We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with a perfect location”
Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a perfect location”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed fro a week in September.The hotel is in a good location with private steps directly to the beach. Staff were outstanding and extremely helpful. Buffet breakfast very good. Overall had a great break in this hotel. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclistOnTheRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    196
    72
    13
    17
See reviews for
72
330
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

we sat on the sofas in the bar and wanted a coffee (two middle aged ladies - not riff raff) - the waiter came and looked at us - he stood and looked at us for about ten seconds - no expression - then turned on his heel and walked off. We were bemused but wondered if he was unsure that we wanted to order a drink. We put the menu on the coffee table and waited for him or anyone to come to us to take our order. He came over again - peered at us with no expression - it was like he was looking right through us. He stared and we smiled to try to give him an inkling we wanted a drink but again - he turned on his heel and walked away. Ultra strange. Another man came over from the bar eventually and took our orders and made us beautiful cappuccinos - so very mixed feelings about this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CK1Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel is rated 4 star but on the state of the bathroom i think it should be downgraded to a 3 star, the bathroom we had in room number 025 had quiet a few broken tiles which seem to have been broken for sometime, there was a handle missing on the bath with the fixing brackets still in place, the handle on the other side was very loose and could have come off if someone had tried to use it, one of the sinks seemed to be slightly blocked, and there was quite a few ants round the sinks and the bath.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Hotel is located in the best area of Praia da Rocha, 1 minuto from the beach and close to the casino.

The areas are good, the room was large, had a kitchenette and a huge balcony overlooking the sea. Very good bed.

The pool has a great view, though the pool itself isn´t very large. It also has direct beach access from a gate that is located in the pool area.

In terms of appearance, the hotel is somewhat dated and in need of renovation. But the only defect that truly disturbs me is having to pay for wi-fi, which is not acceptable nowadays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in the first week of June. We were looking for a quiet family hotel close to a city centre in Algarve and found this hotel in Portimao. Previous reviews on Tripadvisor were good so we booked through Hotels.com. We started with a negative as the room we had booked did not match what the hotel had reserved for us. We were shown a 'family suite' on the ground floor, one of the rooms that had been recently renovated. Apart from the unbearable smell of paint and adhesive that still stank the room, there was no kitchenette and in terms of size it wasn't bigger than a standard double room. We complained, and though we were initially turned down, eventually - after 2 hours wait for management green light - we got a family room on the first floor, ocean view, but we were told we had to pay more for the 'upgrade'. We checked online on the hotels' website and the room we got was actually cheaper than the so called suite in our original booking. In the end, we had to settle with the higher rate as the hotel manager obstinately kept putting the blame on Hotels.com, end of the story.
Overall the hotel is clean - we were told it underwent renovations the previous year - the grounds well kept, the staff friendly, decent size adult pool and children's pool. One nice feature was the big lawn overlooking the beach with umbrellas and sunbeds. However, no sign of the children play area that is advertised on the hotel's website.
The family room was tired and in need of refurbishment with broken furniture. It had a spacious terrace with a table and chairs. We found the kitchenette helpful if you have small children.
Praia da Rocha is a very beautiful beach with clear sand. The sea was too cold to swim in but we were in early June - being the ocean I guess it doesn't get much warmer than that. There is a direct access to the beach via a steep path and high steps, uncomfortable if you carry children and beach stuff. The hotel doesn't provide you with beach umbrellas, so we had to buy one. Also, wi-fi and old-fashioned barrel-lock for the safe are not complimentary.
Don't expect much from the village of Portimao though. Concrete high-rise apartment blocks are everywere and restaurants are mainly pizzeria and kebab shops. You are better-off eating at the restaurants in the wooden bungalows on the beach. Simple honest food (you can point at the fish caught daily and they will cook it the way you like). We tried the buffet at the hotel's restaurant a couple of times and it was OK. Breakfast buffet is good and there is plenty to chose from - fruit, cereals, pastries and English breakfast from the hot section.
Overall it was a relaxing experience at the hotel Oriental, but we felt mainly because of the beach, the good weather and lack of crowds in early June.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites on the ground floor. Small, dingy, plastic flooring....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank real04jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here about 5 years ago. Some rooms have been changed since we last came and no longer have the kitchen unit. Location good, short walk into the centre. Rooms clean and comfortable. Service was good and we had a good choice for breakfast.
One negative, there is no car park. When we came last time you could,if lucky park in the street but the road has been updated and there is very little parking. I think I'm correct in saying the hotel only has a hand full of spaces available and you are very, very lucky to get one which means you have to look around the back streets for parking.
Room costs have increased appox 40/45 % since we last stayed but all hotels have increased by the same amount.
If in the area again I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a beach facing room, worth the extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennisgell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Oriental for 7 nights returning yesterday. Couldn't fault the location, prime position overlooking beautiful beach. It is situated at the quieter end of the Praia da Rocha main promenade near to the fort.( there is also a chapel at the fort which holds Holy Mass every Sunday at 10.15 )The hotel is spotlessly clean, we had fresh bedding and towels every day, and the dining room and reception areas are immaculate. Staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was great, twin beds, kitchen area and 2 very comfy armchairs with pouffy. Bathroom fine with loads of hot water. Enormous balcony overlooking garden area and with fabulous sea view.We couldn't get the air con to work properly so the room was sometimes very warm but then we didnt ask for help so that was our own fault. The hotel was very quiet with the majority of guests opting for bed and breakfast. We stayed half board and although the food was ok we felt there wasn't enough choice. Breakfast was ok with the usual very streaky bacon and hard scrambled eggs but with plenty of fruit, cereals and toast, croissants etc. Dinner was salads and soup for starters and then a fish choice or meat, (mostly pork steak) but never any sauce or gravy so very dry. Desserts tended to be cakes which were on the dry side...would have been nicer with cream or custard, and fruits. We felt that the choice was limited because there were rarely more than 10 to 15 guests for dinner so they were hardly likely to put out a big selection. The pool area was small but clean and the garden area was nicely laid out with sun beds and shades and very peaceful.

Room Tip: We had room 20 on level minus one which had a fabulous balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liverpool_liz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 79 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 79 in Portimao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing