We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable and relaxing stay at a very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in one of the Premium rooms having a full view of the beach, very large, with huge balcony (let down by the lack of a sun bed, apparently they don't have them on balconies) Table and chairs were good. Full kitchen facilities, bed was the usual hard variety found in Portugal !!.
Staff everywhere were very kind, courteous, nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast buffet was fabulous, every conceivable combination of fruit, bread, cereals, cheese, bacon, etc
only thing missing for British fans of the full english was a fried egg, there were however boiled eggs.

The hotel is right on the beach at Praia Da Rocha and at the quieter end of town though I daresay it could be a bit lively outside in midsummer but in October it was very quiet.

WiFi is available for a fee, we paid 10 Euros for an hour that did us for a week to check email, etc.

As it's name suggest the hotel is oriental in design, all white marble, beautifully designed and furnished. There is a beautiful green area outside the hotel with many sun beds and large umbrellas, very spaced out, not sitting on top of one another. The pool is at the side of the hotel with it's own bar and menu (closed whilst we were there) The only issue we had was parking, we had a hire car for the week and there are only 3 or 4 spaces available outside the hotel, it was by chance if we found a space, if not we had to drive 2 to 300 yards and park up in a side street. All in all, a very, very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Premium rooms (and I think suites) face the beach more or less full on and get sun a lot of the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 580 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

fantastic hotel and gardens , hotel has a hairdresser across the road great breakfast and great views, there is a casino nearby also , lovely beaches here and fantastic views. Good relaxing holiday here i will go back

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willieOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Algarve is littered with great beaches. Playa de Rocha is one of my favorites. The west end has sone lovely little coves. This hotel had a good deal going at the time so we spent a few nights. I was pleasently surprised by the warth of our greeting, the spacious rooms with their views.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank itsworththedrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our room was a premium room with a south west facing balcony with an amazing sea view. We stayed half board and couldn't fault anything-super staff, great food. This hotel is a gem tucked away from the madness that is praia da rocha! There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. I had my haircut in a hairdressers over the road from the hotel, good cut and very pleasamt english speaking hairdresser whom I would use again. Unless you are booking a package, book directly with the hotel as you will get better rates. We will definitely stay at the oriental again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fcc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break at the Oriental and can't praise it enough. Spacious room, great sea view, friendly and helpful staff and quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is lovely and there is plenty of choice. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jbskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend and another couple for a few days in Oct, the weather was around 22degrees, lovely and warm. The hotel itself is beautiful and has some standout features! The garden and pool area was lovely and well kept, nice sunbeds!! As we went in Oct it wasn't very busy so we easily managed to get sunbeds. Not sure I that would be the case in the high season? BUT, there are steps (be careful, they are quite deep and eneven in some places) leading from the back garden of the hotel down to the beach, and the beach is STUNNING!! It stretches out for I don't even know how long, and it's beautiful white sand!! we stayed as B&B, the breakfast was OK, not the best I've ever had. It had most things ude want to pick from for breakfast. The rooms were great, they had a small kitchen area for self catering tho we ate at the many restaurants in the small town which was a 5 min walk. My boyfriend and I think that if they removed the kitchen area in the rooms and had the hotel on a strict All Inc basis, it would be 5*!! The staff were polite and happy to help. There are many bars and restaurants in the town which are great, many of them have great deals on 3 course meals, choose 1 from 3/4 of each course and the majority of them were around €9. All in all, this was a fab break, I would definately go bak and stay in the oriental again!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisarebecca1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lovely hotel, very quiet out of Season in January. We paid a small amount more and had a premium sea view room (Room 207). It had just been refurbished and was very spacious.

Friendly staff and very quiet

Room Tip: Agree with the comments about Premium rooms. Room 207 is newly refurbished and huige
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wrighty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference.

We are very pleased to know that your stay fulfilled your expectations.

We are thankful for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us and especially for your kind words regarding our service and staff members. We will share your comments with the other members of our staff.

Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pedro Mamede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $73 - $1,230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing