We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Praia
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

They say first impressions are longest lasting :room on third floor sitting on top of five of the grottiest looking nite clubs i ave ever seen and a strip club to boot ,toilet would not flush an when they turned on the systern it filled 24./////// 7 NO SLEEP NO POOL NO GARDEN NO ROOM ON BALCONY FOR TABLE ONLY ONE CHAIR WOULD FIT .









OH MY GOD,,,,,,,,What a hell hole ,no toilet working tiny lift rooms with sea view are sitting on top of 5 grotty nite clubs and a strip club to boot,,,,, no sleep breakfast bearable no pool no garden no parking ,1euro to use internet This hotel is up as a 3star what do they have them for i would love to know .They finally washed the lobby floor friday at some hour it was manky .....Iwas never so glad to seea taxi in all my life to take us away out of there we picked our way through broken glass and motor bikes revving up to get into it NOkettles in rooms had to buy 1 had to ask for hair dryer ......saw people arrive and leave on the same day .....Heard children crying in the morning,,,,,, No wonder de would i could write a book but dont ave time if i did not have my friends to joke about it all i would have cried for the week Yep the treck to and from the beach a nightmare you will need the Paramedics on the return trip ,,,,beach clean well cared for tractors out at 6am to rotavate the sand the nicest sta ff in the pria de rocha are on the beach, there is no sense to the planning there,all high rise and congested if you really want to go to this area of the al garve try the CONCORDE orJARDINS DE ROCHA.......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majella_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    52
    22
    29
See reviews for
23
68
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

1. Hotel directly faces, across narrow street, Katedral, possibly the loudest disco on the planet. The music blares out all night until 6 AM! They have loudspeakers facing the street for that extra teeth-rattling base beat that pierces closed windows and ear-plugs. So forget about sleep on anything but the very top floors of this hotel. In addition to the music noise, you get a free helping of drunk and disorderly disco patrons in the street all night. If that's not enough, there are 2 more competing discos next door and then a few bars and strip joints.

2. No hot water. It's not broken, the desk manager explained that the warm (barely tepid) water was "ecological". Rubbish! Impossible to get a hot shower at any time. Bathroom was also obviously neglected after some sort of renovation several years ago so it was seedy. It was clean but that by itself isn't enough - it has to work.

3. Beds - while the sheets were fine quality, fresh and ironed, the beds themselves were barely better than sleeping on the floor they were so hard. They felt like they were boxes with a thin layer of cotton batting on top. Horrible! Linens issued included 1 small pillow and a scratchy blanket that looked sort of like boiled wool possibly.

4. Light - well, there was barely any. Light fixtures consisted of 2 tiny fixed bedside wall lamps that did not allow any adjustment and were so dim that reading in bed was impossible. This was the sole illumination in the room other than the doors to the balcony, however they were in a small alcove so the room was never more than dim even at mid-day.

5. The balcony was tiny and directly facing - you guessed it - the discos. It was just large enough for 2 people to stand on, if they didn't mind the air conditioning unit blowing hot/damp exhaust directly on you.

6. The room was tiny. Barely enough space for the bed, no storage space or drawers for clothes. One cupboard for hanging clothes. The "safe" was bolted to the room wall outside the bathroom and was missing its lock so useless.

7. The beach - the hotel claims the beach is only 50 meters away. Possibly it is if you only count the horizontal, unfortunately there is also the vertical. The hotel is located on a strip running along the top of steep CLIFFS! You have to climb down 70 or more steep, twisting often dangerous steps to the beech. Accessibility is very difficult and demanding.

8. After all this the rest seems niggling like the breakfast was a complete write-off. Probably the worst coffee in the whole resort. Undrinkable. And that's not orange juice they are serving, it's Tang! There's no parking. The hotel is on a pedestrianised street. You will have to drive around the local area and hope you find street parking somewhere and then hike back to the hotel. The room TVs are old 14 inch screens and are mounted near the ceiling on a bracket facing the door, not the beds,and it's only local stations, nothing in English. No pool, no terrace with lounges, nothing. No amenities of any sort.

The staff were polite and well meaning but their response was always "can't be helped, so sorry".

This area has a lot of hotels so pick some place else or rent an apartment. Anything has to be better than this place. Don't ruin your holiday in a gorgeous and wonderful area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BByro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Praia da Rocha hotels

Isle of Man
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Had a pleasent stay in quiet period very accomodating staff nothing too much for them . Rooms are fairly basic bathrooms newly renovated very good. TV useless for UK guests .
Wifi excellent facility. Parking nearby
On main strip reasonable restuarant next door.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank ManxFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Well, I've stayed at this hotel from the 23rd of May until the 09th of June.
Anyone who choses this hotel is mainly due to its low price and exceptional location.
It is in fact a low price hotel placed right in the middle of Praia da Rocha touristic strip, absolutely close to everything (beach, discos, bars, restaurants, internet points, touristic office, supermarkets, bus stops, taxis, etc, etc, etc.).
The hotel itself is clean, the staff is friendly, rooms basic but confortable.
However, please take note that if you look at the hotel's internet site, you will be mislead because there are no room service at all, no inside bar (and St. Moritz bar as well as the restaurant referred to at their site don't belong to the hotel), no satelite tv (at least during all my stay). The games room (billiard) is in fact the breakfast area and the billiard table where all the continental buffet food is placed. The private garage is not available as it is used for storage of several stuff.
Bar St. Moritz, right next to the hotel is simply the best cocktail bar in Praia da Rocha and is easely amongst the very best in the Algarve. The owner is a teacher at the Hotel High School University and his two employees former students there with a 3 years degree specialization. Cocktails made as they should be and with up to date ingredients/drinks.
Restaurantes: right at the beach you will find several (Sacha, Casalinho and Atlântico are the best), on the strip, Lusitano and Atlantis are very good.
Discos: Voxx and Katedral (this one right in front of the hotel)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lacking on facilities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

when we first arrived we did'nt like the look of the building but after 1 day there we soon got used to it and actually quite liked it.
appartment was clean quite big but basic good value for money.
it was pretty close to all the aminaties beach and all restraunts and nightlife are 5 mins away allround we enjoyed our stay here and we would go back anytime.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank pins2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Praia

Property: Hotel Avenida Praia
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Praia Hotel
Hotel Avenida Praia Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing