We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When atmosphere & service counts more than good food”
Review of Vila de Italia

Vila de Italia
Ranked #17 of 26 Restaurants in Porches
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italienisches Restaurant / Pizzaria
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When atmosphere & service counts more than good food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Normally we only try a restaurant once on holiday so as we can experience others....this was an exception in that we visited 3 times like many other reviewers....the staff were brilliant and so friendly to all nationalities and it was clear that this friendliness extended to whether this was your first visit or one of many..food was good....and good value.....we expected that in this location on
a Sunday night would not require any reservation but when we arrived it was obvious that this was a popular restaurant ....every night in fact....ensuring a great atmosphere.....some at adjoining tables travelled up from the local town several times...paying for taxis ....and found their visits worthwhile

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went here a few times last week. Could not fault the service, or food quality. Even when the restaurant was busy we were shown to the bar area and not forgotten about! Large range of dishes on offer, and the atmosphere is just wonderful. The decor is lovely too, and there is a really good buzz about the place. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morganna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent food and good service at a reasonable price”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Tucked away behind the Intermarche supermarket; and in the midst of a small residential estate, this restaurant doesn't exactly leap out at you- so I don't think it gets much passing trade! But it's worth seeking out for reasonable Italian food if you're a bit fed up with Portugese grub. A nice terrace overlooks the small pool and children's area which I guess is busy at lunchtimes; and the staff are amongst the nicest and best humoured we encountered. Some nice wines are offered at sensible prices ar- and the Italian menus offers the usual pasta/pizza choices with other meat and fish dishes also, all again at sensible cost. All in all-if not exciting, it was a pleasant change and somewhere we would certainly try it again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and service food could be better”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely evening meal in this restaurant. The staff and service are very good, however we found that the food was okay but not great. My wife, who is a good Italian cook reported that her pasta was bland and the sauce lacked garlic and herbs and she could taste the flour in the cream sauce. My minestrone soup and romana pizza were fine.

The atmosphere was very good and we had an enjoyable evening, helped along with their extensive wine menu. We also thought that the food was reasonably priced and the surroundings are very pleasant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank manaliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went 3 times. Great service, great food! Couldn't fault it, and this was seen by how busy it was every night

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila de Italia also viewed

Porches, Faro District
Porches, Faro District
 
Porches, Faro District
Porches, Faro District
 
Porches, Faro District
Porches, Faro District
 

Been to Vila de Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing