We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch with a View”

Van Gogh Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 18 Restaurants in Boliqueime
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch with a View”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Best value Sunday lunch in the area with a great view of the coast and sea. For just 7.50 euros enjoy a Sunday roast of beef, pork, chicken or gammon. Salmon fillet is also available. Generous portions, well presented and good quality. The price also includes a glass of wine, or a beer or a soft drink. As 23 percent of the 7.50 is tax, this really is incredible value for money. Pleasant, helpful staff it really is a great place to enjoy Sunday lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrillyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great view of Vilamoura but thats it...foods really awful”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Really love the view, but thats it. The food is genuinely poor and it would seem that the chef doesnt really care.

Starters poor, we ordered goats cheese salad (goats cheese was far too well grilled), prawns poor but starters were edible at least!

Main courses were worse, for our kids we ordered Spring rolls, but they were just miserable, probably from Makro, all pastry and no filling. 8 very small spring rolls and some cold stir fried vegetables just made for a miserable main couse, especially at 14.5 Euro's each.

My other half ordered the prawns and pasta but was just terrible. Returned back to the kitchen twice, but in the end was returned uneaten.

Worst main couse by a country mile though has to be the Thai chicken curry which is genuinely disgusting. It tasted like chicken in a bechamal sauce with lots and lots of pepper. It is served with a small naan bread and long grain uncle bens rice. It could not be a worse experience and tasted like something that little chef would class as 'curry'.

On leaving we told the manager but her response was that they cant please everyone.

So we leave, no tip and see the bins outside the entrance with Makro (Aro) boxes all over the floor around the bin....says it all really. They dont even care about the bins.

Just stay in the marina, we tried going that bit further away, but it really isnt worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Permanentholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“not as good as we thought it would be”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

my partner and I went there for a birthday meal. Location was nice and service was great, however , food was pricey and not all that nice. I had swordfish fillet for 15 euros, it was undercooked and rubbery, the sauce was oil with a few herbs lacking in flavour and not nice at all. The waitress said the fish was purposefully undercooked to keep it tender, but it was only undercooked on the bottom! not through the middle like usual. All food come with veg and roast potatoes. My partner had gammon and preferred chips to come, so the waitress brought chips for us both....I thought I would get the potatoes lol. Gammon was also 15 euros and pretty non spectacular. There wasnt enough veg for two and was pretty plain, just carrots and green beans. We had three tonic waters between us at 2.50 each. Two cheesecakes, very sweet and not all that flavourful, then two coffees. Our bill came to 52 euros which we felt was pretty expensive for what we received. Disappointing, and we wont return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank smonebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is the second time we have been to Portugals algarve region and having found this restaurant on of first visit had to return to see if anything had changed ,the only thing that had changed was that it is now run by the Chef who comes from Sheffield in the uk the meals are still of a very high standard and the views of the algarve are excellent i would definately recommend a visit to this one if you have transport .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ammo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby
Level Contributor
163 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Enjoyed a great meal, food fabulous, atmosphere relaxed and comfortable, great for a special occasion. Back tomorrow. Staff very very good, highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TisGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Restaurant also viewed

Boliqueime, Faro District
Boliqueime, Faro District
 
Boliqueime, Faro District
 

Been to Van Gogh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing