We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real 'boutique' experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boliqueime
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta da Cebola Vermelha
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boliqueime
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A real 'boutique' experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We finished our holiday to Southern Portugal with a four night stay at Quinta da Cebola Vermelha (the Red Onion).
The Quinta is located just outside Boliqueime and is a small boutique hotel run by a Dutch family. It certainly lives up to all the previous Trip Advisor reviews and the attention to detail was superb.
The rooms are big and airy and immaculately clean. The hotel has been sympathetically restored to the original farmhouse style and emphasises the 'Moorish' history of the area, even down to the availability of wonderful Moroccan Mint Tea.
Breakfasts were served at tables and consisted of fruit, yoghurt, croissant, bread, ham, cheese, eggs with freshly squeezed orange juice and copious amounts of tea and coffee.
Dinner is served three nights a week and we took the evening meal on one night of our stay which was delicious. There is a good selection of estate wines available.
Although slightly more expensive than other places to stay in the area the extra attention received made it worthwhile.
For visitors to this area who do not want to stay on the coast, this is a good alternative and highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just back from the QDCV and agree with the posts of previous visitors. This is a peaceful oasis situated on the edge of Boliqueme. The hotel is small with only 7 rooms, a lovely pool, beautiful gardens and picturesque terrace where meals are served.

However what makes this place special is a combination of its location and the dutch family who run it. It is just like being invited to someones private villa and being looked after. We only stayed 4 nights in all but we had the pool to ourselves most days, there are ample sun beds and although evening meals are only served 3 nights a week all the food is first class. All the rooms have air con and each is is individually decorated.

As has been mentioned because of its rural location a car is essential thought the nearest restaurant is only about 1.5 miles. With no traffic noise, a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and good food, we will be back like a shot, just fantastic what the family have created

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Quinta for three nights and wished to have booked a vacation here for at least a week.
The atmosphere at the Quinta is very familiar and we felt more at a friends house than in a hotel except that you get an impeccable service.
Ard, Noor and their sons manage to create a cozy yet stylish ambience. Each room is decorated differently with much taste and elegance.

Unfortunately we did not have the chance to attend one of the three times a week held dinners at the Quinta but having enjoyed breakfast and lunch there I am sure I missed out on a really tasty menu!

We hope to come back to this lovely place soon! It's a real gem, go and try out yourself...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enhabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottenlund, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just so much more then we had anticipated. What a unique place, the family have created. With only 7 rooms, you feel at home and as if you in fact are just a visitor in a private home. The house and rooms are fantastic.
Dinning in is a also a great experience when sitting on the terrace enjoying the wonderful food.
Would absolutely go again, if I come to the area.
As the place is in the rural area, you do need a car to go to restaurants etc. Alternatively expect to use taxis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndersW_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have just returned after spending 7 nights at this outstanding hotel. The QDCV is a beautifully refurbished Quinta, owned and managed by a Dutch family, Ard, Noor, Sebastian and Charlie. The overall atmosphere is welcoming, relaxed, and informal. We dined at the hotel on two nights and enjoyed the experience on both occasions. We took breakfast on the terrace each morning looking out over the attractive gardens. All the food served at the hotel was fresh, locally sourced and well presented. Our room, (number 1) was spacious, comfortable and spotless. We particularly liked Noor's paintings which added to the individuality of our room. The QDCV is located just outside of Boliqueime with easy access to the excellent restaurants in the area. In particular we enjoyed Casavostra and Pequeno Mundo in Almancil. Ard also recommend a very good Portuguese fish restaurant in Villamoura which is well worth the visit.

This was our first visit back to the Algarve for 18 years so we took the opportunity to revisit a number of towns and beaches that held special memories for us. Although there has been a significant amount of development in some areas, it was possible to easily find the empty and unspoilt beaches, excellent local restaurants and quaint villages that we remembered.

Overall we have no hesitation in recommending the Quinta da Cebola Vermelha. We will certainly make the QDCV our preferred hotel when we next visit the Algarve.

Room Tip: We avoided any restaurant where the menu was a set of photographs. If in doubt go into the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gefrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Second time round and wishing to go back again! Simple rooms but unique at same time.
The whole setting, with pool, gardens, living room and bar makes me want to re do my own house! The decor is Fab with a real touch of class without the tacky bling bling! Well worth a visit whether its one night or one week... go!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGirl1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amstelveen
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in this guesthouse for a week, excellent place. Run by a Dutch couple + their 2 sons, they have built a true paradise; only 7 rooms, very quiet area, only 15 minutes from Faro Airport and exceptionally well located for as well daytrips within the Algarve or fi to the Atlantic Ocean.
The service is outstanding, the rooms are spacious, food is good ( breakfast only, however the owner cooks 3 times a week what he feels like that day and you can join if you want; he then gets it from the local market and cooks awesome meals; used to be a chef in the Netherlands....) and a great salt water swimming pool.
The good thing is also that they can give you excellent advice for trips to make and/or restaurants to go to; we had excellent food and wines for cheap prices !
Definitely worthwhile to go !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frits_Kuipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boliqueime
19.5 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
495 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vila Joya
Vila Joya
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
230 reviews
4.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
608 reviews
4.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,243 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Cebola Vermelha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Cebola Vermelha

Property: Quinta da Cebola Vermelha
Address: Po Box 2141, Boliqueime 8101-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Boliqueime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boliqueime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUINTA DA CEBOLA VERMELHATake a deep breath and enjoy the sweet scent of the surrounding orange orchard. This is Portugal, the Algarve at its best. Ard, Noor and Bas welcome you at "Quinta da Cebola Vermelha" (farmhouse "The Red Onion"). This is a place to recharge your batteries and feel at home. Enjoy the culinary, have a light lunch by the swimming pool or be pampered by specialities and delicious home cooking by the fireplace. This is also the ideal base from which to discover the southern portugal. We welcome you. Prices Double 125 € Single 105 € Extra bed 30 € Baby bed 15 € ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Cebola Vermelha Hotel Boliqueime
Quinta Da Cebola Vermelha Boliqueime, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing