We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, not pretentious and value for money”

Pizzeria La Dolce Vita
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We proudly declare ourselves to be the best Pizzeria in the Algarve with homemade Pasta. We have 30 different Pizzas to choose from which is sure to include your favourites. As an Italian owned restaurant we offer all the most popular Pastas and a range of delicious Salads made from fresh local produce. To accompany the meal we stock a range of Italian and Portuguese wines. To complete your meal try one of our truly Italian Ice Creams! A fantastic Pizza + 1 Drink + 1 Ice Cream + 1 Coffee = all for a Special Price! Our restaurant also has an outside terrace from which you can watch the sunset as you dine We are located in the main street in Praia da Rocha opposite the Hotel Algarve Casino.
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, not pretentious and value for money”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate here twice on the holiday.
The seating is wooden benches with nice tables. The ambience is simple and the table mats are your paper menus.

I have had the garlic prawns which were very nice. Prawn tagliatelle and another dish I cannot remember. The wife has had the garlic prawns, pizza and the prawn tagliatelle as well. Around E35 with non alcoholic drinks seems a bargain. You could even get a take away or try a pizza at lunch.

The meat platter is lovely and comes with 4 freshly bakes cheesy rolls, plenty for 2 and sufficient for 3.

I would go back. Its not the best but its honest food, the service was good if a bit slow.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMnME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    331
    113
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had passed by this restaurant a few times and it was always fairly busy so I took this as a good sign and decided to give it a go with my family. We were seated straight away and given menus, but soon after this the service went down hill. We were sat for quite a while before they came back to take food/drink orders...after the meal we tried to order some more drinks (took us a while to get anyone's attention) and 10-15 minutes later were still waiting for them, with empty plates in front of us. By this point we were happy to forget the drinks and get the bill but as I got up to try and cancel them, they suddenly appeared at the table, although the empty plates stayed with us! The food was nice enough, we had all ordered pizza's and if I was basing it on this alone I would happily return or recommend but the service completely lets this restaurant down. I could understand if the staff were busy, but when you see enough of them standing around chatting it's really not good enough. Won't be going back there any time soon....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RHM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“saddly off the mark”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had read lots of reviews about this place and most said the service was poor - but food was good. S o we decided to give it a bash as we had come out of season. Young waiter was lovely and served our Anti Pasti platter which was delicious. However my choice of wine - which was also lovely..............I had to ask for a chiller. First mark down. Please scan carefully anyone who wants to drink wine on their own - half bottle of what I chose cost 9 euros - full bottle cost 10. House wine was a fizzy Italian Frasctti - not to my taste. Anti pasti for two was amazing and delicious - especially the hot garlic rolls - although a little drizzle of olive oil would have made it all the more perfect.. This is when things went sadly wrong! Canneloni was the choice of my husband and he was happy with what was presented. I on the other hand had ordered the Risotto Seafood Especial.

I have lived in Europe for over 6 years and know fresh seafood as opposed to microwaved - and also the dangers of re-heat seafood.

The resturante gracefully withdrew the cost of my risotto from the bill.

But knowing they

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but there are better pizza restaurants.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This was a nice meal out but after all the rave reviews I was expecting more.
Nice pizza but there are nicer pizza restaurants on that stretch.
The seats were extremely uncomfortable too.
Worth a visit but not worth all the rave reviews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jms1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Huge Disappointment”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was attracted to this place by the reviews on trip advisor.. and the lengthy queues outside! I am sad to say the whole experience was a massive let down.

We visited La Dolce Vita 7 nights into our stay. We had become accustomed to excellent service and good, sometime great food. LDV was none of those.

A small queue had formed when we arrived before 8pm but this comprised of two larger parties. We asked for a table, and were told to "sit where we want".

A waiter soon arrived to take our food and drink order. I ordered lasagne with a soft drink, and the rest of my table also ordered pasta dishes. The soft drink took ages to arrive and when it did it was a very small glass and very overpriced. Meanwhile tables around us filled up and others had their orders taken.

The table next to us, who arrived a good 10 mins after us, had already eaten their starter and were half way through their pizza before our meals arrived. We weren't the only ones in this predicament. It seems like a massive priority is placed on pizza orders as the pizzas were flying out, while everybody else sat and waited.

When the food did come, it was a huge let down. Lasagne is one of my favourite meals. This however, reminded me of a supermarket microwave meal.

Sadly, I'd have to advise to give this place a miss. Maybe the pizzas are good, but there are other great places to eat Pizza such as Cletonina.

Poor service, poor food.. all round a bad experience for us.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank john-cash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Dolce Vita also viewed

Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 

Been to Pizzeria La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing