We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and interesting presentation”

Alcoutim Castle and Archaeological Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Alcoutim
Attraction details
Zelhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and interesting presentation”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The castle oversees the Rio Guadiana. It is a lovely place to be in the afternoon sun. The archaeological museum is probably interesting, but your Portuguese language skills have to be up to date. All the descriptions in the exhibition are in Portuguese. We did not understand the lengthy descriptions. We hope that the museum management will spend some Euros coming year in translating the information. In a separate room a film is shown continuingly on the history and surrounding grounds of Alcoutim. The film is subtitled in English. We found it an interesting event.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    32
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“alcoutim attraction”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

informative and the views were excellent but we weren't informed we could have had a audio guided tour by the attendant who took our entrance money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob88845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you plan to go to Alcoutim”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is only a small castle and museum but the entrance fee is only cheap and the views from the castle are fantastic even though it was raining when we were there. The town is lovely and a little boat trip on the river is a lovely way to spend some relaxing time in Alcoutim.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Alcoutim Castle”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely views, could have done with more facts in English.It cost 2.5 euros for admission but this is valid for a week

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TGAR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Short and sweet”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice views and cheap enough for a quick visit. The museum was interesting and it was good to be able to get closer to things than you can in the UK

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcoutim Castle and Archaeological Museum also viewed

Alcoutim, Faro District
 

Been to Alcoutim Castle and Archaeological Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing