals were at the sister hotel over a small road and again the staff were great !!

Now for some even more good news, the prices in the resort were the cheapest we have ever seen !!!! Glass of wine , 250ml 2.30 euros !!!! And that's in the hotel !!!!! In the bars it's only 1.6 euros !!!

All in all we had great time and would 100% recommend this hotel and resort !!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank phil1740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are absolutely delighted to know you had a wonderful experience staying at the Rocha Hotel Apartment.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here in the last week of august with my boyfriend and could not fault this hotel much. Rooms were very spacious which were cleaned on a daily basis. Breakfast was lovely, I didn't try the rest of the food however as there are plenty of restaurants around. For a hotel on the beginning of a strip I was surprised to find it pleasantly quiet for a good nights sleep. The only downside was the pool. For most of the day it is covered in shade which is a poor architectual fault but with the beach right across the road this didn't bother us. Staff were wonderful but felt a little uncomfortable at breakfast from the other guests which were mainly portugeuse. We felt as if we were being stared at! We are an Irish couple and the hotel at the time consisted of mainly portugeuse so they may thought from the reputation that is given from young irish that we would be rowdy. Not sure but apart from that fact the staff couldn't be more friendly. Would definately return again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a sea view. Some rooms look out onto the road side facing ajacent appartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steph k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullow, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location is perfect , few steps to the beach , shops and many restaurants , hotel really modern , very clean , staff really nice and helpful, definitely gonna go back. breakfast was nice many choices , showers are absolutely lovely!:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monika_s14a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing