We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel and a nice location”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good hotel and a nice location”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were booked with Hotel Jupiter but we wanted a superior room so we were upgraded to Hotel da Rocha which was amazing. The staff was young, friendly and willing to help get you the best they have to offer. They have Large modern rooms in a perfect location with the gorgeous beach just opposite. We had a lovely, spacious balcony, safe, a living room area, a huge double bed The room was lovely and spacious.They served really good breakfast with a variet of breads, rolls, cheese, eggs etc. The hotel has alot around it - the beach, pubs, eating joint, taxi stand,casino etc etc

We couldn't have asked for a better stay cause this was it. I would happily recommend the hotel. Thank you for the good times Rocha!

Room Tip: rooms not facing the beach are quieter since the streets are busy till wee hours in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NSeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    351
    61
    13
    8
See reviews for
261
527
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hotel Rocha, is an excellent hotel, from start to finish our experience in this hotel was fantastic, It's very modern, it has a small kitchenette, and two large TVs, Beautiful bath. They serve a great buffet breakfast the ocean view is stunning, excellent location with numerous resturants and shopping all around. Superb Reception Staff. We highly recomend this hotel, and will return here again in the near future.

Room Tip: we had a room on the fourth floor facing the ocean, and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasco and suzan... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were originally booked into the Hotel Jupiter with a standard twin, but were upgraded for no reason which was absolutely lovely! We stayed in appartment 416 which was at the back of the hotel so not facing the sea but we still had a lovely view of the marina. We had a lovely, spacious balcony, two tvs, a living room area, a huge double bed (two big singles together), mini fridge, a hob and a safe.

The room was lovely and spacious. It was cleaned everyday and towels were cleaned when put in the bath. The safe was very easy to use. The room is very modern and immaculately clean. The kitchen area is not really big enough to do any real cooking (two hobs, a microwave, one saucepan) but is absolutely fine. The tvs have a variety of channels and probably about 5 English speaking channels. There was about 10 hangers in the wardrobe and quite a bit of drawer space, enough to unpack mine and my boyfriends entire suitcases (along with the living room drawers).

The breakfast was lovely. The scrambled eggs may be from a packet mixture but there is so much choice and variety (selection of breads, rolls, cereals, pastries, fruit, cold meat, cheese, bacon, beans, fried eggs, hot drinks, juices etc) that this is no problem at all! The breakfast staff were absolutely lovely, as were all the staff.

The pool was lovely and there was almost always sun loungers free. The only thing about the pool is that there is a partition between the pool and the bar area so it feels a bit enclosed and there is not any sun light past about 4pm by the pool. But, this is no problem at all because the beautiful beach was just across the road.

The hotel is in a prime location right on the strip. It is right opposite the ocean and there are lots of restaurants, bars, etc right near.

There was not much evening entertainment at the hotel and I don't think that many people eat at the hotel in the evening, but there is so much right on your doorstep that this is no problem.

We had an absolutely perfect stay at the hotel and Praia da rocha is lovely, would definitely return. The area was perfectly entertaining for me and my boyfriend (18 and 25 years old) and the staff were lovely! Thank you rocha!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ocave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Right opposite a stunning beach and close to all the bars and resturants this hotel is great. The rooms are large and modern lots have sea views from the balconies. The staff and friendly and helpful and the breakfast caters for all tastes. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel da Rocha is a vey modern minimalist hotel with a small kitchenette for some light cooking. Its location is perfect, right across the street are the steps down to the beautiful beach.There are some small shops around the hotel itself for buying drinks, papers etc and small groceries. The studio apartment itself with side sea view is a very good size and a lovely view of the beach. The apartment i had only had the 1 flat screen tv in the living room area despite othe.r travellers photos showing 2 tv's. A little annoying in that you could not then view the tv from the bedroom area. The supposed fridge is a little on the ridiculous side in that its stocked full of mini bar for purchase products.One other thing that people could find annoyig is the nightly band set up in the neighbouring Jupiter hotel. They play exactly the same music every night from 9pm to 12am and its extremely loud.
these would have been the negatives i found with this hotel, overall the apartment was lovely, cleaned every day and its location cannot be beaten.

Room Tip: choose a room on the opposite side to the Hotel Jupiter if you are looking for peace and quiet at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oconnorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

From start to finish our experience of this hotel was excellent. Superb reception staff, location, large, clean rooms (with 2 large TVs and a wonderful bath and shower). Superb location opposite the ramp to the beach. Close to everything. We needed to charge phones - they didn't have one so went out and bought one for our use.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in pdr being a short walk from the beach and not too far (but far enough) from the bars and restaurants. The hotel is modern, very clean and the staff are superb. Really can't say enough about the staff, always happy and eager to help.

We got room with front sea view and we were glad we did. Whilst im sure the other rooms are fine we thought it well worth paying a bit more.

Downside is the pool. Whilst the small pool area is well kept and clean, it is located at the back of the hotel so doesn't get the sun for the whole day. That said, pdr beach is pretty amazing so why would you want to stay by the pool anyway?

The hotel restaurant serves tapas but was empty in the evenings so we did not try it. The breakfast is adequate if nothing else.

Don't forget to leave your beach towels at home if staying here as a €40 deposit gets you two towels for the week which can be changed every day for fresh ones. This definately saves the baggage allowance!

Overall would definately recommend this hotel if staying in pdr.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisshep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Rocha 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing