We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Algarve SUN BOAT Trips
from $28.07
More Info
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
24
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
24
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing trip arade river amazing trip second to none recommend this trip ricardo pedro powered birds guide marina company portimao holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great trip and customer care & reception, everyone can follow!
But from the start: I found the phone number on one flyer. I texted and asked for trip to Silves for 8 people + dog. We agreed everything very quickly. Then at agreed time we have met with Riccardo, very charmfull guide with lot of experience from the region... The boat was clean and nice but moreover it is 100% ecofriendly which means it is powered by SUN!!! Even easier to observe birds and breathtaking landscape in silence... The only thing which was preventing us from find ourselves in paradise was other petrol engined boats... On board we've been offered some drinks... After 1.5h hour of beautifull and relaxing trip we arrived to Silves. We had 1.5h hour for lunch (BTW simple lunch left no trace of hunger from Valdemar offer just in front of boat arrival) and had a trip back. Except of observing number of birds, listening to Portimao's history and brave Portugal people, we finished by listening to the local music! I can honestly suggest this trip to anyone who wants to pass an excellent, full of impressions and relaxing day with family & friends. Best regards to Ricardo, our captain & guide!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank WlodekK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunBoatTrips, Skipper at Algarve SUN BOAT Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! :-) Thank you very much for your kind words. We feel really happy when we can provide this kind of experience to our customers. I can say that I enjoyed very much your kindness and humor. It was a pleasure for me having you guys on board. Hope to see you again in the area. Best wishes for you and lovely family. Regards. Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

We left early (8:50) at the marina to match the tides. The boat was so quiet that we were actually could hear the birds when cruising up the river. The guide told us about the surroundings, history and local economics. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing experience for the whole family. After a few hours we reached Silves and walked through the city centre. On the way back we were offered a good glass of wine and some snacks. The absolute highlight for the children was when they were allowed - under close supervision - to steer the boat. Highly recommended for a different view and experience, off the beaten track.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank foodieMunich_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunBoatTrips, Diretor de vendas at Algarve SUN BOAT Trips, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2019

Hello Meinke! Really happy that you and your husband (and kids, of course...) have enjoyed our experience. It is a pleasure meeting interesting people like yourself and to be able to share our passion with you. Best of lucks for your life in Belgium. Regards! Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

We can thoroughly recommend the Sun Boat trip to Silves from Portimao. Ricardo and Pedro as well as trainee 1 and 2 made for a very relaxing and eco friendly day out on the Rvier Arade. The care and knowledge of this company are second to none and we had a superb sail. Even down to emailing me with the information about the Jacaranda trees the day after which was totally unexpected and very much appreciated. I hope that the boys will be able to get the sea going eco boat soon? Can't wait to join them on it on our next visit.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank deeandjayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunBoatTrips, Proprietário at Algarve SUN BOAT Trips, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2019

Hello! First of all, sorry for our late answer... :-\ Well, it is certainly a pleasure to be able to share our knowledge with you guys, and to make you feel absolutely safe and comfortable. We don't know everything, but we try to be able to answer all the questions, even if not in real time! :-). Please, come back for another trip one of these days! Regards. Pedro and Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Cannot recommend this trip any higher. It's excellent value for money, informative and on a boat second to none. The crew are fantastic and booking easy.
Pedro and Ricardo are a font of historical knowledge and also on the ecology of the river system and the wildlife upon it. The boat is small enough to feel like a personal trip but large enough that your comfort is not compromised in any way.

Snacks and drinks are provided on the journey and I can highly recommend the lovely wine we sampled.
This is not just a simple river tour but is a history lesson,a beautiful relaxing journey and and a chance to discover the water ways and those that live on them or alongside.

Close your eyes and you hear nothing but birdsong, the waves gently lapping the boat or fishes splashing softly on the surface. Being powered by solar energy there is no chug , chug ,chug to spoil the atmosphere.

We all felt this trip was undervalued for the experience we received in return, having left the boat feeling like we had journeyed with friends having shared many laughs along the way.

Silves is a beautiful place to visit but the boat ride especially made it more memorable as did the return journey where we sampled more of the coastline before sailing home into the sunset.

We wish Pedro, Ricardo and Ana continued success in this venture and will 100% do this journey again whenever we revisit Portugal in the future.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Guide618993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana B, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Algarve SUN BOAT Trips, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Guide618993,
Thanks for sharing your experience and for rating us on TripAdvisor! We’re very glad to know that you had a good time on our boat. It was a pleasure to have you aboard and your kind words have inspired us to keep doing what we love.
You’re always welcome again!
Our best regards and wishes,
Ana, Pedro and Ricardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We booked this boat trip 1 day in advance on our holiday in Ferragudo (a village a few kilometers from Portimão). When we arrived we were waiting near the boat at the harbor instead of the meeting point at the kiosk (because we couldn't find it). We called the company to say we were already standing near the boat. This was no problem for them and we started to continue the boat trip. When we met the guide and the family who were also joining us we were warmly welcomed by them! Normally the tour takes about approximately 75 min, but the tourguide told us if it was a big problem for us if the tour would take a little longer then expected, this was undoubtely no problem for us because we were on a holiday. The family who also joined us were portugese. This was no problem for us because the tourguide would also take the time to explain everything in English. The tourguide learned us a lot about the history of the city during the trip and even would take the time to learn us a little about how to drive the boat! We even got the chance to drive the boat by ourself! This was a great experience for us and also for the kids who were on the boat with us. Furthermore we all got the chance to relax with a lovely local rosé wine that was given by our tourguide. The tour eventually took about 2+ hours. I strongly recommend this trip for tourists (or families) with or without kids. It was great to see the passion this tourguide had! When we are back in this city we would definitely do this tour again! 10/10!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Ramesh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana B, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Algarve SUN BOAT Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Dear Ramesh,
Thanks for rating us on tripadvisor! It was a pleasure to have you aboard and we're very happy to know that you had a nice time and enjoyed your boat trip with us.
You're always welcome again!
Our best regards and wishes,
Pedro and Ana
Algarve SUN BOAT Trips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

At first we wanted to thank Pedro for the great tour, he took 3 hours to guide us through the Arade river and even showed us some beaches.

Surely would recommend this trip, great experience, we had a nice swim and Pedro is very friendly, relaxed and helpful.

Thanks again for the nice trip Pedro, hope to see you soon in Rotterdam !

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank janschults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana B, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Algarve SUN BOAT Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Hi Jan!
Thanks for sharing your experience and recommending us on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to know that you enjoyed your boat trip and had a nice time. It was a great pleasure to welcome you aboard.
Pedro sends his regards and thanks for the invite to visit Rotterdam (we’ve been in Holland a few times already but not in Rotterdam yet).
You’re always welcome again!
Our best regards and wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews