We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday for a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Praia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for at this hotel 15 nights from 5th September, 2013 arriving at 13.40am on the 6th September, the first thing that struck us was the dreadful noise form the disco across the road.
We were shown to a room on the sea front on the first floor - no sleep till about 5am when quiet reigned. I did complain 7 asked to be moved - however the hotel was full, and the hotel says they never received our request for a high floor.
We were moved to room 602 the next day, The maid cleaned every day & the room was fine - there was more noise from the Irish bars at the back of the hotel but we managed fine.
Breakfast was a hap hazard affair - even to the point that they ran out of milk one morning & had to go to a local supermarket to get some - this was about 8am, the resident chef wore dirty clothes & scratched his head frequently - not a very good advert - we never had an evening meal there.
The reception staff were excellent, and very helpful.

We would go there again but ring beforehand to ensure we had room 601 or 602 or 701 or 702.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Praia da Roche

Room Tip: room 601 or 602 or 701 or 702
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perma-tan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have been going to Praia da Rocha for 15 years and stayed pretty much in most of the hotels along the strip. If you go for the nightlife (very late nightlife) this hotel is ideal but if you like the daylife and bit of nightlife then it is not. We got a lovely room 3 up with a balcony overlooking the ocean, hotel was laid back, breakfast was very basic but with maid service everyday, clean towels everyday we could not really complain at the price we paid. We would not go back though as the main issue was the noise. The triple glazing was okay up to a point but from 10 pm onwards the music was deafening and the disco was not the main culprit - it was the pubs next to it, they seemed to be competing with each other as to who was the loudest. We will be booking for next year as we love Praia da Rocha but are more than willing to pay much more for accomodation away from the noisy spot. Reviewer before was right about being offered everything from sunglasses and watches etc., I actually think this is the spot where they contain this kind of thing.

Room Tip: Not sure re this - as didn't try one of the back ones - view brilliant from front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRIFFITHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

no way 3 star's 1 maybe.? we stayed here in setpember it was ok for the price you get what you pay for. the rooms were clean and you had room service everyday. did not bother with the breakfest when i seen it. it's in a good location but you need to be deaf with the disco across from the hotel boom boom all night long. would never go back again come out of the hotel and you are offered everything from sun glasses to drugs.

Room Tip: look for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ob3j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was so worried about staying in this hotel from all the bad reviews the minute we landed all the staff were so helpful,The rooms were small but for the money i paid i wasnt expecting anything amazing!The room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels put in the room if anything we had to tell the cleaners not to clean the room a few times as we were too hungover to get out of bed!This hotel is right on the strip with bars and restaurants next door so you dont have to walk far.I stayed here for a week and had no issue with the noise,the only thing this hotel is missing is a pool!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank roisin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Basic but clean rooms, well maintained with friendly and helpful staff plus free wifi. It has a great location nestled between the bars clubs and restaurants on the strip. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the negative reviews; in a nutshell it's ideal for people who like to be out until late as despite the double glazed windows, the bass from the 3 neighbouring clubs can be heard until 4/5am. If you have kids or plan on early nights, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davemaruia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i arrived at the hotel and I have to say my expectations were low after reading some of the reviews! We arrived in the evening, in the hustle and bustle of a busy strip! And to our delight we were right in the middle of it! Clubs, bars, restaurants and shops! What more would you want on holiday? The rooms are very basic, beds, hair drier, shower/bath, fridge, storage and a balcony over looking the busy strip!
The bed was extremely uncomfortable but I expect no less paying what I paid for my holiday!
Continental breakfast was exactly that and it was nice! Plenty of it also!
The hotel itself is very clean, and a maid visited our room EVERYDAY of our stay! There are a few comments about the smell in the rooms....it's only the detergent they use! Flush the toilet and open the patio door... Problem fixed!
Our bathroom was lovely very clean, a lot of noise comes through the vents also but hey we r on holiday! We are away to enjoy ourselves! If you can't beat them..... Join them!
The hotel is VERY close to the beach also
Which is absolutely beautiful!
I wouldn't think twice coming back here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Absolutely terrible hotel !!! I would not recommend it to anyone ! The room we stayed in was kind of really old style with mold all over the ceiling ! It was about 8pm when we checked in and we went streight out . When we got back at the hotel about 1am the shower was not working and was very noisy from the night club which is just opposite the hotel ! "The continental breakfast" was a joke - just ham ,cheese ,marmalade and bread ! The staff was not very friendly as well ! So ... Noisy ,Poor breakfast , Unfriendly staff ! It's slightly cheaper but better book somewhere else ! Very disappointed !

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Praia

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $24 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Avenida Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Praia Hotel
Hotel Avenida Praia Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing