We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Viking Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pestana Viking Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Sheffield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I got a very cheap last minute deal to this hotel, so wondered whether its advertised four star status would actually be real, but it was probably deserved. The central atrium of the building rises from the reception floor to the seventh floor, with most of the rooms leading off corridors around this, and it is is vast and not particularly attractive, but the warmth of the welcome and the quality of the rooms and the service could not be faulted. The vast majority of the staff were professional, pleasant, and smiling, with just two exceptions preventing me from awarding five stars in this review. Smiling, being pleasant, and making eye contact should be compulsory for all those working in hospitality!

I had a room on the sixth floor of seven, which gave pleasant views across a neighbouring cove and east to Almacao. Lower rooms are unlikely to have a view, but are cheaper. The room had a vast bed, which was comfortable, a marbled spacious bathroom with loo, bidet, and bath with good shower above it, a kitchenette area (behind sliding doors alongside the wardrobes) with cupboards well-stocked with crockery and cutlery, a kettle, a fridge, and a microwave. No coffee and tea were provided, but the facilities were great. No hair dryer in the room, but you can ask for one at reception. There was a chair at the usual hotel desk/dressing table, plus two very comfy chairs at a table by the window. Glass doors (great curtains to block out light) onto a spacious balcony with a table and chairs - though not used much during our stay.

Breakfast was excellent. Cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yoghurts, continental cheeses and meats, hot dishes, great range of breads and cakes- plus extras could be bought such as made-to-order omelettes. There was some variety, though not a great deal, but the range was such that no further variety was needed. I didn't have an evening meal but I gather from friends that they were rather ordinary. (There were several good eating places nearby, even in February, and the lunch time specials at many cafés were a real bargain). The bar is rather lacking in atmosphere, and prices are high, but there's a local bar just over the road (Palmeiras) that we enjoyed.

Before travelling I found it hard to find out exactly where the hotel was. Some descriptions say it's in Porches, others in Almacao de Pera, but it's actually in a small area called Senhora de Rocha, between Porches and Almacao ( about 30 minutes walk from the latter). The hotel is surrounded by blocks of recently built apartments - all unoccupied at this time of year - but there is a local bus stop just across the road which is halfway between Portimao and Albufeira (4.10 euros each trip) and the hotel runs a courtesy bus into Armacao at 10am and 2pm, so exploring the area is relatively easy even without a car.

Most of the guests were German or English golfers. We walked, and explored the coastal paths in both directions. (Eastwards you cannot walk along the cliff top from the hotel, but need to detour up local roads for about half a mile before joining the impressive path.) Try taking the hotel courtesy bus, then walk from Armacao along the beach to the bird sanctuary, then round the boardwalk and back onto the beach, or to Gale, and back. The coastal paths give amazing scenery, though past Armacao the cliffs give way to dunes and the walk is less spectacular.

The hotel indoor pool and spa looked good, but I didn't use either so can't comment. The outdoor pool and the grounds were being well maintained despite being little used in February, and there is also a shop which sells basic gifts, snacks, magazines and postcards. Wi-fi is available in the bedrooms - free for the first 24 hours then one euro a day after that. It worked, but required logging in every few minutes so was not great, but holidays should perhaps be email free, anyway!

If I was being ultra-critical I would say the quality of the pillows let the hotel down, but of the four provided in the room, I did find one that sort-of-suited. A minor point, given all the positive features.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ttravellingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    410
    122
    39
    25
See reviews for
327
409
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great hotel in perfect location away from the usual noisy hotels. When we arrived the booking company had not booked our room, this was quickly sorted and soon forgotten.
Breakfast was perfect and buffet style with additional option of cooked.
Would recommend the hotel for a get away and a bargain break to escape the English rain.

We traveled from Southend airport and with 2 hour flights, hire car and superior room with see view for 3 nights cost less than a weekend in the lakes!

Sorry Cumbria must try harder.

Room Tip: Rooms are much the same but 0ver 700 will get an uninterrupted sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at Pestana Viking one night at the end of January. Nice hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast. We did make a note at a rime if booking that double bed is required. We had a room with double bed.

Room Tip: If you fancy pretty view, please book room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T22H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

OK, the hotel is more like a 4 star BUT when you arrive for a night away with the love of your life, in !my case my newly married wife and you find single beds, are told that there is no one to make them into a double and not one room in a 4 star hotel, not one room with a double bed , well either Pestana is run by nuns or only appeals to.......
Now I am sure any response will say that some people like to sleep in single beds BUT if you do then you would want them separate, wouldn't you? you wouldn't want to wake up with your head touching the other persons and yet these beds are single but have no room to be apart. So here we are with a four star hotel with single beds that don't properly separate but don't allow you cuddle or make love with your love......... the worst of both worlds. Again, they will respond that you only have to ask and the beds will be made up but this is not true if you make a last minute arrival and arrive when housekeeping have gone. All in all staying here was an amazing experience for me as it was the first time in my life that I have slept in single beds separated from a woman. The truth is that she slept with me in the single bed occasionally falling into the crack between the beds....... It would be funny if we were staying at friends but not when your staying at a 4 star Pestana resort.
So if your celebate what does the hotel have on offer. Well don't book a garden view as my garden view was the housing next door and car park. After complaining (about the beds) we were moved to a single beded room with a lovely sea view. The breakfast was confusing as it said it was included but in the room information said you had to pay €1.60 extra for an egg or piece of bacon, as it was I had a very nice breakfast and no extra charge.
The gym is tired, the machines are covered in sweat stains and some of them are rusty; there are only a set of dumbbells as far as resistance training goes. I usually go to a 5* gym nearby which is fantastic with staff and lessons etc. this is just a few old machines stuck in a room. The sauna was nice the indoor pool too.
NOW.... I have serious concerns about the outdoor pool which may be dangerous.... Having used the sauna I thought it would be nice to use the outdoor pool to cool off between sessions. I expected it to be cold and it was, very, no problem but it was a salt solution that tasted awefull and more importantly stung my eyes so badly that not only did it hurt but I couldn't see properly for some minutes. I wanted to use the pool shower to wash my eyes and the 'chemicals' off my body but the showers had been turned off. Now I know people don't use outdoor unheated pools much but I had asked two members of staff who had said it was open. When I mentioned the experience in the pool to a staff member I was told that her eyes hurt with the pool water too. I think that the management needs to double check the pool chemical levels as it is wrong that your eyes should hurt so much. I have talked with an Algarve pool man before and it doesn't give you confidence.
So in conclusion; the staff were fine, sea view nice and the price good. It is the perfec thotel if your unfit and celebrate, but if you are romantically inclined and want to use the gym then there is probably a better hotel around for a couple of euros more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrhurdygurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel was great! Staff very friendly, rooms always clean, niece brekfasts (I was on BB)beach 100m away small but beautiful. next beach 300 m away but down from the cliff. way up was a bit annoying but the beach is worth to see. Portimao few miles away with long, sandy beaches, shops and restaurants. near villages are also wort to visit. plenty shops with pottery, in April u can smell orange trees everywhere - i loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spent Christmas at the Viking, had a problem to start with as the room we were given looked out onto a large bushy tree with no view of the garden or sea. Reception did not seem to grasp the problem as they then gave us the rooms to either side of the first which still faced the same tree, after spending the night in the said room we were finally moved five rooms along. Room 515 was clean and decorated with a modern large bathroom, kitchen area with microwave, kettle and sink, glasses and plates. Tv in room had many channels including BBC and ITV but was not flat screen. Air conditioned for warm and cool setting and balcony with table and chairs facing garden and sea. Two lifts to all floors. Free WiFi in the public areas when you ask at reception for a code paper which you have to do every 24 hours.
All meals are buffet, breakfast covered every taste and was good, with plenty of choice but the hotel was let down by the evening meals which were more or less the same, soup was cold and some of the meat tough, potatoes uncooked and hard. As it was Christmas we expected them to do a bit extra but what we got was a glass of wine free and the same meals on the plate. In fact if it wasn't for the Christmas tree in the reception and one by the door of the restaurant you would not have known it was Christmas.
Best is the position to the beaches on both sides and a handy supermarket 10 min walk up the hill for lunch snacks. The hotel provides a mini bus to the local town free of charge and trips far afield can be booked at reception.

Room Tip: do not have room 509, 510, 511 as they face a large tree and no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Algarve
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

First impressions of this hotel are not good. The building is old, in need of decoration and the car parking is chaotic. Basically the hotel does NOT have a car park and you take your chances in the streets nearby. The reception area is dated and unappealing, but the room we had (527) was nicely decorated and furnished with two separate bedrooms, a lounge and dining area, a shower/wc and a full bathroom. The main problem with the room was that it was very hot as the thermostat control was broken and appeared to be stuck at the highest level which made sleep only possible with all the windows wide open and sleeping on top of the bed covers. Not good!! Reporting this to reception, the first night, resulted in no action at all and mentioning it again on check out just brought a nod. The beds are quite comfortable but the pillows were very poor.The standard of housekeeping was very good and the room was very clean. There was a small kitchenette with plenty of crockery, glasses etc and a dishwasher. The bathroom and shower room had possibly been recently refurbished as they were very modern with plenty of hot water, towels and toiletries.

Breakfast was a reasonable hot and cold buffet, although I would recommend avoiding the croissants (awful) and the orange juice which was watery. The New Years Eve entertainment and food were good, although the buffet, with so many people, became a bit of a free for all. The staff were friendly and mostly quite efficient.

The area in December was obviously a bit quiet but there were a few restaurants nearby, one of which we visited. This was The Belmondo which was Italian, quite pricey with a nice ambience but quite average food and distinctly overpriced wine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
11.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking Resort

Property: Pestana Viking Resort
Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porches
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
#3 Family Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Viking Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing