We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just back from a week in the sol flor da rocha. We had a one bedroom apartment on the5th floor. The apartment was fabulous. Huge and so spacious with a balcony off the main living room and off the bedroom also. It was very well equipped and had shutters over the balcony doors which meant it stayed nice and cool. Cleaners were great, everyday had clean towels. The were very friendly. The Reception staff were very nice also. The pool area was terribly quiet, no music and the guy at the bar was uncommunicative and unfriendly. He really didnt want to be there at all. There was no entertainment whatsoever in the complex. We had a drink one night in the bar but we were the only ones there so left pretty quickly. There is no need to spend much time in the complex anyway as the beach is just a 5minute walk away up a steep hill though and down a lot of steps. Plenty of great bars in the area eg on the rocks, Croke Park, The Celt Inn, Dalys, and I could go on and on. For eating you have to try Claires, up the hill and turn right. So cheap. 3 course meal 7.95Euro. Pints for 1euro from 9am to 5pm and very nice staff. The area is very clean and the people are very friendly. We did find a shorter way home from the strip but as it was late at night and dark I would advise you to walk the way you know. Stay along the strip and down the hill. Would definately reccommend Praia da Rocha. And while these apartments are very nice we found not many facilities in the hotel, no atm, internet didnt work and no place around reception to purchase any water or anything. Amarilis complex next door has a supermarket but you're better off going to the Alisuper on the strip for your messages. Much cheaper, even cheaper than the Spar. Oh and defo pay a visit to Bacchus Bar and to Arthur there with his beautiful dog and talking parrott. Food gorgeous here too. Would definately go back to Praia da Rocha however I think I might try to book one of the many complexes or hotels on the strip to be nearer to the nightlife and the beach.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor. Up nice and high. Balconies quite far apart which meant nobody could climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jean_garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 316 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

apartments were in an excellent location, spotless cleaned every day...cleaners were lovely, bar staff were ok....reception staff were nice, only complaints were the late check in we were supposed to check in at 4 but didnt get to check in til 4.40 i know that doesnt sound like much later but wen u have been awake since 3 the previous morning it is!! and also it was in the brochure that kids under 12 were not allowed and there was loads of kids but apart from that was great would defo go back again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ailish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just back from here and it's really clean but the staff are so sour and unfriendly except for a couple and the cleaners they were gems!we had a baby with us and didn't have a cot in the room I asked a few times but gave up because they didn't care less so I ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor with him for a week which is a joke very unsafe they should be ashamed even asked our rep to get onto it which she did but obviously wasn't listened to either,we had medicine which he is on long term with us that needs to be kept in the fridge but the fridge wasn't warm they said they would send someone up to look but noone came offered a fridge down stairs but we were on the 6th floor overall very clean basic room but the reception staff should be all sent to a class of how to be helpful and smile once in awhile!!when we checked out they never asked did we enjoy or even a simple goodbye not good very unprofessional and ignorant wouldn't recommend it for this reason and getting a fan was an ordeal from them

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have just returned from 7 days in Flor Da Mar with 7 members of Family (24-60) we had 4 spacious apartments SC, kitchen was a little under equipped but we managed to cook Full English and snacks with what was provided (2 Rings, microwave, toaster, kettle, large fridge with freezer compartment) No teaspoons or cork screw. Apartment was spotless as was the hotel. Beds were a little on the hard side for me but were clean with plenty of extra bedding if required. pool area was nice, we were always able to find a lounger, nice grassy areas too. short walk to the local bus stop 1.75 euro would get you anywhere you wanted to go in local area, beach/shops/bars/food 5 minute walk.....would recommend The Alvor Boat trip (leaflet in reception) have been on this twice, Portomaio great for shopping and wandering (market on mondays) Alvor is a pretty little town with lots of narrow streets and a nice Port area, nice food and little shops.
ENJOY...its a great Hotel in good area

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliegoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Its a typical high rise with small but decent balconies, good kitchen & quality basic furniture & tv, but take your own can opener as the one they had was ancient - stab it in & saw away - still didn't work tho lol ! It was clean but given there were 6 of us really the towels & bathroom should be cleaned every day. Wifi only in the reception which bit silly so you may as well jus use the comp which is there. Not partic friendly staff they don't bother you & you just get on with your holiday. No atmosphere or bonding in the hotel so if you are alone not a good place prob. Great location as 5 mins walk to the beach & main strip; Good Chinese "Asia" does v filling 4 cse meal for 13 euros. Food pretty good all over to be honest,esp the seafood obvs. Not in hotel tho. Beach is gorgeous & not too full June & early July. All in all great holiday with a group of gals was had :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farahdiba76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Flor da Rocha. There were 7 of us in total including 3 children. We booked 2 apartments so had more than enough room. The apartments are basic but have a kitchenette. There is a 2 ring hob and a microwave but no oven. The apartments are within walking distance to the beach and the strip but far away enough not to be disturbed at night. The complex has a nice pool area including a children's paddling pool and a basic games room. There is a pool bar and always plenty of sun loungers available. The cleaners came round each day to change towels etc..There is a large supermarket within walking distance but the walk back is mostly up hill so would recommend a taxi back. The complex could do with updating but overall for the price we paid we got excellent value for money. There are no English language TV channels so a portable DVD player would be handy if you have smaller children.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasonmc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

have just returned from a ten night stay at sol flor da rocha can concur with some of the negative reviews about poor lighting in corridors poor standard of t.v. but in my opinion the positives far outweight the negatives. from arrival too departure can not fault the friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel from the professional reception staff too the ever smiling cleaners too the very helpful poolside barmen all helped to make our visit a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 75 in Portimao
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua das Conchas, Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $53 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently entirely renovated and located 600 metres from the Praia da Rocha beach, the Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies. Flor da Rocha Apartments are situated 3 km from Portimão’s city centre. There are many restaurants, minimarkets and shops within a 5-minute walk from the property. Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies, Led TV and Wi-Fi network both in rooms and common areas. The apartments have private bathrooms and safes. There is a 24-hour reception. Guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the tennis courts. Children will enjoy the children’s pool and the ice creams and snacks at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Flor Da Rocha
Flor Da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing