We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but expensive for the quality”

O Paco Ducal Vila Vicosa
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Vila Vicosa
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, but expensive for the quality”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The food is good, but not excuisite. A little expensive for a nomal meal. Specially if you ask the suggestions of the day. I didin´t like the fact the the price oh the day are not written anywhere, and when you pay its an unpleasant surprise.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    62
    29
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Quality / Price”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Good experience with Soup, "sopa de agriões", "Entrecosto e migas de espargos" and "Entrecosto e batatas fritas".
Average prices, typical Food for this area, Nice facilities, friendly staff, saturday lunch and
I believe anyone shouldn't be surprise with staff or the good food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRMarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Don't let the word "Pizzaria" fool you”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Although they have pizzas and pasta, there is also very good local cuisine dishes.
The portions are very generous, the service is good and all at cheap prices.
It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVLVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“good, hearty food”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

i went to this restaurant twice in april 2011 after the owner of my guesthouse recommendd it. like the previous reviewer mentioned, it is not strictly an italian restaurant despite what it says on the sign. they do have pizza and pasta, but also salads and some traditional portuguese dishes as well. one night i had their cod wih paprika and onions (a bit overcooked and the fish was definitely not fresh) and the other night, i was super hungry and went with a big plate of pasta. both dishes were fine, not mind blowingly good but decent, and it hit the spot. the main dishes range from around 7-0 euros. their wine is really cheap, only 1.10-1.30 euros for a 1/4 liter of house red or house white. there are probably better places to eat in vila vicosa, but this place was fine, service good, wine cheap, and it always seemed to be open when i walked past it!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a gem of a restaurant in such a small town!”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Do not be put off by the restaurant being called a "pizzeria". Of course, it has great (!) pizzas and pasta, but when one is in Portugal, that is not exactly what one should be looking for!
The main attraction is that it has absolutely typical regional dishes, a new "plate of the day" every day, as well as wonderful "kebabs".....one could not really call them that.....a great skewer of meat or fish and seafood, plus a mini-salad for 9.95E. (the most expensive one!).
It is a stictly family/ Portuguese restaurant.......noisy, children running round, and the owner/ chef comes out frequently to ask if you are satisfied with your meal.
We will certainly be returning......extremely clean, great atmosphere and even greater value for money. One of the hidden treasures of this beautiful town!
On hindsight, wish I hadn't written this, I would like to keep it secret!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allysev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Paco Ducal Vila Vicosa also viewed

Vila Vicosa, Evora District
Vila Vicosa, Evora District
 
Vila Vicosa, Evora District
Vila Vicosa, Evora District
 
Vila Vicosa, Evora District
Vila Vicosa, Evora District
 

Been to O Paco Ducal Vila Vicosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing