We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great staff in a splendid location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vila Vicosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Visiting Alentejo from the Algarve, we opted for Pousada de Dom Joao IV because of its great location near Elvas and Borba, and near enough to Elvora from where we would return. The Pousada has a splendid location right next to the ducal palace and facing a huge placa made from marble (a plentiful local product) with a statue of the duke of Braganza. We had prebooked on the Pousada website. Parking and checkin was easy with attention paid to our request for a large quiet room. Our room was large and nicely appointed, with a nice balcony and a nice view. The pousada was formerly a convent and converted to a hotel in the late 90s. Perhaps a little dark for some, particularly when walking along the corridors and up and down the stairs in the evening. The hotel also has a nice pool, but in mid-September really too cold for comfort. Plenty of sun lounges to bask in the hot sun, however, and the grounds are pleasant enough. The staff is very helpful and accommodating, although the pousada had few guests during our stay. There is not much going on in Vila Vicosa at this time of year. The duke's palace museum next door has limited and only offers guided tours. We had planned to have dinner at one of the restaurants highly recommended by TA members, but it was closed. We returned to the pousada where we had a splendid (simple) set dinner where you have the option of meat or fish for the main course. It was very good, as was the red Alentejo riserva that went with it. Service was also excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay at Pousada de Vila Viçosa and couldn’t thank you enough for your wonderful review.
The guests full satisfaction and providing an unique experience are part of the goals of Pousadas de Portugal.
We appreciate your remarks.
Alentejo will certainly amaze the ones who decide to visit this region and we are glad you have had the chance to do so.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Pousadas on your next trip to Portugal,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

A fantastic experience. It was like taking a trip to the past. We could almost "see" the religious people as the environment was kept from those days with the add of modern and comfort
The front desk staff is kind and the pool was great in those warm days. Super relaxing. No need for car to walk the town. We parked and removed it days after or stay.

Room Tip: ask for a Suite. Not too much more and worth the size and comfort
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your preference in Pousadas of Portugal as well as the dispatch of your sympathetic views on your stay at Pousada D. João IV at Vila Viçosa, which deserved our best attention.
Words like yours encourage and motivate us to continue and improve our service.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was a brilliant experience from start to finish. The town is spectacular: you drive round a corner to be faced with one of the grandest squares in Europe, all made from marble. And the pousada is right on that square! The rooms are huge, and very comfortable; the wide balcony is a great feature. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A typically excellent pousada buffet breakfast; and dinners were also excellent, though this pousada does not offer the cheap fixed-price menu deal that many other have. There are fabulous lounges and public areas throughout the pousada, as well as fascinating remnants of its convent days. The huge outdoor swimming pool was very welcome at the end of a hot day. We loved the tour of the palace next door; this is well worth doing, despite the slightly sniffy description in the Lonely Planet guide. Our guide went out of his way to give us an English version of his commentary, as well as speaking Spanish for a group of nuns and Portuguese for the other people in the group. Vila Vicosa is fab, and so is its pousada.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingNaturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay in Pousada de Vila Viçosa with the Tripadvisor community.
We appreciate your nice comments on the Town, the Pousada, the rooms and on the staff performance.
Your feedback on the restaurant menu is valued and has been taken into consideration.
We hope to welcome you again in a future opportunity.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed one night as part of our self guided bike tour by Turaventur Day Tours. Great place, a little history to the place, felt under dressed as cyclists.A nice small village to wander around. Visiting hours to the museum next door are limited as you have to take a guided tour, no other options available, so we had to miss out. Breakfast was great,

Room Tip: Worth the extra costs
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ****
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Manager at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your preference in Pousadas of Portugal as well as the dispatch of your sympathetic views on your stay at Pousada D. João IV at Vila Viçosa, which deserved our best attention.

Words like yours encourage and motivate us to continue and improve our work.

Well-there that we deserved your choice. We hope to see You soon and will help You to don’t miss the Palace visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We'd booked a 2-night stay in June, 2012. The weather was hot - not unexpected for this time of year. In the first room we were allocated, the aircon did nothing - no noise, no air, nothing. We were told that it "gets cold at night", and that the aircon took a while to work. An hour later - still nothing, so we were moved to another room. In this room the aircon made a noise, but no air was blowing. We were told that "it gets cold at night" and that the aircon took a while to work, so we went out for dinner, leaving the aircon on. We returned at midnight and had to move to yet another room (entirely ourselves - no-one offered to help). In this new, "superior" room, the aircon was actually blowing air and we were told, yet again, that it took a while to work. At 3 in the morning I awoke in a puddle of sweat - the air being blown into the room was at the same temperature as the hot air already in the room - sure enough, it was cool outside, but with no through draught, that's no use to anyone. In all three of the rooms in which we stayed the thermostats were broken. We fought with the manager to cancel our second night without paying. I have, today, received a response to my official complaint which says, "We can confirm there was no problem with the Air Conditioned on both rooms, as we could verify later". I've stayed in many many hotel rooms with a/c - either this was not working, or their version of "working" falls far below any acceptable standard. Visit the lovely building, stay there in the winter time, or save on sauna fees and stay there in the summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacKnickKnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DJoao, Manager at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada D. João IV - Vila Viçosa and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.
We had already provided a formal answer to your complaint directly to email address.

We look forward to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I had been wanting to see Vila Viçosa for some time and the only place I had in mind was the Pousada. As a regular guest of this group of hotels, I knew I could count on a good standard of customer service, facilities and food. The staff weere very helpful and friendly (the friendliest of the 5 Pousadas we stayed so far), and despite the fact that our rooms weren't ready when we arrived they took our luggage upstairs while we visited the palace, gave us a tour of the hotel and made sure our bedrooms were next to each other. We stayed in the Quarto do Poeta (Poet's Room, superior) with a nice view of the cloyster, a terrace and a balcony. It was spacious, warm and very clean. Breakfast was Pousada style - plenty of choice and very nice. There's lots to discover in the Pousada. There's a games room (cards, table tenis, snooker), lots of old niches and private altars and the marvellous "Sala do Beija-Mão" where you can quietly read a book or watch tv. The bar and the lounge are equally pleasant and there's an outdoor pool. Free wireless in the communal areas for 30 minutes. As for the village, the palace of the Braganza family is an absolute delight for history lovers such as myself and it's quite literally next door to the hotel. We recommend dinner at the family run Taverna dos Conjurados where the owner will be keen to provide the best service and present you with a very very good meal Alentejo style (portions are not ridiculously huge like in most Portuguese restaurants). Not to miss.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a superior as the difference isn't massive.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noctia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The hotel is situated in an old monastery and is a perfect place to stay. Room was large, well furnished and quiet (we slept well which was great after two weeks in Spain).
Buffet breakfast was normal Pousada fare, in other words very good.
The Pousada is perfectly placed next to the old Royal palace and only a few minutes walk from the town centre and the old walls which makes it a convenient place to stay.
Staff were very helpful and helped us to find transport to Elvas as the public transport from Vila Vicosa is not too good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveL221952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Vicosa
0.3 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
504 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pousada Castelo Estremoz
9.9 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Vila Planicie Hotel Rural
13.6 mi away
Quinta de Santo Antonio
20.2 mi away
Torre De Palma Wine Hotel - Design Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa

Address: Convento das Chagas - Terreiro do Paco, Vila Vicosa 7160-251, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Vila Vicosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vila Vicosa
Price Range: $92 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa, located in the region of Alto Alentejo, is located close to the historical centre of Vila Viçosa and is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Situated between Elvas, Borba and Redondo, Vila Viçosa is a quaint village, rich with history. The Pousada is located in the former Convent of the Chagas de Cristo, built on the orders of Jaime IV, Duke of Bragança, in the 16th century. During your stay you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, have fun in the games room and relax in the drawing room that also has a piano. For your meals, we have a restaurant and a bar. The rooms are decorated in warm colours and are equipped with television and free Wi-Fi. There are 11 themed rooms with decoration and elements unique to each one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing