We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Viking
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Vila Senhora da Rocha(Armacao de Pera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Vila Gale Nautico(Armacao de Pera)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,201 results
Traveler rating
385
536
181
61
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
536
181
61
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolsea viewsmall kitchenettesteam roomwellness centrelovely hotelevening buffetsandy beachesbuffet styleplenty of sunbedsthe cliffrelaxing holidayarmacao de perasun loungerscooked breakfasthalf boardseparate bedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 1,201 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a few days at the beginning of November.
The overall hotel is good, a bit "tired", but as is normal with "beach hotels".
Some reviews mention direct access to the beach, but, I didn't found it ! Anyway, even if you have access, the hotel is on top of a cliff, so, access wouldn't be easy.
Anyway, the pool and surrounding grounds are nice, and you have some nice views.
The negative point for me is that they announce "free wifi access on public areas", but, you have to ask on reception for a username/password that gives you 30 min. of access. However, the access is so bad and slow, that you use almost all your time to open your first web page! I gave out, and used my own 3G access to do what I needed, and that was way faster.
Also I found that prices on bar were a bit high (for Portugal's level). Every day there is a cheaper "day's cocktail", but the quality... well... I found it's even lower than the cocktails you have in all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean !
Anyway, staff is friendly, rooms are clean, and the small kitchen inside the room is a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Günther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay in Pestana Viking! The location is exceptional, direct access to the beach. The rooms are clean and I believe the bathrooms were renovated recently, the interior pool is very good! The breakfast was satisfatory for a 4 star hotel. The corredor walls need to be painted but thats all!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had our wedding there on the 13th of October 2012, The hotel staff were exceptionally nice and made our special day even more special.
The rooms are modern and clean, the spa indoor swimming pool fantastic, The food was very good, the hotel is situated next to Senhora de rocha beach, one of the nicest beaches in the Algarve, the view from the hotel are outstanding.

Thank you Pestana Viking,
Chris and Simona

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissimona13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Loved my recent holiday at this resort! First time to the Algarve with great weather, good food and relaxing atmosphere, the cliffs surrounding the resort made the sceneries around more beautiful!! We requested for a room on the high floors and got a nice seaview on the 6th. The room was comfy and cosy and always cleaned up by Housekeeping daily. Also loved the little kitchenette complete with crockeries and cutleries. The Reception Desk were all friendly and helpful mostly and some of them were even open-minded enough to recommend eating places outside of the resort which made me feel they were giving their guests the best experiences ever and not into making money only. The facilities are great - swimming pool large enough for everyone, indoor ones a little chilly, sauna was nice, steam room-not sure if it was working properly, gym - small but adequate. Deck chairs were so relaxing - you're not allowed to reserve them, which was nice for a change! Breakfast was sufficient though crowded at peak times, but food was plentiful and varied. Buffet dinner at the Valhalla was different each night and accommodated many tastes buds. Had lunch once at the pool bar, nice and cosy but a little pricey. Loved the little walkway down the hill to the beach. The beach was private enough even though it was open to the public but there were a couple more beaches nearby for more privacy if needed. Beach restaurant a little pricey for main meals but alright for snacks. A lovely little snack bar-restaurant about 100 meters from the resort was our fave place for meals and snacks. Also have a couple of mini-markets and supermarket close enough to the resort, Martin's, Gloria's and Intermarche for the little stuffs you might need. I would definitely come back again for a nice relaxing holiday by the beach !!

Room Tip: Room facing the sea on the high floor guarantees a lovely view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

what a fabulous holiday it was everything we could ask ,wonderful staff very clean,lovely views great choice at breakfast our only negative was the cost of meals we thought it was expensive but we found a place called the blues bar wich sold good food at a reasonable price We would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: we were in room 209 and had the sun in the morning we looked out onto the garden and the sea beyond
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews