We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointed with room but changed to a better one with no problem from staff”
Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2011

when we arrived at oriental the room was on ground floor and was disapointing.but we were given a room that was much better with a great view.i tought it was a great hotel right on the beach staff were very friendly and helpful.except for one baldy guy with glasses behind the desk ..who had a bit of an attitude,but we soon forgot about him and had a great holiday.would return again.rob from dublin

Room Tip: dont be afraid to complain if room is not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dublinbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 580 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

On arrival we were allocated a room on the first floor, we were not impressed with the room, it was dark and dingy. We were unable to open the curtains due to being on a level and right next door to a busy cafe. We enjoy having some privacy, this was not possible, we did not want to sit on the balcony with the inhabitants of the cafe eyeballing us. Like other reviewers I did request a high floor with a decent view especially as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and my birthday, this obviously fell on deaf ears. We returned to reception and asked to be moved to a better room, our booking stated we would have a sea view, we did not, we had a cafe view. The person at reception told us there were no rooms availlable as the hotel was full. We persisted and said we would not be unpacking and would wait until next day. We did get anotherroom eventually with a good view and a private balcony. We missed the first day of our holiday, the hotel was not full, there werent many people around, there was lots of empty sunbeds, we were the only ones in the bar.
The hotel was very clean, beds, towels changed regularly. The bed was too hard for me, so I did not sleep too well despite the peace and quiet.
We did not eat food in the hotel, the kitchen area poorly equipped, just as well we ate all meals out. Take a travel kettle as nothing to boil water.
This hotel was dead at night, no atmosphere, no entertainment, centre of hotel wasted with a huge water feature which hardly worked, this space could be used as a central seating area and the bar opened up onto it with maybe a pianist. There wasnt a gym or any other facilities which gives the hotel only three star status in my opinion.
The staff were pleasant, although only ever saw receptionist. We did complain that the bath water was not draining properly, after a few days the problem got worse and we had a total blockage. Someone eventually came with a plunger and cleared it, I had a feeling that it was an ongoing problem and needed a plumbers attention.
The resort especially the beach was so lovely, beach easily accessed from hotel via steps. The cafe/restaurant Senhora good quality food served all day and night.
Our favourite restaurant was Casa da Rocha, amazing views and food, glad we found this place as we had some pretty awful meals in some of the eating places although they were on highly recommended list.
The aforementioned cafe next to the hotel was also quite reasonable and of good quality, the staff were friendly.
Prices of drinks was amazingly cheap, 1E in a lot of bars for a large beer or a glass of wine, the most we paid was 2.50E.
All in all this is a lovely resort the beach being the star. Hotel a little tired, in need of an injection of enthusiasm from the management. Despite our initial problem we did have a enjoyable and relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Persistence, as e-mail did not work for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Front Office Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Good afternoon,

Just a quick note to thank you for your comments. We work hard everyday to try to please all our guests, however we know we are not flawless and all our costumers comments are important to help us improve the standards of our service.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The hotel was recommended by a friend. We enjoyed our stay in the Oriental (bed & breakfast) - its position was ideal for us - just outside the main hotel centre looking out onto the beach. Lovely gardens, peaceful - ideal for lazing around, reading etc. Our room was spacious with cooking facilities and fridge. It was cleaned everyday by a very friendly maid. We would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I booked a Junior Suite for five nights in April and was delighted to get a full sea view room with a private terrace for the price of a side sea view. Room was great, very spacious and with a huge terrace that wasn't overlooked.

The room service was terrific value and I rarely ventured out, choosing instead to enjoy the privacy and the view, enjoying lunches and a bottle of wine served in my suite with a smile.

There were downsides though - no porter service - surely a must for a four star - I am disabled and had to negotiate steps with my luggage on my own. Breakfast was very poor and there was no member of staff to meet and greet, and the pool was tiny.

When I was checking out a business traveller who had clearly arrived at reception after me was checked out first - this was pretty shameful I thought.

All in all though - a fabuous location and a lovely building: it just needs a little bit more attention to detail and to customer service to make it brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SickGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Concerning your comments, which we have apreciated, we will try to improve our services, on the matters that you have mentioned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Myself , husband and 10yr old son stayed here as a last minute get away for 5 nights . We had never been to Portugal before and were apprehensive as to what to expect ... The hotel Oriental did not dissapoint !!!! Staff were fantastic , room was spacious , general facilities were excellent and after following the advice of a previous review we requested an ocean front sea view room - WOW !!! The view really was to die for , in fact I spent more time on the balcony than anywhere else !!!! I love this hotel/beach resort so much we are planning to go back April/May this year to explore some more

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you so much for your comments. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

After visiting Praia da Rocha for many years, we finally stayed at the Oriental and
we were not disappointed. The rooms are large with a kitchenette, which is very
useful, and we had a large balcolney looking west with a beautiful view towards Alvor. The hotel has just had a facelift and everywhere is clean and tidy.
We had bed and breakfast and were very surprised with the quality and quantity of the
food. They have a new chef for the evening meals but we did not use the restaurant as
there are many very good places to eat in Praia da Rocha. It may be noisy on the East side in the summertime though as there is a bar next door which closes at 9:30 pm in the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angeline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLeitao, Manager at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Thank you for your comments. Hope to have you back at Hotel Oriental soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

On arrival at the hotel the very nice man at reception gave us all a upgrade to the rooms right at the front overlooking the beach.
We only paid about £50 a night for the large rooms and we had the double balcony - great!
You don't get any decent tv stations and breakfast is a bit sparse only thier bacon one day and tiny hotdog sausage the next.
The staff were all pleasant - if you just know the basic "bon dia" etc it helps.
Bar prices are not too bad 3 euro a large beer served by a lovely old guy with many stories.
We tried the evening meal one night 18 euro 3 courses but not impressed school diners come to mind.
So all in all a good base to stay in a great location.

However the resort of Praia da Rocha has gone down hill since all the new pavements etc.
You feel a bit like a piece of meat walking amongst wild animals when you go into the resort.
Im a big man and was still a bit nervous of my wifes bag going etc, watch the men on push bikes swooping toward you.
Lots of police presence to control it but you don't feel comfortable like in Carvoeiro.
Best place to eat is on the back streets near the chip shop.
Try it but don't spend a fortune booking it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeCalverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $73 - $1,230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing