We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 weeks at Pestana Viking Resort Portugal - 2 adults 2 children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Viking Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pestana Viking Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“2 weeks at Pestana Viking Resort Portugal - 2 adults 2 children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Receptionist not very friendly and not very accomadating. With exception to one of the managers who was very nice and helpful.
Accomadation - excellent. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the 2nd floor with sea view.
Half Board- very good. Make sure you book half board with beverages included. Drinks at this hotel are expensive. Food very good.
Kids Club - terrible. The hotel run kids club staff haven't a clue. They barely acknowledge my children or me upon arrival. Activities included drawing and beadmaking with cartoons playing on a tv. We met a couple one evening who had the same experiences. This kid club was more like a baby sitting facility. If you are a family who like the idea of kids club entertainment - forget this hotel.
Overall a very nice hotel if you dont have children or if you do have children but the kids club is not important.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on 2nd floor. However, the trees in the hotel will partly block your view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    410
    122
    39
    25
See reviews for
327
409
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorset England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

11 of us stayed here for a week at the beginning of july. The hotel is spacious, clean and attractive. The bedrooms are big,good views and lovely bathrooms. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The position is very good, with excellent walks along the beautiful cliffs and easy sloping access to the beach. The pools are lovely and clean with plenty of loungers - no one is allowed to reserve with towels! The buffet breakfast is excellent, with a chef to cook eggs your way.

On the less positive side, the bar is adisappointment. The drinks are so expensive - over 8 euros for a g and t - that there were rarely many people there and so no atmosphere. This is a shame as we would have loved to have spent an evening chilling in the bar now and then but couldnt afford it!
When we looked for reviews on this hotel there was little said about the restaurant. We tried the 22euro buffet menu and werent particularly impressed. The food was ok but not particularly adventurous, so we ate out at various different local restaurants every night. To be fair though, we spent on average 40euro pp each night on food and drinks.

The best restaurants we found were miresys, the restaurant next to miresys, the itialian on the left as you walk up the hill from the hotel - 4mins away - try the crepe suzettes and belmondo. The restaurant on the beach has a lovely location for evening meals but not quite to the same standard of food.

The whole area is mainly resort, though nice standard, with a courtesy bus to the local town and an easy bus ride to albafuera and portimao.
Altogehter an enjoyablevplace for a mainly relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Friens paid over £100 more for a room with a sea view. We also had an excellent sea view, though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimkatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

When I read other reviews I wonder if some people have been to a different hotel!

A great welcome, cases taken straight to our room, and the porter seemed genuinely shocked to receive a tip from me, very unusual!

We had a lovely room on the 4th floor. A real bonus is the kitchenette in the wardrobe unit, with a full size fridge, basin and microwave, plenty of cutlery and crockery. Air conditioning was in good order. Only downside were the beds which were rather on the hard side.

All public areas were spotlessly clean and well maintained, the room cleaning was impeccable, sheets and towels were changed regularly, even if not requested.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with lots of choice, bacon on alternate mornings, with 'fried ham' on the other mornings - not terribly impressed with this as it was just warmed up sandwich ham, but hey, who wants bacon EVERY morning? (Me actually). Hotel was fairly quiet when we visited so no egg chef in evidence. They let themselves down a bit on our last but one morning - can you believe this - they ran out of tea bags! We were assured that supplies would be replenished 'in the next few days' - not good enough, but the supply problem seemed to have been overcome the next day.

We didn't have any other meals in the hotel, nor did we order any drinks, the prices were astronomical - €26 for the evening buffet for example. There are plenty of good places to eat within 15 minutes' walk - the fish restaurant on the beach is fantastic, and our favourite was O Grelhador at the top of the road, the monkfish kebab was to die for. O Velheiro on the main road is excellent too. Everywhere is an uphill walk from the hotel, but I managed ok even though I have mobility problems.

Martin's mini-market is 5 minutes up the hill, 5 litres of water will cost you 85 cents there. At the top is Gloria's mini-market, good range of wines and beers, and a great bakery. A little further on is the Intermarche which stocks just about everything you could possibly want.

We had a car for part of our holiday, free parking around the hotel, in fact just about everywhere you go! Went into Armacao a couple of nights, a little bit down at heel and a lot of dog dirt about. Redeemed though by very, very friendly people and good restaurants which are a little cheaper than those nearer to the hotel.

Large pleasant gardens, plentiful supply of reasonably comfortable sunloungers.

All in all, an excellent hotel, in a great location if you like to be out of the resort centre. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NickTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

MY partner and i spent a few days at the pestana viking in portugal it was a wonderful break made more so by the hotel the view the staff the food the bar all fantastic we have rebooked for aug and intend to make the viking our 3 monthly get away

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mik h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Me and my husband got married at Senhora da Rocha two weeks ago and we chose the Pestana Viking because of it's proximity to the wedding location. I was worried about our choice because it is a little out of town, however I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and it's staff. We had 40 wedding guests with us - all of different ages, types, incomes etc etc and every last person said how great the hotel was - no-one had a bad word to say about it. The deal we got for booking early was great, the rooms were lovely - and spotlessly clean, the pool and bar were fantastic but the best thing was the staff. They literally could not do enough for us - and we did throw them some challenges!!! It is out of town but there are a few bars and restaurants nearby and a taxi to Armacao de Pera is only about 3 Euros. I disagree that the hallways were tired looking - the whole place was lovely. We come to Portugal because the people are so lovely but having stayed in a number of places on the Algarve and Central Portugal, I think the folk in Armacao are the nicest - from the guys over at the Aquamar, the landlord in the Water Dog, the fabulous Sardinha Assada and Boneca Restaurants, through to the taxi drivers, everyone gave us a holiday to remember. We stayed at a 5 star boutique hotel in Lagos afterwards for a mini-honeymoon and although it was lovely, the views were better at the Pestana Viking. I would highly reccomend this hotel - I reckon the views are the best on the Algarve!

Room Tip: Our party of 40 were dotted around all over the hotel and everyone liked their view but I reckon our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsSuzanneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were disappointed with this hotel and the area. It is a long way from the airport and the taxi cost E66 both ways. The surrounding area is scruffy and looks a bit like a wasteland. We booked a "Garden View" room which should be re-named "Car Park View" as there were no gardens in sight. The hotel is rated at 4 stars which we would not agree with, maybe 3 star at the very most. The decor and building is tired looking, the hallways were shabby. The pool and gardens at the back of the hotel are OK although the pool is not heated. The staff are pleasant and on the whole were helpful. Ten out of ten to the housekeeping staff who were very sweet and friendly although one tiny bar of soap does not go very far when you are staying for 7 nights! We have stayed with Pestana before in Madeira and returned twice but would not return to Viking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenni_H1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
235 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Not sure if it was the time of year we visited but the hotel was very quiet. Not a problem for us as no issues with loungers by the pool which by the way is gorgeous. Many apartment blocks surround the hotel and most seemed unoccupied. There are several restaurants within walking distance, be warned it is hill. Also a large supermarket close by.
The small cove within a short walk was pretty and had a lovely beach bar/restaurant on which served very fresh fish at good value. The evening entertainment if you like this was awful. A singer and a guitar and I am using the terms loosely. During the day the CD that was on a loop was a medley of songs including the odd Christmas Carol. Really no excuse for that.
Breakfast was buffet style and pleasant with good variety of hot and cold. Just lacked atmosphere throughout. Our twin bedded room was clean and functional with the bonus of a small kitchenette installed within the wardrobe. There was a sink, kettle, microwave which actually was very useful if you wanted to have a light lunch on your balcony. Just a note, the air conditioning on floor 5 was not working even thought they did try to fix several times. It services the whole floor, not individual rooms so might be worth checking on your room before you go.
The bed was incredibly hard and I did struggle in the mornings with a stiff back.
The Pestana group own 5 golf clubs and we played two of them for a deal of £110 for one person playing two 18 hole rounds. They were absolutely stunning and with an early tee time were surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Try and avoid floor 5 see note re air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
11.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking Resort

Property: Pestana Viking Resort
Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porches
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
#3 Family Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Viking Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing