We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Oriental
Nearby Hotels
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa(Praia da Rocha)
$411
$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jupiter Algarve Hotel(Praia da Rocha)
$130
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Luar(Praia da Rocha)
$77
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
$87
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Flamingo Residence(Praia da Rocha)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Santa Catarina(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
$106
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel da Rocha(Praia da Rocha)
$87
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jardim do Vau(Praia da Rocha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
271
217
76
14
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
217
76
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrefurbished roomwooden stepsbeautiful hotelgarden roomdirect access to the beachoverlooking the beachlarge tvfour star hotelhalf boardquiet endbed and breakfast basisbuffet breakfastrestaurant staffrelaxing holidaythe hotel is cleanthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 596 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

what was supposed to be a 4 star hotel turned out to be no better than a hostel.the staff are ignorant.breakfast was crap.my husband and i were disgusted,we were given a tiny dingy room with a COT for our 10 year old daughter.we would never stay there again,so disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tinylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests, however we know we are not flawless and all our costumers comments are important to help us improve the standards of our service.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at the Hotel Oriental and were not disappointed at all. We had stayed here in 2002 and decided to return as we had enjoyed it so much the first time. The hotel is in an excellent location at the quieter end of Praia Da Rocha but still close enough to all the bars and restaurants and is right on the beach. Our room was very clean, the cleaner comes in every day. We had a room on the first floor towards the front of the hotel which had a fairly good side sea view. Although the balcony was not massive, it was adequate. As other people have mentioned, we had also asked for a high level floor (both through Thomas Cook and by e-mailing the hotel direct) and did not get it. When I asked at reception they also told me that the hotel was full and I have to say I don't think that it was. We decided to accept the room we had been given as although on the first floor it did have a nice view of the gardens and beach and was far enough away from the adjacent cafe bar. We did experience some noise from rooms above us, mainly early in the morning but this did not cause us too much of a problem. The breakfast is served until 10.30 and is plentiful, you can help yourself to as much as you want and we found there to be plenty of choice even if you got there quite late. The staff on the whole were helpful. The kitchen facilities were fairly limited although there was a kettle. This did not bother us as we had no intention of cooking anyway.

Praia Da Rocha itself is lovely, it was fairly busy considering we were there in May. The highest recommendation we can say is to eat at Titanic and Atlantis the staff are excellent and food out of this world! There are plenty of other nice ones too - didn't get a chance to sample them all in two weeks!

All in all we had a fantastic holiday, the weather was great and you didn't have to fight for a sunbed by the pool. I would definitely return to Praia Da Rocha and the Oriental.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Catwoman456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

when we arrived at oriental the room was on ground floor and was disapointing.but we were given a room that was much better with a great view.i tought it was a great hotel right on the beach staff were very friendly and helpful.except for one baldy guy with glasses behind the desk ..who had a bit of an attitude,but we soon forgot about him and had a great holiday.would return again.rob from dublin

Room Tip: dont be afraid to complain if room is not good
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dublinbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

On arrival we were allocated a room on the first floor, we were not impressed with the room, it was dark and dingy. We were unable to open the curtains due to being on a level and right next door to a busy cafe. We enjoy having some privacy, this was not possible, we did not want to sit on the balcony with the inhabitants of the cafe eyeballing us. Like other reviewers I did request a high floor with a decent view especially as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and my birthday, this obviously fell on deaf ears. We returned to reception and asked to be moved to a better room, our booking stated we would have a sea view, we did not, we had a cafe view. The person at reception told us there were no rooms availlable as the hotel was full. We persisted and said we would not be unpacking and would wait until next day. We did get anotherroom eventually with a good view and a private balcony. We missed the first day of our holiday, the hotel was not full, there werent many people around, there was lots of empty sunbeds, we were the only ones in the bar.
The hotel was very clean, beds, towels changed regularly. The bed was too hard for me, so I did not sleep too well despite the peace and quiet.
We did not eat food in the hotel, the kitchen area poorly equipped, just as well we ate all meals out. Take a travel kettle as nothing to boil water.
This hotel was dead at night, no atmosphere, no entertainment, centre of hotel wasted with a huge water feature which hardly worked, this space could be used as a central seating area and the bar opened up onto it with maybe a pianist. There wasnt a gym or any other facilities which gives the hotel only three star status in my opinion.
The staff were pleasant, although only ever saw receptionist. We did complain that the bath water was not draining properly, after a few days the problem got worse and we had a total blockage. Someone eventually came with a plunger and cleared it, I had a feeling that it was an ongoing problem and needed a plumbers attention.
The resort especially the beach was so lovely, beach easily accessed from hotel via steps. The cafe/restaurant Senhora good quality food served all day and night.
Our favourite restaurant was Casa da Rocha, amazing views and food, glad we found this place as we had some pretty awful meals in some of the eating places although they were on highly recommended list.
The aforementioned cafe next to the hotel was also quite reasonable and of good quality, the staff were friendly.
Prices of drinks was amazingly cheap, 1E in a lot of bars for a large beer or a glass of wine, the most we paid was 2.50E.
All in all this is a lovely resort the beach being the star. Hotel a little tired, in need of an injection of enthusiasm from the management. Despite our initial problem we did have a enjoyable and relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Persistence, as e-mail did not work for me.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests, however we know we are not flawless and all our costumers comments are important to help us improve the standards of our service.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The hotel was recommended by a friend. We enjoyed our stay in the Oriental (bed & breakfast) - its position was ideal for us - just outside the main hotel centre looking out onto the beach. Lovely gardens, peaceful - ideal for lazing around, reading etc. Our room was spacious with cooking facilities and fridge. It was cleaned everyday by a very friendly maid. We would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews