We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good appartaments for that money”
Review of Flor da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flor da Rocha
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good appartaments for that money”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed a week at Floor da Rocha. Overall hotel is good: large apartments, good location (7 minutes to Praia da Rocha center and the beach). Some points still could be improved. Rooms should be cleaned better, there is no conditioner in the room, no hair dryer and iron in the room as well. You can take it at the reception but I managed to do it only once, other time they were busy. Hotel parking was always busy still you can find a free place near the hotel in contrast to hotels in the very center of Praia da Rocha.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnastasiaKlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    112
    64
    24
    20
See reviews for
115
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
munster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hi just came back from there, 5 minute walk up hill to the beach, it was reasonably close to the center. My biggest complaint was the noise level at night, you could hear noise from the street and all levels above and below you.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 people and they had only 2 bath towels, when we asked for more at reception we were told go back to our room and check that they must be there (they were not!!) and our towels were taken and not replaced and we were charged when checking out 5 euros for towels.
Would not recommend for a family, pool area was ok, not enough sun loungers, and the bar man gave most of the time scratching his scrotum (hardly encouraging for you to buy food there)
Wifi available at a fee and only at reception, lifts very small, and did get stuck between floors one of the days my husband used them.
The pool only opened at 10 the week we were day due to cleaning?????

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noreenlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Praia da Rocha hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just back from a week in the sol flor da rocha. We had a one bedroom apartment on the5th floor. The apartment was fabulous. Huge and so spacious with a balcony off the main living room and off the bedroom also. It was very well equipped and had shutters over the balcony doors which meant it stayed nice and cool. Cleaners were great, everyday had clean towels. The were very friendly. The Reception staff were very nice also. The pool area was terribly quiet, no music and the guy at the bar was uncommunicative and unfriendly. He really didnt want to be there at all. There was no entertainment whatsoever in the complex. We had a drink one night in the bar but we were the only ones there so left pretty quickly. There is no need to spend much time in the complex anyway as the beach is just a 5minute walk away up a steep hill though and down a lot of steps. Plenty of great bars in the area eg on the rocks, Croke Park, The Celt Inn, Dalys, and I could go on and on. For eating you have to try Claires, up the hill and turn right. So cheap. 3 course meal 7.95Euro. Pints for 1euro from 9am to 5pm and very nice staff. The area is very clean and the people are very friendly. We did find a shorter way home from the strip but as it was late at night and dark I would advise you to walk the way you know. Stay along the strip and down the hill. Would definately reccommend Praia da Rocha. And while these apartments are very nice we found not many facilities in the hotel, no atm, internet didnt work and no place around reception to purchase any water or anything. Amarilis complex next door has a supermarket but you're better off going to the Alisuper on the strip for your messages. Much cheaper, even cheaper than the Spar. Oh and defo pay a visit to Bacchus Bar and to Arthur there with his beautiful dog and talking parrott. Food gorgeous here too. Would definately go back to Praia da Rocha however I think I might try to book one of the many complexes or hotels on the strip to be nearer to the nightlife and the beach.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor. Up nice and high. Balconies quite far apart which meant nobody could climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jean_garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

apartments were in an excellent location, spotless cleaned every day...cleaners were lovely, bar staff were ok....reception staff were nice, only complaints were the late check in we were supposed to check in at 4 but didnt get to check in til 4.40 i know that doesnt sound like much later but wen u have been awake since 3 the previous morning it is!! and also it was in the brochure that kids under 12 were not allowed and there was loads of kids but apart from that was great would defo go back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ailish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just back from here and it's really clean but the staff are so sour and unfriendly except for a couple and the cleaners they were gems!we had a baby with us and didn't have a cot in the room I asked a few times but gave up because they didn't care less so I ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor with him for a week which is a joke very unsafe they should be ashamed even asked our rep to get onto it which she did but obviously wasn't listened to either,we had medicine which he is on long term with us that needs to be kept in the fridge but the fridge wasn't warm they said they would send someone up to look but noone came offered a fridge down stairs but we were on the 6th floor overall very clean basic room but the reception staff should be all sent to a class of how to be helpful and smile once in awhile!!when we checked out they never asked did we enjoy or even a simple goodbye not good very unprofessional and ignorant wouldn't recommend it for this reason and getting a fan was an ordeal from them

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have just returned from 7 days in Flor Da Mar with 7 members of Family (24-60) we had 4 spacious apartments SC, kitchen was a little under equipped but we managed to cook Full English and snacks with what was provided (2 Rings, microwave, toaster, kettle, large fridge with freezer compartment) No teaspoons or cork screw. Apartment was spotless as was the hotel. Beds were a little on the hard side for me but were clean with plenty of extra bedding if required. pool area was nice, we were always able to find a lounger, nice grassy areas too. short walk to the local bus stop 1.75 euro would get you anywhere you wanted to go in local area, beach/shops/bars/food 5 minute walk.....would recommend The Alvor Boat trip (leaflet in reception) have been on this twice, Portomaio great for shopping and wandering (market on mondays) Alvor is a pretty little town with lots of narrow streets and a nice Port area, nice food and little shops.
ENJOY...its a great Hotel in good area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliegoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Its a typical high rise with small but decent balconies, good kitchen & quality basic furniture & tv, but take your own can opener as the one they had was ancient - stab it in & saw away - still didn't work tho lol ! It was clean but given there were 6 of us really the towels & bathroom should be cleaned every day. Wifi only in the reception which bit silly so you may as well jus use the comp which is there. Not partic friendly staff they don't bother you & you just get on with your holiday. No atmosphere or bonding in the hotel so if you are alone not a good place prob. Great location as 5 mins walk to the beach & main strip; Good Chinese "Asia" does v filling 4 cse meal for 13 euros. Food pretty good all over to be honest,esp the seafood obvs. Not in hotel tho. Beach is gorgeous & not too full June & early July. All in all great holiday with a group of gals was had :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farahdiba76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flamingo Residence
Flamingo Residence
#14 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor da Rocha

Property: Flor da Rocha
Address: Rua das Conchas, Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flor da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 600 metres from the Praia da Rocha beach, the Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies.The Flor Da Rocha Apartments are situated 3 km from Portimão’s city centre. There are many restaurants, minimarkets and shops within a 5-minute walk from the property.Located 600 metres from the Praia da Rocha beach, the Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies.The Flor Da Rocha Apartments are situated 3 km from Portimão’s city centre. There are many restaurants, minimarkets and shops within a 5-minute walk from the property.The apartments have private bathrooms, satellite TVs and safes. There is a 24-hour reception.Guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the tennis courts. Children will enjoy the children’s pool and the ice creams aLocated 600 metres from the Praia da Rocha beach, the Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flor da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Flor Da Rocha
Flor Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing