We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Few days at the Betica Hotel”
Review of Betica Hotel Rural

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Betica Hotel Rural
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pias
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Few days at the Betica Hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Beautiful Small Hotel. The Owner and his parents were amazing. Really went out of their way to be helpful and to make our few days great. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely. It was so relaxing and peaceful. WE will be going back again as were so impressed.
The local restaurants served good food and service was also good, The restaurant in Serpa was the best. Ask for information when you check-in you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
38
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you want a nice and calm place to stay in Alentejo, this is a very welcoming hotel. The owner is very helpful and very respectful regarding hosts privacy. While the breakfast is not the most elaborated one, is pretty enough for that you'll expect a breakfast meal. We clearly noticed that they take good care of all hosts and very pro-active if something isn't working as expected and quickly fix it. I plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogossogob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Teresa and Victor at the Betica Hotel Rural are fantastic hosts, managing to be extremely helpful and informative without any hint of intrusion. Teresa recommended a day trip in our car to four venues including ringing ahead to a family Alentejo restaurant; the whole day was a delight. In fact the only thing that didn't work was the restaurant was supposed to have singing that lunchtime (it was Corpus Christi, a public holiday hence the lunch event) but for some reason this did not happen. When we returned and told Teresa and Victor they rang round and found a local group were practicing on Friday for a performance on Saturday, the day we were to leave. They somehow arranged for my wife and I to attend this 'private' practice; only three were in the practice room as audience; Victor my wife and I. It was a very special occasion as we spoke to the members of the group, who have achieved fame through their World tours, and come to understand the role of this polyphonic choirs in Alentejo. Not only had our hosts arranged this but drove us the 40km to and from the practice session. Lovely people, lovely hotel. We will visit again soon

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with balcony which was v nice. We were offered a choice of this or a downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

On the way back to Lisbon from Spain this was a lovely little spot to recuperate from the late night culture in Spain. Owners were happy to chat and give information about local sights. Loved the little town of Serpa with its impressive aqueduct. We also rec'd a night cap and bottle of rose courtesy of the owners. I wish we had had time to bask by the pool. Great place, great value.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was a little gem .Although he was very busy, the son of the owners took us through the small town to show us where a Portugese snack bar was open, as the normal restaurant they use nearby was shut.He stayed and translated the whole menu for us too. After we had eaten there and gone back to the hotel, the owners invited us for a cocktail on the house, and asked us if we wanted to watch the English news. The wife gave us an absolutely delicious local home made desert, and they spent a long time giving us local recipes.The breakfast was delicious and the ambience in the dining room was the best we experienced out of the eight places we stayed on our holiday. All that, and we only stayed one night!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroledScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Very warm and friendly people. Family environment. Great for a mini break for those who seek the utmost rest.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acdias1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after reading other reviews. It was GREAT! Beautiful rooms, lovely suntrap swimming pool, excellent meal at nearby restaurant, great wines from Co-op next door ( bought some to take home!) and staff were really friendly - a great family run hotel. Welcome liqueur, and a gift of a bottle of rose wine from the hosts at breakfast the next morning. Breakfast incidentally consisted of really fresh produce, and plenty of it! Location is in a village a bit off the main roads, but well worth the detour. All in all, a super stop!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FionaCoupland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pias
8.3 mi away
Hotel de Moura
Hotel de Moura
#1 of 2 in Moura
181 reviews
8.9 mi away
Pousada de Sao Gens
Pousada de Sao Gens
#1 of 1 in Serpa
15 reviews
20.7 mi away
Pousada Convento Beja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Hotel Melius
Hotel Melius
#6 of 9 in Beja
61 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Sao Domingos
21.5 mi away
BejaParque Hotel
BejaParque Hotel
#4 of 9 in Beja
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betica Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betica Hotel Rural

Property: Betica Hotel Rural
Address: Rua do Outeiro, Pias 7830-241, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Pias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Betica Hotel Rural 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Integrated in rural surroundings, Albergaria Bética is placed in the left edge of the Guadiana river, close to the Alqueva dam.Here you will find a family awaiting for you, in a modern and very welcoming space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Betica Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing