We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING !!! A little piece of Paradise”
Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING !!! A little piece of Paradise”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Myself , husband and 10yr old son stayed here as a last minute get away for 5 nights . We had never been to Portugal before and were apprehensive as to what to expect ... The hotel Oriental did not dissapoint !!!! Staff were fantastic , room was spacious , general facilities were excellent and after following the advice of a previous review we requested an ocean front sea view room - WOW !!! The view really was to die for , in fact I spent more time on the balcony than anywhere else !!!! I love this hotel/beach resort so much we are planning to go back April/May this year to explore some more

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    196
    72
    13
    17
See reviews for
72
330
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

After visiting Praia da Rocha for many years, we finally stayed at the Oriental and
we were not disappointed. The rooms are large with a kitchenette, which is very
useful, and we had a large balcolney looking west with a beautiful view towards Alvor. The hotel has just had a facelift and everywhere is clean and tidy.
We had bed and breakfast and were very surprised with the quality and quantity of the
food. They have a new chef for the evening meals but we did not use the restaurant as
there are many very good places to eat in Praia da Rocha. It may be noisy on the East side in the summertime though as there is a bar next door which closes at 9:30 pm in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Hope to have you back at Hotel Oriental soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calverton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

On arrival at the hotel the very nice man at reception gave us all a upgrade to the rooms right at the front overlooking the beach.
We only paid about £50 a night for the large rooms and we had the double balcony - great!
You don't get any decent tv stations and breakfast is a bit sparse only thier bacon one day and tiny hotdog sausage the next.
The staff were all pleasant - if you just know the basic "bon dia" etc it helps.
Bar prices are not too bad 3 euro a large beer served by a lovely old guy with many stories.
We tried the evening meal one night 18 euro 3 courses but not impressed school diners come to mind.
So all in all a good base to stay in a great location.

However the resort of Praia da Rocha has gone down hill since all the new pavements etc.
You feel a bit like a piece of meat walking amongst wild animals when you go into the resort.
Im a big man and was still a bit nervous of my wifes bag going etc, watch the men on push bikes swooping toward you.
Lots of police presence to control it but you don't feel comfortable like in Carvoeiro.
Best place to eat is on the back streets near the chip shop.
Try it but don't spend a fortune booking it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeCalverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

On arrival I was upgraded to room 208, staff were very polite and helpful. Room was very clean and had all of those little extra's and an excellent view. It was quiet and peaceful, I had a good three day bed and continental breakfast stay. Yes, there are some minor hairline cracks here and there, but the place is on a cliff with the sea and all the usual salt problems, all of my bathroom fittings were new.

We made the mistake of having the evening meal, the menu said al a carte. It included a set meal which four of us had. The starter was a salad? banana and apple slices, strips of pepper and gerkin with a blob of salad cream on a lettuce leaf. A tasteless grey soup followed. Then a choice of an uneatable Veal stake or breadcrummed Halibot (similar to birds eye goujons). We then a choice of below average desserts with squirty cream from a pressurised can.

One friend opted for the seafood salad also al a carte, this included, crabsticks!!!! shelled mussels with beards still on, clams (several of which were closed) and a strange tasting prawn.
I mentioned our disappointment to the waiter as we received the 100 euro bill (including small sangria, wine and a beer). He listened politely and took our money and fled.
From then on we ate out...
The Oriental is like a ten year old Jaguar with 150k mile on the clock. It runs well and there are some scratches and scrapes, but its still a nice comfortable ride and looks the part.

But al a carte it ain't.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimps_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I stayed at this Hotel with my mum in September 2010. It is never a four star, I have stayed in much better three star hotels. The only positive is the location, on the beachfront with private access. That aside, I cannot think of anything good to say. The staff are abrupt and miserable (all except a couple of them). The food is very poor with limited variety and my evening meal was served just about luke warm, and I only received piping hot food after complaining strongly and on more than one occassion. There are very few sunbeds around the pool, and despite several notices stating that any towels placed on beds to reserve them will be removed, this is not followed up or implemented, therefore they are all taken by 6am. I also complained about that but nothing was done. The rooms are tired and shabby with cracked tiles, in desperate need of an overhaul, and the air conditioning units are really noisy. They state that all their rooms are sea views but that is only if you have a neck like an Emu and can bend it round corners! The only evening entertainment provided is a few local dancers clapping their hands for twenty minutes, although shops, bars and a casino are within 5 minutes walk away. The resort of Praia da Rocha is lovely, but give this hotel a wide berth. Not worth the money and a low to middling three star ratiing would be over generous.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This hotel is in a great location and the receptionist was not exaggerating when he said we had the best room in the place. It had a sea view and a large, shady balcony. The hotel also has its own big garden – very pleasant and cool with a swimming pool and private entrance to the beach.

That´s the good part. The bad parts were: (i) it only had three parking places despite being a four-star hotel with around 60 rooms, and we had to drive around to find a place every time we came back from a drive; (ii)during the four days we were there, the only lift was out of order most of the time, this in a hotel with five floors; (iii) the breakfast service was spoiled by the fact that the coffee was dispensed from a machine and was not fresh; and (iv) I was irritated at having to pay a deposit of 26 Euros in cash for a safe key even though the hotel had all the details of my credit card when I booked several months previously.

The Oriental is situated in the midst of the industrialized tourist development of the Praia da Rocha area which is virtually a separate part of Portimão. This means that quite a lot of the visitors are on package holidays, confirmed by the HP sauce and baked beans available at the hotel and the English pubs and copies of The Sun on sale in nearby shops.

If you don´t care for this kind of atmosphere, my advice is to find a quieter spot on the Algarve.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulista668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.mayo, ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

the room was lovely an spacious and very clean, pool was nice and right on the beach. only thing was there was no entertainment or music. but it was fine because there was plenty 2 min walk away from us. overall a brilliant hotel, will definatly be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allydabeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 79 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 79 in Portimao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing