We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience”

Van Gogh Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 18 Restaurants in Boliqueime
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Seville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Restaurant was very cold. Had to keep my coat on. The bread was stale. The chicken was off. The Thai chicken had chunks of carrots in it and was served with naan bread!!! The chicken breast with honey and mustard dressing was just awful. We drank the bottle of wine and left. The waitress said the chicken was very tender because they marinate it in white wine. Yeah, whatever! Definitely will not go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dVyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aydin, Turkey
1 review
“Best restaurant in Portugal”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Food was delicious and hot! Generous portions, well presented and good quality. Excellent chef /manager proprietor Peter Milsom who really does care about his customers. We were made very welcome and the kids also loved the food. Great view of Vilamoura . We have many friends who have visited this restaurant and they are all in agreement it is the best food around.I suspect any adverse remarks about this restaurant is an attempt at sabotage against a fantastic restaurant with a great reputation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Bárbara de Nexe, Faro, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful views of the coastline”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Visited this restaurant several times both for lunch and for dinner. The food is fantastic. Chef Peter did us proud on all occasions. Sunday lunch from 7.95 euros per person - excellent value. Food was delicious and hot! We were so impressed that we booked for a party of 20 people for my birthday on 4 December. Service was excellent, table decorations were fabulous and the birthday cake was a great surprise - a chocolate lover's heaven!!! Everyone had a great evening, we are all returning n Christmas Day for lunch so that says its all. Well done Peter and staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch with a View”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Best value Sunday lunch in the area with a great view of the coast and sea. For just 7.50 euros enjoy a Sunday roast of beef, pork, chicken or gammon. Salmon fillet is also available. Generous portions, well presented and good quality. The price also includes a glass of wine, or a beer or a soft drink. As 23 percent of the 7.50 is tax, this really is incredible value for money. Pleasant, helpful staff it really is a great place to enjoy Sunday lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrillyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great view of Vilamoura but thats it...foods really awful”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Really love the view, but thats it. The food is genuinely poor and it would seem that the chef doesnt really care.

Starters poor, we ordered goats cheese salad (goats cheese was far too well grilled), prawns poor but starters were edible at least!

Main courses were worse, for our kids we ordered Spring rolls, but they were just miserable, probably from Makro, all pastry and no filling. 8 very small spring rolls and some cold stir fried vegetables just made for a miserable main couse, especially at 14.5 Euro's each.

My other half ordered the prawns and pasta but was just terrible. Returned back to the kitchen twice, but in the end was returned uneaten.

Worst main couse by a country mile though has to be the Thai chicken curry which is genuinely disgusting. It tasted like chicken in a bechamal sauce with lots and lots of pepper. It is served with a small naan bread and long grain uncle bens rice. It could not be a worse experience and tasted like something that little chef would class as 'curry'.

On leaving we told the manager but her response was that they cant please everyone.

So we leave, no tip and see the bins outside the entrance with Makro (Aro) boxes all over the floor around the bin....says it all really. They dont even care about the bins.

Just stay in the marina, we tried going that bit further away, but it really isnt worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Permanentholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Restaurant also viewed

Boliqueime, Faro District
Boliqueime, Faro District
 
Boliqueime, Faro District
 
Boliqueime, Faro District
 

Been to Van Gogh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing