We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Viking Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Brentwood
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great to be back!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Yet again we had a very enjoyable stay at the Pestana Viking. Our sea view suite was excellent and well looked after. We appreciated the improved internet access, and thought the 1 euro charge a night excellent value to be able to access the internet in our room was well. We enjoyed the entertainment and it was nice to see more people in the bar area.
Breakfast was good as on our previous trip but we tend not to eat in the evening so did have dinner at the hotel, but a lot of people seem to be having a meal. We particularly appreciate the facilities in the room, fridge, sink, microwave etc as it gives flexibility with eating. this was our second trip this year and will hopefully be back in the new future. ,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    434
    128
    40
    28
See reviews for
342
438
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A four star hotel with plenty of facilities .The hotel is kept very clean in all the rooms , the public rooms are large with plenty of seating (although the hotel was not full at the end of October)
We stayed on a very generous B & B offer although we did eat in a couple of evenings .Breakfasts and other food was very good and there were plenty of good restaurants still open. The bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable .Because of some mobility problems we did find the location a little out of the way but the hotel did assist with a limited local mini bus service.
The staff were as good and helpfull as you might hope .
P

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Been here while visiting Algarve and must say that we had a very good price, but the Hotel clearly surpassed our expectations, clean, friendly and well situated.
And there plenty of good restaurants near by, with fresh fish which is always good!

Would stay again if in the area!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, very clean and spacious rooms. Great staff who were very helpful. The food was as you would expect in a hotel like this - some was to our taste and some not. But there was plenty of it, lots of meat/fish and lots of choice. The hotel is near a couple of beautiful beaches and is in a peaceful location. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer75467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for a week at the beginning of October. The hotel is in a lovely spot by the sea. Our room was on the 4th floor and had lovely views. The room was very clean and the cleaner came everyday and cleaned it to perfection. It was very spacious and had a well equiped kitchen. We stayed half board - not something we would do again. The breakfasts weren't fantastic and dinners not that good but I guess it's personal preferrence. We went out for 2 nights to a lovely restaurant on the main road past the supermarket.
The outdoor swimming pool was lovely, freezing at first when you got in but then felt lovely and warm.
If you want a quiet relaxing holiday, away from it all then this is ideal.

Room Tip: upgrade to a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollynolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Amazing two beaches near the hotel. You can hear ocean from your room! Nice kitchenette in every room with full set of crockery
Hotel definitely needs a renovation. Superior room was with a lot of scratches on the walls, the plaster in some places is falling off. In bathroom the door frame was broken

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnastasiaTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

WE spend 1 week in this hotel and it was excellent holidays. Our room on 5 floor was comfortably furnished. Breakfast is good, dinner very tasty. Hotel location great just 2 min to the beach, 10 min go to the supermarket.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
11.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
16.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking Resort

Property: Pestana Viking Resort
Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
#3 Family Hotel in Porches
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Viking Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing