We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have had a week here since 2007.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Porches Praia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pestana Porches Praia
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Sleaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We have had a week here since 2007.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We visit the end of June. Love the place, beautiful. Can't wait for this year. Have visited with my husband, my Dad, my sons & their children too. Really special. Friendly staff, great local bars & restaurants, within easy travelling distance to water parks, shopping etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zoe1968_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We holidayed in these apartments with 2 children for a week mid October accompanying extended family. We occupied a two bedroom apartment. The apartments benefit from the full use of the neighbouring hotels facilities, the accommodation was generous in size with two bathrooms and a large (safe) balcony. well equipped kitchens are a welcome sight. The sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable.

The main hotel has a nice restaurant, a decent sized (hot) indoor pool and a large outdoor pool that was too cold to use! there was a Kids club with nice staff but it was beginning to wind down by the time we stayed. we dined in the restaurant once and found it to be good quality. The Bar had entertainment on most nights which was of variable quality and the attendance reflected this.

The beach below the hotel is lovely but contrary to some reviews or advertisements... to be clear there is NOT direct lift access to the beach..... there are lots of semi precious stones and fossils to be found there. The currents in the water can be strong and it is advisable only confident and able swimmers go out too far!

It is fair to note both the hotel and resort can be a bit pricey, and there seems to be a shortage of bars and restaurants in the immediate area. however I would definitely recommend the Indian restaurant up the hill from the hotel, which offered great food. I feel prospective visitors should also be made aware of the large derelict / unfinished hotel adjacent to the complex.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingmatt748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
221 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel made even better by the friendly and helpful staff. A great benefit of this place is the indoor pool which comes in handy when the weather isn't too brill. Apartments are large, well equipped and very clean. There is a great little beach nearby. Free WI FI in the hotel lobby. We were Bed and Breakfast, the breakfast is good with lots of choice and good coffee. Had one meal in the evening which was very pleasant and kids under 7 eat for free aswel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very well-equipped apartment with the benefit of having available the facilities of the Pestana Viking Hotel. Particularly appreciated their most friendly and helpful staff, the indoor pool and the handy free shuttle service to Armacao de Pera.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My family and I stayed in a beautiful two bed apartment in a peaceful and beautiful setting overlooking the garden and sea where we listened to the waves on the beach whilst enjoying meals on the balcony. Lovely pool areas together with sun terraces where we spent most of our holiday basking in the sun.

Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Waspy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

had a really great stay here. were given keys to a couple of apartments ground floor and top, to see what we preferred which was a lovely touch. very clean and quiet and the ground floor one which we chose, had a great enclosed garden area for our son to play safely in. no negative sides at all. great value for great apartments.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spanishwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked this condo through RCI so I can not comment on value. This property is attached to the Pestana Viking, where we checked in, and went for dinner, and used their indoor pool. I was told during the high season Porches Praia has its own check in and its own outdoor pool. Even so, the Viking (Pestana staff) was outstanding in every respect. We espcially took advantage of nightly live music, even in the off season.

Our two bedroom condo was very nice. The kitchen, although small and dated, was perfect for our needs. No dishwasher. There was a large living room / dining room area with TV. The master suite was large with its own bath and own door onto the balcony and TV. The second bedroom had two twin beds and plenty of storage, located street side. The second bath was just outside that bedroom. Our balconey overlooked the ocean.

Outside was a path that lead to everyewhere. Left fork to the Italian Restaurant on site, right fork to the beach or the Viking. Another fork took you up to the Lord's Bar and Aquamar Restaurant (not part of the resort). Walks were less than 5 minutes but perhaps difficult for seniors or baby strollers. But if you're in this part of Portugal, get used to walking up hill.

Resort can be considered self contained with much to do onsite but we used it equally well as a central location to tour the towns around us. For reference, its exactly 1 hour drive from the resort to Sagres (point of Portugal) in the far Southwest using N125 (non-motorway).
By the way, you will need a car to anything but the closest places. There is a regular resort shuttle that can get you to the main road and the closest town (Amacao de Pera). Then you could take the bus, which I saw regularly on the main roads. I still recommend a car. The closest grocery is a 3 minute car ride or a 30 minute walk.

Overall we had a great week. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The condo was comfortable and adequately equipped. Still remembering our first lunch on the balconey, sunny, crisp, overlooking the ocean. Just lovely.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jamesff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
2.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
2.0 mi away
Terrace Club
Terrace Club
#5 of 6 in Porches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
2.0 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porches Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porches Praia

Property: Pestana Porches Praia
Address: Praia Senhora Da Rocha | (Part of the Pestana Viking Resort), Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Porches
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Pestana Porches Praia Hotel Porches
Pestana Hotel Porches
Pestana Porches Praia Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing