We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience with great personal attention”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boliqueime
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta da Cebola Vermelha
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boliqueime
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The "quinta" is a completely rebuild farm, with an amazing eye for detail. There are six rooms and one suite (seperate family appartment with kitchenette and living room), each with their own style and color scheme. In regard of the authentic style, don't expect a television or bright spotlights in the room. You do get high speed internet access for free if you wish to keep up to date with your social media or check the weather forecasts each day. Everything is very clean in the room, everything can be locked securely and you take a nice warm shower in your own bathroom (fitted with a bassin, toilet and bidon).

The main living is very spacious and gives all the guests the abilitity to relax during the evening (near the fireplace) or take the home cooked breakfast at one of the tables. Outside is a terrace with loads of places to sit, and a swimming pool with enough places for all guests to relax. All-in-all, very clean and the owners are very happy to assist you with anything you need.

The level of personal attention is amazing. Owners Ard (father), Noor (mother) and Bas (son) are very keen to give you the right information each day. They know every place in the Algarve and will reserve the right restaurant for you, point out the right route and share the best places to visit with you. The fun starts during the morning with breakfast. Everything is home cooked, like freshly baked toast, croissants, custard cakes, bacon and eggs, freshly squeezed orange juice, complimented with other home made products.

Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 11 o' clock.
On Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday they also make, upon request, a home cooked diner the guests. There are very nice "Jamie Oliver like" meals, definitely better than most restaurants in the area. But they are happy to help you out finding the right restaurant when you want to stay in the area you're visiting for that day. The quinta has a wide range of drinks and fine wine.

The room rates are ok (115 to 135 euros depending on the season), but looking at the level of service and the facilities, it's defitinitely worth the money!

It's good for a romantic week in the Algarve, but travelling with the whole family to this quinta will also make up for a great experience.

Room Tip: Every room is great! For a quiet room, you can request one that's not too close to the living ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jordymaxime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just returned from our 2nd visit within 5 months as this a very special guesthouse that is difficult to resist. Very personal service along with a cracking breakfast, delightful bedrooms and beautiful garden. I would unreservedly recommend QDCV and hope to return myself sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SparkySailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We enjoyed 4 relaxing days with our hosts, Ard and Noor. They were always available for information and advised up on, and booked, our local restaurants. On the Tuesday evening, Ard cooked a delicious 3 course evening meal avoiding any obvious dislikes including replacing the main course of king prawn for a wonderful steak to cater for my preference for meat. An excellent choice of quality Portuguese wines accompanied the meal.
The seven room hotel is in a quiet rural location less than 2 miles from junction 11 of the A22 motorway and about seven miles inland from Vilamoura. A car is therefore essential for getting out and about. A central lounge area proved enticing in the cool November evenings beside the fire. Breakfast was taken at leisure between 8.30 and 11am on the patio or when the weather intervened in the central lounge and dining area. The continental breakfast consisted of fresh fruit cocktail, freshly squeezed juice, croissants, ham, cheese, toast and the additional option of eggs and bacon.
Our room (number 6) was very spacious with a very high sloping celing and a small hallway leading to separate doors for the ensuite bathroom and bedroom. The bedroom is attractively furnished with a king sized bed, dressing table and chair, round occasional table and two relaxing chairs. For families there is also a wooden staircase to a mezzanine floor with two single beds. The large bathroom had a deep bath with a large overhead shower. Our room was spotlessly clean and the towels were changed daily.
The facilities are completed with a heated out door swimming pool in the attractive back garden. Overall we do not believe you could find a better more friendly place to stay at a reasonable cost in the Algarve.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

You will not be disappointed with this fantastic quinta or Noor Ard and family. From the clean and large rooms too the large and fresh breakfasts served on the sunny terrace. We stayed for seven nights and having stayed at many Sawday listings this is certainly one of the very best. Kick off your shoes and chill out we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pouance555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We only booked this place for one night as we wanted something close to the airport due to us having an early flight. It is a beautiful location, close enough to the main road to get to the airport but quiet and secluded. The rooms are large and comfortable. The Quinta itself is very comfortable, nicely decorated and furnished with interesting pictures and photograph books of the restoration of the Quinta. Ard and baz are very friendly and we were fortunate enough to stay on one of the three nights of the week when they cook a meal. It was warm enough to sit outside where the furniture is painted White with lovely red and White striped cushions. The food was delicious and generous in portions, we certainly did not end up hungry! As we had an early start Ard advised us that they would leave out a cool box with some fruit juice and croissants for us for breakfast. This was a nice touch. It certainly is a place to relax, has a lovely pool and plenty of books. Be mindful that the rooms do not have a T.V although this did not worry us. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Makalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Everything in this lovely quinta corresponds to expectations: a beautiful landhouse in a quiet setting, landscaped gardens, very friendly hosts and nicely decorated rooms. Breakfast is a feast, with fresh orangejuice, fresh fruit salad, warm bread and croissants and choice of a la minute egg dishes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We only stayed one night, wished we could have stayed longer. Bas and Ard couldn't have been more helpful especially trying to find transport to a suitable restaurant with our one year old. Very beautiful surroundings, interior decor is straight out of vogue interiors, pool is perfect, breakfast is amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVIDBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boliqueime
19.5 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
524 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vila Joya
Vila Joya
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
245 reviews
4.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,644 reviews
4.3 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,385 reviews
13.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Cebola Vermelha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Cebola Vermelha

Address: Po Box 2141, Boliqueime 8101-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Boliqueime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boliqueime
Price Range: $95 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUINTA DA CEBOLA VERMELHATake a deep breath and enjoy the sweet scent of the surrounding orange orchard. This is Portugal, the Algarve at its best. Ard, Noor and Bas welcome you at "Quinta da Cebola Vermelha" (farmhouse "The Red Onion"). This is a place to recharge your batteries and feel at home. Enjoy the culinary, have a light lunch by the swimming pool or be pampered by specialities and delicious home cooking by the fireplace. This is also the ideal base from which to discover the southern portugal. We welcome you. Prices Double 125 € Single 105 € Extra bed 30 € Baby bed 15 € ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Cebola Vermelha Hotel Boliqueime
Quinta Da Cebola Vermelha Boliqueime, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing